From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Brush Masters Franchising

Home services

Software purchasing at Brush Masters Franchising is controlled at the headquarters level by CEO Joseph Ruggia and Executive Assistant Jackie Tran. The system currently operates 5 franchised units and mandates Housecall Pro as its operational platform. With a 10-year initial term and a 5% royalty, the addressable market for vendors is small but tightly defined.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
5
5 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$54K–$81K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 2%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Housecall Pro
Mandatory
Field serviceItem 8

t, our social media platforms, vendors and marketing channels. 3. Business Management System and Computer Equipment – Currently you are required to purchase, license and utilize a HouseCall Pro Busine

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee shall provide and permit Franchisor to maintain direct and independent access to the Business Management System and the Business Management System Data and to duplicate and evaluate the data;

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within 30 days of the end of each calendar month Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor monthly financial statements and other reports related to the operations of the Franchised business including, but not limited to, income statement, statement of cash flows, balance sheet, and other operational reports designated…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor, in Franchisor’s Reasonable Business Judgment, may require that Franchisee’s license, and use of the Business Management System occur through accounts registered to Franchisor, controlled by Franchisor, or licensed through Franchisor.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

As of the Issuance Date of this Disclosure Document we have not received revenue from suppliers from franchisee purchases of source restricted products or services.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

25

Item 8

We estimate that your purchase of goods and services from suppliers according to our specifications, including your purchase of goods or services from our designated exclusive suppliers to represent approximately 65% to 75% of your total purchases and leases in establishing the Franchised Business and approximately…

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

shall pay to Franchisor a supplier evaluation fee per requested product, service, equipment, supply, supplier and/or distributor to be considered

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease a source restricted item from a supplier that has not been previously approved or designated by us in writing, you must send us a written request for approval and submit additional information that we may request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All rights in and to telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business, shall, at Franchisor’s election, be transferred to Franchisor.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Item 6

You must subscribe to and participate in the customer review tracking and reputation management services and providers that we designate.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right at any time during business hours, and without prior notice to Franchisee, to inspect Franchisee’s non-residential Administrative Office, Service Vehicles and System Supplies.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

At all times, we reserve the right to supplement, modify and update the Manuals.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

you are responsible for selecting a site for your administrative office and must obtain our approval of your selected location.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee possesses no right or authority to utilize Digital Media and Franchisee agrees that Franchisor reserves all rights respecting the marketing, sale and distribution of Approved Services and Products through Digital Media.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Not less than 30 days prior to the opening of the Franchised Business and during the initial three month period following the Actual Opening Date, Franchisee shall spend not less than $2,000 to $10,000 to market and promote the grand opening of the Franchised Business in accordance with Franchisor’s standards and…

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

On an on-going monthly basis, Franchisee must spend not less than the greater of: (a) 2% of Franchisee’s monthly Gross Sales; or (b) $300 per month plus an additional $200 per month for each Additional Territory on the local marketing of the Franchised Business within and/or targeted to Franchisee’s Operating…

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

customer service and satisfaction standards including, customer rewards programs, refund policies, special promotions and other customer incentive and goodwill programs

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Franchisee’s Brush Masters Business or Operating Territory is located within the geographic area of an Advertising Cooperative, franchisee must participate in and contribute to the Advertising Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the System Supplies, as designated by us, from us, our affiliates, and/or our designated suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You may only offer and sell the Approved Services and Products that we designate and you may only use those products, supplies, equipment, technology systems, and services that we authorize and designate in writing.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Credit Card Processing – You must use our designated supplier and vendor for credit card processing which may be integrated with the point of sale system that we designate.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

you must ensure that all employees wear and maintain the proper uniforms with our approved System branded apparel and uniforms including, but not limited to, the apparel and uniforms comprising System Supplies.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

exclusively purchase and use equipment, supplies, promotional materials, point of sale systems and Business Management Systems designated by Franchisor

