From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Tuffy

Automotive services

Software purchasing decisions at Tuffy are controlled at the corporate level, with Director of Marketing Barry Unrast and Vice President Maryellen Rideout among the key executives likely involved in technology evaluation. The franchise currently mandates Tekmetric as its operational platform across 101 franchised and 28 company-owned locations. With 129 total units and an average unit volume of $1,416,325, the addressable market is compact but concentrated, offering a clear single-point-of-contact sales motion.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
129
101 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
$1.42M
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
2.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
5%
national + local
Initial fee
—
per unit
Investment range
$222K–$724K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7.5%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 7.5% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 2.5%, Ad fund 5%. Total 7.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 2.5%Ad fund 5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

TekmetricTekmetric
Industry softwareItem 11

or maintenance and support, including upgrades, offered by Tekmetric is $4,188. Tekmetric charges a $600 transfer fee if you transfer your franchise, including their software. The Tekmetric software h

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

(c) a quarterly profit and loss statement (“P&L”) and balance sheet (the P&L and balance sheet must be provided monthly if specified by Licensor);

How the franchisor buys

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 20

We have created and endorsed a franchisee organization known as the Franchise Advisory Council of Tuffy (FACT).

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to change our specifications and you must comply with the change in specifications, except that these changes cannot change your fundamental rights under the License Agreement (Section 9.1 of License Agreement).

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

203543

Item 8

In the year ending December 31, 2024, our total revenue from required purchases or leases by Tuffy franchisees was $203,543, which was 0.3% of the consolidated total revenue of our parent company, which was $69,915,176.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Licensor reserves the right for Licensor or its affiliates to receive rebates or other fees from approved suppliers based on sales of products or services to Centers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

All of your purchases from us and our affiliates, approved suppliers, or in accordance with our specifications represent 90% to 100% of your total purchases in the establishment of your Tuffy franchise and 90% to 100% of your total purchases in operating your Tuffy franchise.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Licensee may request to have one or more vendors authorized by submitting to Licensor the information, samples or agreements necessary for Licensor's determination pursuant to the procedures specified by Licensor.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Licensor may, at its option, obtain and register in its name the phone number or numbers to be used at the Franchise Business.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must comply with the PCI Requirements in connection with your franchise business.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Have a Franchise Business Manager (FBM) periodically visit your business throughout the term of your franchise. During these visits, the FBM will evaluate your operations and provide operational advice (Section 9.3 of Franchise Agreement).

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Due to the nature of operations of a Center and the fact that the standards of operations must and do change, Licensor reserves the right to change the terms of the Operations Manual from time to time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

In all cases, we must approve the site for your franchise business.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Licensee must not use the Internet, websites, domain names, any social networks (including without limitation, Facebook, X, LinkedIn, YouTube, Pinterest, Instagram, Snapchat, TikTok, Threads, and all other social media platforms now existing or later created), wikis, podcasts, online forums, content sharing…

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Licensee's Franchise Business is within a designated advertising area, Licensee is required to join, maintain a membership in and abide by the governing instrument of the advertising cooperative for that area.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Licensee must purchase all equipment, parts, inventory and supplies and services for the Franchise Business in accordance with specifications issued by Licensor and only from suppliers approved by Licensor.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the products and inventory necessary for operation of your franchise in accordance with our specifications and only from approved suppliers.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Licensee may not use any Credit Card Vendors that Licensor has not approved in writing or for which Licensor has revoked approval.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Royalty, advertising fund payments, and other periodic payments payable by Licensee to Licensor, including payments due under a lease or sublease for the Licensed Location, must be paid by electronic or similar funds transfer in the appropriate amounts from Licensee’s bank account to such accounts, and at such places…

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Licensee shall also accept debit cards, stored value gift cards or other non-cash payment systems specified by Licensor to enable customers to purchase products and services supplied by Licensee.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

