From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Boatsitters.com

Home services

Software purchasing at Boatsitters.com is controlled at the headquarters level. The franchisor mandates HaborTech and Stripe by Stripe, Inc., and the executive team includes a Director of Franchise Development and a Director of Marketing and Business Development. The current addressable market is small, with 4 mapped operator locations, all in Connecticut.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
0
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
15%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$42K–$63K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

17%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 17% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 15%, Ad fund 2%. Total 17% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 15%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Stripe
PaymentsItem 11

ts (memberships, mark-ups, concierge) 1.0 Old Lyme, Connecticut HarborTech - Customer Management 1.0 Old Lyme, Connecticut HarborTech - Vendor Management 1.0 Old Lyme, Connecticut Stripe (provisioning

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

30 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 3 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 6

At all times we will have direct access to all information entered by you and/or maintained in the point of sale and Business Management System.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within 30 days of the end of each calendar month Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor monthly financial statements and other reports related to the operations of the Franchised business

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate ourselves and our affiliates as exclusive suppliers of source restricted goods and services.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor, in Franchisor’s Reasonable Business Judgment, may establish a council to provide guidance respecting the administration of the Brand Development Fund and marketing matters concerning the Brand Development Fund.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We will notify you of any changes to our specifications or list of approved or designated suppliers.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

As of the Issuance Date of this Disclosure Document we have not received revenue from suppliers from franchisee purchases of source restricted products or services.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

15

Item 8

approximately 15% of the on-going operating expenses of the Franchised Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may charge you a supplier review and testing fee and we may request that you send us samples from the supplier for testing and documentation from the supplier for evaluation.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease a source restricted item from a supplier that has not been previously approved or designated by us in writing, you must send us a written request for approval and submit additional information that we may request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All rights in and to telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business, shall, at Franchisor’s election, be transferred to Franchisor.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Item 6

You must subscribe to and participate in the customer review tracking and reputation management services and providers that we designate.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall undertake reasonable efforts to minimize the impact of any inspection on the operations of the Franchised Business.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

At all times, we reserve the right to supplement, modify and update the Manuals.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must obtain Franchisor’s written approval of the location of Franchisee’s Administrative Office.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not utilize, access or open accounts regarding or related to Digital Media unless expressly approved by Franchisor in writing which approval Franchisor may withhold, condition, limit, modify, or withdraw as determined by Franchisor in Franchisor’s Reasonable Business Judgment

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Not less than 30 days prior to the opening of the Franchised Business and during the initial three month period following the Actual Opening Date, Franchisee shall spend not less than $7,500 to market and promote the grand opening of the Franchised Business in accordance with Franchisor’s standards and specifications…

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 6

On an on-going monthly basis you must spend not less than 2% of your monthly Gross Sales on the local marketing of your Boat Sitters Business within your operating territory and in accordance with our standards and specifications.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

customer service and satisfaction standards including, customer rewards programs, refund policies, gift card policies, special promotions and other customer incentive and goodwill programs

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Franchisee’s Boat Sitters Business or Operating Territory is located within the geographic area of an Advertising Cooperative, franchisee must participate in and contribute to the Advertising Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the System Supplies, as designated by us, from us, our affiliates, and/or our designated suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You may only offer and sell the Approved Services and Products that we designate and you may only use those products, supplies, equipment, technology systems, and services that we authorize and designate in writing.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Credit Card Processing – You must use our designated supplier and vendor for credit card processing which may be integrated with the point of sale system that we designate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

Payment is subject to our specification and instruction, including, our election to have all fees automatically drafted from your business bank account or automatically debited or charged to your business bank account.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must use our designated supplier and vendor for the ability to access and use online, point of sale integrated, web based, and/or app based, ordering, customer rewards, and/or gift card systems.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

For the protection of the System, you must ensure that all employees wear and maintain the proper uniforms with our approved System branded apparel and uniforms including, but not limited to, the apparel and uniforms comprising System Supplies.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

exclusively purchase and use equipment, supplies, promotional materials, point of sale systems and Business Management Systems designated by Franchisor and, subject to Franchisor’s specifications

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee shall provide and permit Franchisor to maintain direct and independent access to the Business Management System and the Business Management System Data and to duplicate and evaluate the data;

