From the filings

HQ-led decisions

ChopValue

Retail non food

Software purchasing decisions at ChopValue appear centralized through President and Secretary Felix Böck. The franchisor mandates Xero for accounting and proprietary systems for material collection, with additional proprietary software programs in use. The addressable market is small, with only 10 total units (5 franchised, 1 company-owned) reported in the 2024 FDD.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
10
5 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-16.667%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$65K
per unit
Investment range
$466K–$588K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Xero
Mandatory
AccountingItem 11

of the computer and point-of-sale system will be approximately $1,500 to $3,000 depending on the number of users you identify. You must pay any additional software license fee for Xero accounting soft

CrossLink
Industry softwareItem 2

since August 2016 and as our President and Secretary since July 2020. Both positions are located in Vancouver, British Columbia. Mr. Böck has also been Chief Executive Officer of CrossLink Technologie

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

23 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

Specifically, we may require that you install and maintain systems that permit us to independently access and retrieve electronically any information stored in your computer systems, including information concerning your Micro-Factory’s Gross Sales, at the times and in the manner that we may specify periodically.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall, at Franchisee’s expense, submit to Franchisor, in the form prescribed by Franchisor, Franchisee’s monthly and quarterly balance sheets and profit and loss statements (which may be unaudited) within 10 days after the end of each month and quarter, as applicable, during the term hereof.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may change the number of approved suppliers at any time and may designate ourselves, an affiliate, or a third party as the exclusive source for any particular product or service.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

175000

Item 8

We recognized $175,000 in revenues from the sale of core equipment to franchisees in our last fiscal year ending December 31, 2023.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We or our affiliates may receive rebates from approved or designated sources.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

80

Item 8

We estimate your required purchases for the operation of the Micro-Factory will be 80% or more of your annual purchases or leases.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to purchase, lease or use any products, services, inventory or other items from an unapproved supplier, you or your supplier must submit to us a written request for approval or request that the unapproved supplier itself do so together with such information as we request and information required to be…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At Franchisor’s option, assign to Franchisor all rights to the telephone numbers of the ChopValue Franchised Business or other business listings and execute all forms and documents required by Franchisor and any telephone company at any time to transfer such service and numbers to Franchisor.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees that it will cause its ChopValue Franchised Business to meet or exceed, at all times, all applicable security standards developed by the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (“PCI DSS”) council, or its successor, and other regulations and industry standards applicable to the protection of…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Conduct periodic evaluations of your operations (Franchise Agreement, Section 5.F.).

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right to add to or modify the Manuals from time to time to, among other reasons, change operating procedures, maintain the goodwill associated with the Marks, and enable the System to remain competitive.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You cannot place a ChopValue Micro-Factory at a site we have not first accepted in writing.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Without Franchisor’s prior written approval, which Franchisor may give or withhold in Franchisor’s sole discretion, Franchisee may not develop, create, generate, own, or otherwise use any computer and/or electronic media (including but not limited to the Internet, bulletin boards, social networking sites (e.g.…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must spend at least $10,000 on the grand opening promotion, and Franchisee must submit one or more expenditure reports to Franchisor, accurately reflecting Franchisee’s grand opening expenditures.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate in, and comply with the requirements of, any gift card, gift certificate, customer loyalty or retention programs that Franchisor implements for all or part of the ChopValue franchise system and shall sign the forms and take the other action that Franchisor requires in order for Franchisee…

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate in the Manual or otherwise in writing certain products or services which must be purchased exclusively from suppliers (including manufacturers, distributors and other sources) which we have approved, in which case you must obtain these items from those suppliers.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At Franchisor’s request, Franchisee shall execute Attachment E to this Agreement and all other documents necessary to permit Franchisor to withdraw funds from Franchisee’s designated bank account by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) in an amount equal to the royalty fee, referral fee, and Technology Fee in Sections…

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate in, and comply with the requirements of, any gift card, gift certificate, customer loyalty or retention programs that Franchisor implements for all or part of the ChopValue franchise system and shall sign the forms and take the other action that Franchisor requires in order for Franchisee…

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

At least 45 days before the Micro-Factory opens for business, you must designate at least one ChopValue Franchised Business Manager.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use only the point of sale and computer systems and equipment that we prescribe for ChopValue Micro-Factories (“Computer System”), and you must promptly adhere to our requirements.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