One or more of the principals must devote their full time and effort to the actual management and operation of your franchise.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Licensee shall use, provide, or offer for sale at the Franchise Business only those products, supplies, uniforms, proprietary apparel, proprietary promotional items, and other items, products and services that Licensor from time to time approves (and which are not thereafter disapproved) and that comply with our…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase or lease and use the point of sale electronic and/or computer systems and other such equipment we specify for the operation of your franchise.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to independently access the sales information and other data produced by your point of sale electronic and/or computer systems and there are no contractual limitations on our right to access and use that information and data.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

Under current policies, we provide additional training programs without charge to you, but we reserve the right to charge for these training programs in the future.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?Item 11
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Tuffy

Tuffy operates a network of 129 automotive service centers, with 101 franchised locations and 28 company-owned units. The brand generates an average unit volume of $1,416,325, and franchisees pay a 2.5% royalty on a 15-year initial term. For software vendors, the total addressable market is compact but accessible through a single corporate decision-making hub. The operator base is not fragmented across large multi-unit groups; the FDD maps only 2 operators, none of which control more than a single unit. Michigan is the top state by unit count, with one known location.

Who controls software purchasing

Technology purchasing authority sits at Tuffy’s headquarters in Ohio. The 2025 FDD identifies Director of Marketing Barry Unrast and Vice President Maryellen Rideout as officers who are likely involved in vendor evaluation and selection. Because Tuffy mandates a specific shop management system, the franchisor clearly exerts top-down control over the technology environment. There is no indication that individual franchisees or a multi-unit operator group have independent purchasing power for core operational software. A vendor’s sales motion should target these HQ-level contacts rather than pursuing a location-by-location strategy.

Mandated and current tech stack

Tuffy mandates Tekmetric as its shop management system across all locations. The FDD does not list any additional recommended or mandated technology vendors, which means the current stack is lean and centralized. For vendors offering complementary or adjacent solutions—such as customer relationship management, digital vehicle inspections, or parts procurement—the Tekmetric ecosystem represents both a constraint and an integration opportunity. Any new tool must either integrate with Tekmetric or demonstrate sufficient standalone value to justify a mandate expansion.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so Tuffy’s procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should approach the conversation prepared to navigate an unknown supplier approval process. On the renewal side, the initial franchise agreement runs for 15 years. Renewal terms are 5 years and are automatic unless the franchisee declines or Tuffy withholds consent. Critically, Tuffy may require a franchisee to execute the then-current form of License Agreement upon renewal, which can contain materially different terms. This creates a potential trigger event every five years where corporate could roll out new technology requirements across renewing locations.

How to read the Tuffy FDD

The 2025 Tuffy Franchise Disclosure Document is the primary source for understanding the brand’s technology mandates, executive structure, and contractual terms. Item 11 details the mandated Tekmetric system. Item 1 lists the officers and directors who control purchasing. Item 17 outlines the renewal conditions that can force technology adoption. The full document is embedded below for your review. When evaluating Tuffy as a prospect, focus on the centralized decision-making structure and the renewal-driven windows for stack changes.

For a ranked target list of franchise brands matched to your software category, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Tuffy, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Director of Marketing Barry Unrast and Vice President Maryellen Rideout as key officers. Given the mandated tech stack, purchasing authority is centralized at headquarters rather than with individual franchisees.
Tuffy mandates the Tekmetric shop management system. No other mandated or recommended technology vendors are disclosed in the 2025 FDD.
Tuffy has 129 total locations, comprising 101 franchised units and 28 company-owned units. The operator footprint is small, with only 2 mapped operators concentrated in Michigan.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated versus approved supplier model is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should inquire directly about becoming a preferred supplier.
The initial franchise term is 15 years. Renewal is for 5-year terms and is automatic unless the franchisee opts out or Tuffy withholds consent. Renewal conditions may require adopting the then-current License Agreement, which could trigger tech stack changes.
The Tuffy Franchise Disclosure Document was filed with state franchise regulators in 2025. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed Item 11 technology disclosures and executive listings.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Tuffy2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Tuffy files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

2 operators run 2 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit2

Top states by locations

MI1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Tuffy

unknown of Metis Holdco.

Sibling brands

Related Automotive services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.