From the filings

Comic Book Café

Retail non food

Software purchasing authority at Comic Book Café is not publicly documented in the 2024 Franchise Disclosure Document. The FDD lists no headquarters executives and does not mandate any specific technology systems, leaving the decision-maker level unknown. The total number of franchised and company-owned units is also not disclosed, making the addressable market difficult to quantify without further research.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
—
system-wide
Franchised outlet growth
—
Item 20, last two year-ends
AUV
—
Item 19
Royalty
Complete royalty terms unconfirmed
percentage component
Ad fund
—
percentage component
Initial fee
—
per unit
Investment range
—
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
—
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ordinary royalty terms

Complete royalty terms unconfirmed

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed for the selected filing.

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 technology requirement is recorded in this filing. A required choice lists alternatives for one obligation. Read each cited clause for its conditions.

ToastToast
Mandatory
POSItem 7

Your insurance policies must insure us, you, and our respective affiliates, subsidiaries, owners, officers, directors, partners, members, employees, servants, and agents against any loss, liability, products liability, personal injury, death or property damage that may accrue due to your operation of your Business. Your policies of insurance will contain a separate endorsement naming us and our affiliates as additional named insureds. You are required to submit an insurance certificate to our office on an annual basis. 6 This range includes the cost of all signage used in your Business. The signage requirements and costs will vary based upon the size and location of the Site, local zoning requirements, landlord requirements and local wage rates for installation. The amounts you pay for signage are typically non-refundable. You should inquire about the return and refund policy of the suppliers at or before the time of purchase. We must approve all signage before you order it. 7 You must purchase general office supplies including stationery, business cards and typical office equipment. Factors that may affect your cost of office equipment and supplies include market conditions, competition amongst suppliers and other factors. We do not know if the amounts you pay for office equipment and supplies are refundable. Factors determining whether office equipment and supplies are refundable typically include the condition of the items at time of return, level of use and length of time of possession. You should inquire about the return and refund policy of the suppliers at or before the time of purchase. 8 Included in this estimate are expenses related to pre-opening payroll, cleaning and preparation, telephone and other communication expenses, and electricity. 9 You must purchase the computer equipment, hardware and software necessary for operating the franchise. We currently require you to have and use a computer and Toast POS system to Comic Book Café 18 perform certain functions, some of the revenues; and copyright product sales, and high-speed access to the internet.

The vendor opportunity at Comic Book Café

Comic Book Café operates in the retail non-food segment, but the 2024 Franchise Disclosure Document leaves many traditional vendor evaluation metrics blank. The total number of units—both franchised and company-owned—is not disclosed, so the addressable unit count is unknown. No average unit volume (AUV) is provided, and year-over-year unit growth is not stated. For a software vendor, this means the scale of the opportunity cannot be sized from the FDD alone. The brand appears to be independently owned, with no parent company on file, and no operator footprint is mapped in our corpus. This lack of public data makes Comic Book Café a research-intensive target, where direct engagement may be the only path to understanding the potential deal size.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2024 FDD does not list any headquarters executives in Item 1, so the software buying center is entirely unknown. There is no named CIO, VP of IT, or operations lead who would typically evaluate or approve technology purchases. Without a clear decision-maker level—whether HQ-driven, multi-unit operator-led, or mixed—vendors must assume that identifying the right contact requires outbound prospecting. The absence of a franchisor mandate for technology also suggests that, if units exist, purchasing authority may be decentralized. This is a blank-slate scenario: no known buyer, no known hierarchy.

Mandated and current tech stack

Comic Book Café’s 2024 FDD does not mandate or recommend any specific technology systems. There are no named POS providers, no required back-office platforms, and no preferred vendor lists captured in the disclosure. This means the current tech stack across any operating locations is not publicly documented. For a software vendor, this represents either a greenfield opportunity—where no legacy system lock-in exists—or a signal that the franchise system is too small or nascent to have formalized its technology requirements. Either way, the FDD provides no concrete starting point for a product pitch.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD contains no extract for Item 8, which typically outlines procurement restrictions and designated suppliers. Without this, the procurement model—whether open, approved-supplier, or designated-supplier—is not known. Similarly, Item 17, which covers renewal, termination, and transfer, yields no signal. This makes it impossible to estimate when contract windows might open or when franchisees might be evaluating new software. Vendors should treat Comic Book Café as an opportunistic, rather than calendar-driven, target.

How to read the Comic Book Café FDD

The 2024 Comic Book Café FDD is embedded below for full reference. It was filed with state franchise regulators and serves as the primary legal document governing the franchise relationship. For software vendors, the key items to review are Item 1 (the franchisor and any parents/affiliates), Item 8 (restrictions on sources of products and services), Item 11 (franchisor’s obligations), and Item 17 (renewal, termination, transfer). In this case, many of those items contain no actionable data, underscoring the need for direct intelligence gathering. For a ranked target list of franchise systems with richer technology signals, FranCloud can help prioritize your outreach.

Ordinary royalty terms

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed.

Questions vendors ask

Comic Book Café, answered from the filing

The 2024 FDD does not list any headquarters executives, so the software buying center is unknown. Vendors will need to identify decision-makers through direct outreach.
The 2024 FDD does not mandate or recommend any specific POS or operational technology. There are no named systems or vendors in the disclosure.
The total number of units—franchised and company-owned—is not disclosed in the 2024 FDD. The brand operates in the retail non-food segment.
The 2024 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement signal, so the model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is unknown.
With no initial term or renewal signal in the 2024 FDD, contract windows cannot be estimated. Vendors should monitor for any public operational changes.
The 2024 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it using the embedded PDF viewer below for full details on the franchise system.
Source

Read the filing itself

Read the original document for the filing figures and their terms, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Comic Book Café2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

Request an email alert when a newer filing for Comic Book Café is available.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. Comic Book Café’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Related Retail non food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Read the original filing for definitions, conditions, and qualifications.