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, HarborTech is the designated Business Management System that you must exclusively license and use in the day to day operations and overall management of your Boat Sitters Business.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee or, if Franchisee is a Corporate Entity, Franchisee’s Managing Owner and Manager, at Franchisee’s sole cost and expense, must attend and successfully complete all refresher training courses or system-wide training courses, additional training programs and seminars as Franchisor periodically may designate…

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

If we offer a franchisee annual conference in a given year you will be required to attend the conference on the dates and at the location that we designate.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Teams spend weeks manually combing through FDDs to assess unit counts and financials across 554 active home services brands.Replacing manual FDD research with instant corpus search saves 15+ hours per brand evaluation, allowing your team to assess 10x more targets and accelerate pipeline velocity by 30%.
  3. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.

The vendor opportunity at Boatsitters.com

Boatsitters.com is a home-services franchise headquartered in Connecticut. The most recent FDD, filed in 2025, shows a compact footprint: 4 mapped operator locations, all in Connecticut, with no multi-unit operators on file. Every unit falls into the 1-unit band. For a software vendor, this is a small, concentrated target—one state, one decision-making hub, and a handful of locations. The addressable market is 4 units.

Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the FDD. The royalty rate is 15.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. Year-over-year unit growth is not reported. The franchisor appears independently owned, with no parent company on file.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing authority sits at the headquarters level. The FDD lists four executives in Item 1: Mark Brett (Chief Executive Officer), Kyle Wallace (Chief Operating Officer), Robert Welsh IV (Director of Franchise Development), and McCarthy “Mac” Brodaski (Director of Marketing and Business Development). For a vendor pitch, the CEO and COO are the likely economic buyers, while the Director of Marketing and Business Development may own operational tooling decisions. The Director of Franchise Development could influence any system that touches franchisee onboarding or compliance.

Because the system is small and entirely franchised (no company-owned units are disclosed), HQ likely exerts tight control over technology choices. The mandated tech stack confirms this pattern.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD mandates two systems by name: HaborTech and Stripe by Stripe, Inc. HaborTech appears to be the core operational platform, while Stripe handles payments. No other technology vendors are disclosed in the filing. If your software overlaps with or integrates into either of these systems, your pitch must address coexistence or replacement. If you sell adjacent tools—scheduling, CRM, HR, or compliance—you will need to show how you fit alongside a HaborTech-plus-Stripe environment.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD contains no extract, so the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly known. This lack of disclosure means vendors should expect a closed, HQ-driven process and prepare for direct executive engagement.

Renewal terms are spelled out in Item 17. Franchisees must be in compliance, give 180 days’ prior written notice, sign the then-current Franchise Agreement, execute a general release, pay a renewal fee, and have their owners personally guarantee the new agreement. The renewal term is 10 years. With only 4 units and no disclosed growth, the most realistic software sales window is a renewal event or a headquarters-led system change. The 180-day notice requirement gives vendors a predictable lead time if they can identify when a unit’s term is expiring.

How to read the Boatsitters.com FDD

The full 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Key sections for software vendors: Item 1 (executives and ownership), Item 8 (procurement restrictions—though empty here), Item 11 (mandated systems and suppliers), and Item 17 (renewal and transfer triggers). Because the unit count is small and concentrated, the FDD is a quick read. Focus on the named executives and the two mandated tech vendors; everything else is secondary for a vendor qualification pass.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your ideal customer profile, FranCloud can help you prioritize where to pitch next.

Questions vendors ask

Boatsitters.com, answered from the filing

The buying center likely includes Mark Brett (CEO), Kyle Wallace (COO), and McCarthy “Mac” Brodaski (Director of Marketing and Business Development). Robert Welsh IV (Director of Franchise Development) may also influence vendor selection.
The 2025 FDD mandates HaborTech and Stripe by Stripe, Inc. No other named systems are disclosed in the filing.
The FDD maps 4 operator locations, all in Connecticut. No multi-unit operators are on file, and the unit-band split shows all 4 in the 1-unit category.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8 contains no extract, so designated-supplier or approved-supplier status is unknown.
Renewal terms are 10 years, requiring 180 days’ written notice. With no disclosed unit growth, renewal-driven windows are the primary trigger, but the small unit count limits near-term volume.
The 2025 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can read it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Boatsitters.com2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Boatsitters.com files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

4 operators run 4 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit4

Top states by locations

CT4

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.