From the filings

HQ-led decisions

The Agency

Real estate

Software purchasing at The Agency is controlled at the corporate level, with multiple mandated systems already in place across its 106-unit network. The franchisor requires franchisees to use APT, Creative Center, a Marketing Portal, Salesforce, and The Agency Tools, creating a locked tech environment where HQ is the primary buyer. For vendors, the addressable market is 77 franchised locations plus 29 company-owned offices, concentrated in Florida, Nevada, Texas, Colorado, and Washington.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
106
77 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.25%
national + local
Initial fee
$48K
per unit
Investment range
$120K–$896K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7.25%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 7.25% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1.25%. Total 7.25% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1.25%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

SalesforceSalesforce
Mandatory
CrmItem 11

he Intranet. Currently, you are required to obtain Microsoft Office Professional products, Adobe X Professional or Nitro Pro for creating and viewing .PDF documents, the Intranet (Salesforce) for tran

QuickBooksIntuit
AccountingItem 11

or Nitro Pro for creating and viewing .PDF documents, the Intranet (Salesforce) for transaction management, and one of the following platforms for accounting and reporting to us: QuickBooks, BrokerWol

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

16 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 11 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Currently, you are required to obtain Microsoft Office Professional products, Adobe X Professional or Nitro Pro for creating and viewing .PDF documents, the Intranet (Salesforce) for transaction management, and one of the following platforms for accounting and reporting to us: QuickBooks, BrokerWolf, SkySlope…

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within one hundred twenty (120) days after the end of each of Franchisee’s fiscal years, Franchisee shall furnish Franchisor with (i) a profit and loss statement and balance sheet of the Franchised Business for the previous fiscal year

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We are the exclusive supplier of the Intranet, the cost of which we include in the monthly Marketing/Technologies Fee you pay us.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

But we reserve the right to designate suppliers for certain products and services in the future.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the 2025 fiscal year, neither we nor our affiliates (1) derived any revenue or other material consideration from required purchases or leases by franchisees or (2) received any payments from designated and approved suppliers on 20 1628540683.2 account of franchisee purchases or leases of required and approved…

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

We do not have a formal process for evaluating alternative suppliers, but we may approve or disapprove alternative suppliers you propose in our sole judgment (typically 30 to 60 days after a written request).

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

if the Agreement has terminated or expired for any other reason, Franchisee shall assign all interest and right to use all telephone numbers and all directory listings applicable to the Franchised Business in use at the time of such termination or expiration to Franchisor

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

intervals during normal business hours, into the Franchised Location to inspect Franchisee’s records, operations, business methods, service, management and administration, to determine the quality thereof and the faithfulness of Franchisee’s compliance with the provisions of this Agreement and the Operations Manual.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We are continuously updating and revising the Operations Manual to account for changes in the way our system operates and reserve the right to continue to do so.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

If we grant you a franchise, it will be conditioned upon you operating your Office from the approved location.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

During the term of this Agreement, Franchisee must purchase or lease the real estate software systems, approved reporting software and other products and services for the Franchised Business only according to Franchisor’s System standards and, if Franchisor requires, only from suppliers or distributors that…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the software and licenses to access our online systems only from approved suppliers.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

In accordance with state laws, however, you must appoint a supervising real estate broker, or managing broker, to supervise your Office.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee, at its sole expense, shall have installed, be trained on, and continuously use, Franchisor’s approved real estate software systems set forth in the Operations Manual, or such other system(s) approved by Franchisor in writing in its sole discretion

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee, at its sole expense, shall have installed, be trained on, and continuously use, Franchisor’s approved real estate software systems set forth in the Operations Manual, or such other system(s) approved by Franchisor in writing in its sole discretion

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We also provide ongoing, refresher and advanced training which we require you to attend.

The filing answers no to 11 questions
  • Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?Item 11
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?Item 11
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at The Agency

The Agency operates 106 real estate brokerage offices across the United States, with 77 franchised locations and 29 company-owned units. The network is relatively concentrated: Florida leads with 10 units, followed by Nevada (9), Texas (8), Colorado (8), and Washington (7). Among 70 mapped operators, 20 are multi-unit owners, though none control more than 9 locations. The unit-band split shows 50 single-unit operators and 20 with 2–9 units, meaning the majority of franchisees run a single office. For software vendors, this structure points to a top-down sales motion: corporate mandates drive adoption, and the addressable base is 106 offices, not thousands.

