From the filings

+50% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice

Retail food

Software purchasing at Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice is controlled at the headquarters level by its three members: Charlotte Yamashiro, David Yamashiro, and Bradly Edgerton, Ph.D. The franchisor mandates six core technology categories, including POS and inventory management, creating a defined stack for vendors to target. With 16 total units and 50% year-over-year unit growth, the addressable market is small but expanding rapidly.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
16
12 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+50%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
0.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$58K
per unit
Investment range
$296K–$596K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
3 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

5.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 5.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 0.5%. Total 5.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 0.5%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

22 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 10 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We also require you to use specific financial accounting, financial reporting, and inventory management software (approximately $100 to $150 per month) that we designate.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the information that will be generated and stored in your information processing and communication system.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will keep a complete and accurate set of books and records of the operation of the Franchise, produce monthly financial statements in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and practices for each calendar month and furnish copies of these statements to us within 30 days after the end of each…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates may derive revenue from providing products and services directly to our franchisees.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate a single supplier (including us and/or our affiliates) or exclusive suppliers for any products or services and may approve a supplier only as to certain products or services.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During our fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, we received such revenue in the amount of $0, which was 0% of our total revenue of $364,927.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

However, our affiliate, UHSI Food, LLC, receives rebates from our designated supplier of certain branded merchandise.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

35

Item 8

We estimate that purchases from us, our affiliates or approved suppliers will be from 35% to 55% of the total purchases you make to operate your franchise.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will reimburse us for the actual cost of the tests.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

Except for products and services you must purchase from us or exclusively designated suppliers, with advance written notice, you may request our approval to obtain products, equipment, supplies or materials from sources that we have not previously approved.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You authorize the transfer of your business telephone numbers and directory listings and Internet addresses, email addresses, domain names and locators to us or our designated franchisees.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We may inspect the Franchise and conduct activities to ensure compliance with the terms of the Franchise Agreement and Operations Manual to assure consistent quality and service throughout our franchise system.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 8

We may amend the Operations Manual, including changes that may affect minimum requirements for your franchise operations.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Before you enter a lease or purchase agreement for the Franchise Premises, you will submit the lease or purchase documents to us for approval.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You will not establish a website to promote our brand or your Franchise.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase branded merchandise (such as t-shirts, hats, and gift items) from exclusively designated suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase your hardware and software for your point of sale system and financial accounting, merchant processing, database management, inventory tracking, and reporting software from suppliers we exclusively designate, which may include us or our affiliates.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase certain point of sale software and hardware and financial accounting, merchant processing, database management, inventory tracking, and reporting software from suppliers we exclusively designate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We may require that all ongoing payments described in this Agreement (including Royalty Fees and Advertising Fees) be made by automatic electronic payment, including by recurring credit card or ACH debit, through a payment processor we designate from time to time.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase certain point of sale software and hardware and financial accounting, merchant processing, database management, inventory tracking, and reporting software from suppliers we exclusively designate.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the information that will be generated and stored in your information processing and communication system.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may provide refresher training programs or seminars and may require that you or your managers attend and complete them to our satisfaction.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice operates 16 total units—12 franchised and 4 company-owned—out of its headquarters in Washington state. The brand posted 50% year-over-year unit growth, a notable expansion rate for a niche retail food concept. While the absolute unit count is small, the growth trajectory signals a franchisor actively adding new locations, each of which represents a potential software deployment. The franchise agreement carries a 10-year initial term and a 5.0% royalty. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD.

For software vendors, the opportunity is twofold: selling into new franchise locations as they open and positioning for the mandated technology stack that the franchisor requires across the system. Because the franchisor mandates six specific software categories, any vendor whose product fits those categories can make a compliance-based case for adoption.

Who controls software purchasing

Decision-making authority rests with the three members listed in the franchisor's FDD Item 1: Charlotte “Ululani” Yamashiro, David Yamashiro, and Bradly Edgerton, Ph.D. No separate parent company exists—the brand appears independently owned. In a franchisor of this size, these three individuals likely function as the de facto technology buying committee. Vendors should direct outreach to this group, framing conversations around system-wide compliance, operational efficiency, and support for the brand's current expansion.

No multi-unit operators are mapped in our corpus, which means the franchisor likely exerts strong centralized control over technology decisions rather than delegating them to large franchisee groups.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD mandates software in six categories: financial accounting software, financial reporting software, inventory management software, inventory tracking software, merchant processing software, and point of sale software. The filing does not name specific vendors for any of these categories, which means the current stack may be composed of undisclosed solutions or that the franchisor leaves vendor selection open within mandated functional requirements.

This lack of named incumbents creates an opening for vendors who can demonstrate category fit. A vendor selling POS, inventory, or payment processing can credibly argue that their solution satisfies the mandate. The key is proving that the product meets the franchisor's operational needs across both company-owned and franchised locations.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract describing a designated or approved supplier program. Without that signal, the procurement model is not publicly defined. This ambiguity may mean the franchisor evaluates software on an ad hoc basis rather than through a formalized supplier approval process.

Timing a pitch requires attention to two dynamics. First, the franchise agreement renews for successive 10-year periods, with franchisees required to give notice between three and six months before expiration. Renewal conditions include refurbishment, equipment replacement, and potential retraining—events that could trigger software reevaluation. Second, and more immediately actionable, the brand's 50% unit growth rate means new locations are opening regularly. Each new unit represents a greenfield software decision, often made with direct franchisor input.

How to read the Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is available in the embedded viewer below. For software vendors, the most relevant sections are Item 11, which lists the franchisor's mandated technology categories, and Item 17, which outlines renewal conditions and the 10-year term structure. Item 1 identifies the three members who control purchasing. Because the FDD does not name specific technology vendors, vendors should use the document to confirm category mandates and then build a compliance narrative around their product's fit. For a ranked target list of franchise brands matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, answered from the filing

The buying center consists of three members listed in the FDD: Charlotte Yamashiro, David Yamashiro, and Bradly Edgerton, Ph.D. As a small, closely held franchisor, these individuals likely make or approve all technology decisions.
The FDD mandates six categories: financial accounting, financial reporting, inventory management, inventory tracking, merchant processing, and point of sale software. Specific vendor names are not disclosed in the filing.
There are 16 total units: 12 franchised and 4 company-owned. This represents a 50% year-over-year unit growth rate, signaling active expansion for a niche retail food concept.
The FDD does not contain an extract detailing a designated or approved supplier model. Without explicit Item 8 signals, the procurement model is not publicly defined, suggesting flexibility or a case-by-case approach.
Renewal conditions require notice 3–6 months before a 10-year term expires. With rapid unit growth, new location openings create more immediate software buying opportunities than the renewal cycle for existing franchisees.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the complete Item 11 technology mandates and Item 17 renewal terms.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

11 operators run 11 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit11

Top states by locations

CA5
HI3
TX2
FL1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice

unknown of uhsi international.

Related Retail food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.