From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Buildingstars

Home services

Software purchasing at Buildingstars is controlled by a lean HQ team led by President and CEO Christopher J. Blase, with VP of Finance Robert J. Liddy likely overseeing vendor evaluation. The franchise does not mandate any specific operational or POS technology in its 2026 FDD, leaving an open field for vendors. With 1,215 franchised locations across the US and a single-unit operator model, the addressable market is broad but highly fragmented.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
1,229
1,215 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
10%
of gross sales
Ad fund
0%
national + local
Initial fee
per unit
Investment range
$2K–$53K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Standards based
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

10%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 10% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 10%, Ad fund 0%. Total 10% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 10%Ad fund 0%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Ecolab
Industry softwareItem 11

rea. His past experience also includes customer service delivery, nurturing vendor relationships and team building. Prior to joining us, Mr. McIntire was a Route Sales Manager for Ecolab and an Accoun

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

10 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 17 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Our Affiliate, Green Sky Southwest, Inc., sells cleaning supplies and equipment to franchisees.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

We have not derived revenue or other material consideration from required purchases or leases made by franchisees, however we reserve the right to do so.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

During the fiscal year 2024, International’s affiliate, Green Sky Southwest, Inc., had gross revenues of $328,844.42 from the sale of cleaning supplies and equipment to franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

5

Item 8

The purchase of products from approved sources will represent approximately 60% of your overall purchases in opening the franchise and 5% of your overall purchases in operating the franchise.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

You may purchase products, subject only to our approval, based upon the uniform quality standards and specifications previously adopted by us.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

if MASTER requests, shall assign its telephone numbers to MASTER and execute any and all documents necessary to do so.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

MASTER may, from time to time, cause one or more complete audits to be made of the affairs and records relating to the operations of the Business.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to make additions to, deletions from or revisions to the Manual which you must comply with at your own cost.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not advertise your services or use our Marks on the Internet without our consent.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

We may provide additional or refresher training programs. You will pay a reasonable fee for any additional or refresher training programs as well as all transportation, lodging, meals and other expenses incurred by you and your employees in attending such programs.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?Item 12
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderNational 1000+

Formal HQ procurement; C-suite sponsor + cross-functional committee + IT/security/legal; often PE-backed.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Teams spend weeks manually combing through FDDs to assess unit counts and financials across 554 active home services brands.Replacing manual FDD research with instant corpus search saves 15+ hours per brand evaluation, allowing your team to assess 10x more targets and accelerate pipeline velocity by 30%.
  3. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.

The vendor opportunity at Buildingstars

Buildingstars operates 1,229 total units, 1,215 of which are franchised, making it a large but atomized target for software vendors. The brand’s average unit volume sits at $54,001, and franchisees pay a 10% royalty. With 869 mapped single-unit operators and no multi-unit owners on file, the buying landscape is composed entirely of individual owner-operators. Top states by unit count are Pennsylvania (115), New Jersey (96), Illinois (90), Missouri (86), and North Carolina (80). The 2026 FDD shows no year-over-year unit growth data, but the sheer number of independently run locations creates a sizable addressable market for any vendor that can serve a distributed, low-AUV service business.

Who controls software purchasing

HQ holds the reins on purchasing decisions. The leadership team listed in Item 1 of the 2026 FDD includes President, CEO, and Secretary Christopher J. Blase; Vice President Christopher M. Hogg; Vice President of Finance Robert J. Liddy; and Area Vice Presidents Zachary Smilack and Ryan Lemmon. No CIO, CTO, or dedicated IT role is disclosed, which means the VP of Finance is the most likely gatekeeper for software evaluation and procurement. Vendors should direct initial outreach to Robert J. Liddy, framing value in terms of cost control, operational efficiency, and royalty compliance across a large, single-unit network.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD does not capture any mandated or recommended technology systems or vendors. There is no mention of a required POS, CRM, scheduling, or back-office platform. This absence signals that franchisees currently operate with whatever tools they choose, creating a greenfield opportunity for vendors who can offer an integrated, franchise-friendly solution. Without a corporate mandate, adoption will depend on convincing HQ to endorse a system and then driving uptake across nearly 1,200 independent operators.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD provides no procurement restrictions or designated supplier language, reinforcing the open purchasing environment. Renewal terms vary by agreement type: Technician Franchise Agreements renew for 1 year, On-Site Manager Franchise Agreements for 3 years, and Corporate Franchise Agreements for 5 years. With the initial term set at just 1 year, a significant portion of the system faces annual renewal windows. This frequent cycle creates recurring opportunities to introduce new software as part of renewal negotiations or compliance updates. Vendors should align sales cycles with these short-term renewal rhythms.

How to read the Buildingstars FDD

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is the authoritative source for understanding Buildingstars’ operational and financial structure. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executive team), Item 8 (procurement obligations), Item 11 (franchisor assistance and required systems), and Item 17 (renewal and termination). The embedded PDF below contains the full filing. Review it to confirm the absence of tech mandates and to identify any updates to the leadership roster that might shift purchasing authority. For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned with your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Buildingstars, answered from the filing

President and CEO Christopher J. Blase and VP of Finance Robert J. Liddy are the key executives. No dedicated CIO or CTO is listed; finance likely leads vendor evaluation.
The 2026 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended technology systems. Franchisees appear free to choose their own operational software.
1,229 total units, of which 1,215 are franchised and 14 are company-owned. All 869 mapped operators are single-unit franchisees.
The FDD does not specify a designated or approved supplier program. No procurement restrictions are disclosed, suggesting an open purchasing environment.
With 1-year initial terms and renewal terms of 1, 3, or 5 years depending on agreement type, contract windows open annually for most franchisees.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. View the embedded PDF below for full details on fees, terms, and obligations.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Buildingstars2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Buildingstars files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

869 operators run 869 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit869

Top states by locations

PA115
NJ96
IL90
MO86
NC80

Ownership

The portfolio behind Buildingstars

single_brand_holdco of Buildingstars International.

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.