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee shall provide and permit Franchisor to maintain direct and independent access to the Business Management System and the Business Management System Data and to duplicate and evaluate the data;

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 7

You are required to purchase, license and use the computer system and customer relationship management system and applications that we designate.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to assess Franchisee reasonable charges for such training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

If we offer a franchisee annual conference in a given year you will be required to attend the conference on the dates and at the location that we designate.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.
  3. With median unit growth of only 2.62% YoY across 323 disclosed brands, you need to find the outliers poised for expansion before they hit the market.Using growth signals to identify high-velocity brands lets you engage them during expansion phases, capturing deals 2x faster than reactive competitors who wait for public announcements.

The vendor opportunity at Brush Masters

Brush Masters Franchising operates 5 franchised units in the home services segment, headquartered in New Jersey. The system does not disclose any company-owned locations. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is those 5 franchised locations, all of which are required to use a specific operational platform. The franchisor has not reported year-over-year unit growth in the most recent FDD, so the pipeline for net-new location sales is unclear. The initial franchise term is 10 years, and the royalty rate is 5.0% of gross revenue. Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the 2025 FDD.

Who controls software purchasing

According to Item 1 of the 2025 FDD, the two named executives are Joseph Ruggia, Chief Executive Officer and Owner, and Jackie Tran, Executive Assistant. In a system of this size, software purchasing authority is concentrated at the top. Vendors should expect that any technology decision—whether a net-new tool or a replacement for an existing system—will be made or heavily influenced by Mr. Ruggia. There is no separate CIO, CTO, or procurement officer on file. The operator footprint shows no additional multi-unit operators mapped in our corpus, meaning all 5 franchisees likely report directly to the HQ team for compliance with technology mandates.

Mandated and current tech stack

Brush Masters mandates Housecall Pro across its franchised locations. Housecall Pro serves as the core operational platform, covering scheduling, dispatching, invoicing, and payment processing for home service businesses. No other mandated or recommended technology systems are named in the FDD. Vendors selling complementary software—such as marketing automation, bookkeeping, or HR tools—should note that any integration with Housecall Pro would be a practical requirement. The absence of additional mandated systems may signal an opportunity to introduce adjacent tools, but the decision will still run through HQ.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the franchisor’s procurement model—whether it uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open purchasing framework—is not publicly known. Vendors should clarify this directly during initial conversations. On renewals, Item 17 specifies that franchisees must provide 180 days’ prior written notice, sign the then-current form of Franchise Agreement, execute a general release, pay a renewal fee, and have their owners personally guarantee the new agreement. The renewal term is 10 years. Because the system has only 5 units and no disclosed growth rate, contract windows are sparse and tied to each franchisee’s individual cycle. A vendor’s best entry point is likely at the time a franchisee renews, when the franchisor can mandate or recommend updated technology.

How to read the Brush Masters FDD

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document for Brush Masters Franchising is filed with state franchise regulators. The embedded PDF viewer below contains the full document. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated systems), Item 8 (procurement restrictions, if present), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Because the system is small and privately held—no parent company is on file—the FDD is the single best source for understanding who buys software and under what constraints. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Brush Masters Franchising, answered from the filing

CEO Joseph Ruggia and Executive Assistant Jackie Tran are the named executives in the 2025 FDD. As a small system, purchasing decisions likely route through them directly.
Brush Masters mandates Housecall Pro for its franchised locations, per the 2025 FDD. No other mandated systems are disclosed.
The 2025 FDD reports 5 total units, all of which are franchised. Company-owned unit counts are not disclosed.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly known.
Renewal requires 180 days' written notice and a new 10-year agreement. With 5 units and no disclosed growth, windows are infrequent and tied to individual franchisee renewal cycles.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Brush Masters Franchising2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Brush Masters Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

8 operators run 8 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit8

Top states by locations

NJ2
TX2
FL1
NC1
MD1

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.