Specifically, we may require that you install and maintain systems that permit us to independently access and retrieve electronically any information stored in your computer systems, including information concerning your Micro-Factory’s Gross Sales, at the times and in the manner that we may specify periodically.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may provide from time to time mandatory and optional training programs covering such subjects as new policies and procedures, marketing, and other aspects of business operations.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Attendance at such conventions is mandatory and will be at Franchisee’s sole cost and expense.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at ChopValue

ChopValue presents a niche opportunity for software vendors, with a total footprint of just 10 units disclosed in the 2024 FDD. Of these, 5 are franchised and 1 is company-owned, leaving the status of the remaining 4 units unspecified. The system experienced a year-over-year unit decline of 16.667%, which may indicate contraction rather than expansion. For vendors, the addressable market is therefore extremely limited, and any sales strategy must account for a small, potentially shrinking base of franchisees.

The franchisor collects a 6.0% royalty on gross sales, though average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the FDD. The initial franchise term runs 10 years, with a 5-year renewal option available under specific conditions. This long-term structure means software contract opportunities are rare and likely tied to renewal events or system-wide technology mandates.

Who controls software purchasing

Based on the 2024 FDD, Felix Böck is the sole named executive, holding the titles of President and Secretary. In a system of this size, purchasing authority is almost certainly centralized at the franchisor level, with Böck as the key decision-maker for any technology that touches franchise operations. There is no CIO, CTO, or VP of Technology listed, so vendors should expect to engage directly with the president's office.

The operator footprint data shows no mapped operators in the FranCloud corpus, which further reinforces the likelihood that all significant procurement decisions flow through HQ rather than individual franchisees. For software vendors, this means a single-threaded sales process targeting one individual.

Mandated and current tech stack

Item 11 of the 2024 FDD mandates two specific technology systems. First, a proprietary system for the collection of discarded materials is required, which is core to ChopValue's circular economy business model. Second, Xero by Xero Limited is mandated for accounting functions. The FDD also references additional proprietary software programs, though these are not named individually.

Notably absent from the mandated tech stack is any mention of a point-of-sale system, CRM, inventory management, or HR platform. This gap may represent an opportunity for vendors, but the small unit count and centralized control mean any adoption would likely need to be a system-wide mandate from Böck rather than a bottoms-up sale to individual franchisees.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2024 FDD did not yield an extract for Item 8, so the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—remains undisclosed. Vendors should inquire directly about supplier qualification processes during initial outreach.

Renewal conditions under Item 17 are stringent. Franchisees must sign the then-current form of franchise agreement, which may be materially different from the original. They must also provide written notice, not be in default, pay all owed amounts, retain rights to their location, pay a renewal fee, sign a general release, and comply with current qualifications and training requirements. The renewal term is 5 years. These conditions create a natural inflection point where the franchisor could introduce new technology mandates, making renewal cycles the most likely window for software vendors to gain adoption.

How to read the ChopValue FDD

The full 2024 ChopValue Franchise Disclosure Document is available below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 11 (franchisor's assistance, advertising, computer systems, and training), which details mandated technology, and Item 17 (renewal, termination, transfer, and dispute resolution), which outlines the conditions under which franchise agreements renew and where new technology requirements may be imposed. Item 1 lists the franchisor's executives and ownership structure, confirming Felix Böck as the primary contact. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software's ideal customer profile, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

ChopValue, answered from the filing

Felix Böck, listed as President and Secretary in the 2024 FDD, is the sole named executive and likely the primary decision-maker for technology procurement at the franchisor level.
The 2024 FDD mandates a proprietary system for collection of discarded materials and Xero for accounting. Additional proprietary software programs are also referenced, though no POS system is specifically named.
The 2024 FDD discloses 10 total units, comprising 5 franchised locations and 1 company-owned unit. The status of the remaining 4 units is not specified in the provided data.
Item 8 procurement signals were not extracted from the 2024 FDD, so the specific procurement model (designated supplier, approved supplier, or open) is not disclosed in the available data.
With a 10-year initial term and a 5-year renewal term, contract windows are infrequent. The -16.7% unit decline may signal consolidation, but renewal conditions require signing the then-current agreement, which could trigger tech stack reviews.
The 2024 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below for the full disclosure document to analyze Item 11 technology mandates and Item 17 renewal conditions directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

ChopValue2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment ChopValue files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

ChopValue’s FDD on file does not disclose a franchisee directory.

Ownership

The portfolio behind ChopValue

unknown of chopvalue manufacturing.

Related Retail non food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.