Average unit volume is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. The royalty rate is 6.0% of gross revenue, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years. Year-over-year unit growth is not reported, so the system's expansion trajectory is unclear from public filings alone.

Who controls software purchasing

The Agency's leadership team, as listed in Item 1 of the 2026 FDD, includes Mauricio Umansky as Chief Executive Officer, Rainy Hake Austin as President, Billy Rose as Chief Culture Officer, Sandy Knell as Chief Financial Officer, and James Ramsay as Executive Vice President of Franchise Sales. With five systems already mandated across the network, the buying center is firmly at headquarters. Any vendor pitch should target the CEO, President, or CFO, as these roles typically oversee technology procurement in a franchisor-driven model. There is no separate CIO or CTO listed, suggesting technology decisions roll up to the executive team directly.

Franchisees do not appear to have independent purchasing authority for core systems. The FDD mandates specific platforms, and the renewal process requires franchisees to sign the then-current franchise agreement, which may include updated technology obligations. This creates a recurring opportunity for vendors to influence the corporate stack at renewal inflection points.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD explicitly mandates five systems: APT, Creative Center, a Marketing Portal, Salesforce by Salesforce, Inc., and The Agency Tools. This stack covers CRM (Salesforce), marketing operations (Creative Center, Marketing Portal), and proprietary brokerage management (APT, The Agency Tools). Notably, no traditional point-of-sale system is listed—consistent with a real estate brokerage rather than a retail or food-service franchise. Vendors offering complementary or replacement solutions for CRM, marketing automation, transaction management, or agent productivity tools should map their product against these incumbents.

Because Salesforce is already mandated, any CRM-adjacent tool must either integrate deeply or displace a entrenched enterprise platform. The presence of "The Agency Tools" suggests a custom or branded operational system, which may limit off-the-shelf replacements but could create integration opportunities.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement obligations, is not extracted in the available data. This means the formal supplier designation process—whether designated, approved, or open—is not publicly known. However, the existence of five mandated systems implies a closed procurement environment where the franchisor selects and requires specific vendors.

Renewal terms, detailed in Item 17, provide a potential entry point. Franchisees must give nine months' notice, be in good standing, provide a general release where state law permits, update their office, and sign the then-current franchise agreement. That agreement may be materially different from the original, including new technology requirements. Renewal terms are five years. For a franchisee who signed at launch, the first renewal window opens roughly eight to nine years into their initial ten-year term. Vendors should monitor corporate-level technology evaluations that align with these renewal cycles, as new mandates can be pushed through the updated franchise agreement.

How to read the The Agency FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (franchisor assistance and mandated systems), Item 8 (procurement restrictions, if present), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Cross-reference the executive list with LinkedIn to identify who owns technology decisions, and use the unit count and geography data to size the opportunity. The FDD is the single source of truth for what The Agency requires today—and what it might require tomorrow. For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

The Agency, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Mauricio Umansky (CEO), Rainy Hake Austin (President), and James Ramsay (EVP, Franchise Sales) as key executives. With five mandated systems, purchasing authority sits at the corporate level, not with individual franchisees.
The 2026 FDD mandates APT, Creative Center, a Marketing Portal, Salesforce by Salesforce, Inc., and The Agency Tools. No traditional POS is specified; the stack is CRM, marketing, and proprietary-operations focused.
106 total units: 77 franchised and 29 company-owned. The top states are Florida (10), Nevada (9), Texas (8), Colorado (8), and Washington (7), with 70 mapped operators, 20 of whom are multi-unit.
The most recent FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier structure is not publicly disclosed. Given the five mandated systems, procurement appears tightly controlled by the franchisor.
Renewal terms are 5 years, requiring 9 months' notice and a new franchise agreement. With an initial 10-year term, the first major renewal wave for early franchisees would begin around year 8–9 of their term, creating periodic re-evaluation windows.
The Agency's 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to verify tech mandates, executive contacts, and unit counts directly from the source.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

The Agency2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment The Agency files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

59 operators run 70 mapped locations. 9 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit50
2–9 units9

Top states by locations

FL8
TX8
CO6
WA5
ID3

Ownership

The portfolio behind The Agency

unknown of the agency holdco.

Related Real estate brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.