From the filings

HQ-led decisions

City2Shore National Franchises

Real estate

Software purchasing at City2Shore National Franchises flows through a lean, founder-led structure with Shelley Frody listed as the agent for service of process in the 2026 FDD. The system operates 12 total units (8 franchised, 4 company-owned) and mandates the C2SSuccess platform. For software vendors, the addressable market is small but concentrated, with decision-making likely centralized at the Michigan headquarters.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
12
8 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-11.111%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
national + local
Initial fee
per unit
Investment range
$51K–$152K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
1 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

6%+of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 6%. Total 6% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

20 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 10 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We (or our designee(s)) have the right to independently access the electronic information and data relating to your City2Shore Franchise and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner, including to promote the System and the sale of Franchises.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within 90 days after the end of each fiscal year, you must prepare a balance sheet for your Franchised Business and an annual statement of profit and loss and source and application of funds.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We, and our affiliates, reserve the right to become approved suppliers of any services or products.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We formed a franchise advisory council in April 2022 (“Council”) to advise us on System policies.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the last fiscal year, ended December 31, 2025, neither we nor our affiliates derived revenue or other material consideration from required purchases or leases by franchisees; however, we reserve the right to do so.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates may receive license fees, commissions, promotional fees, advertising allowances, rebates, or other monies from some suppliers based on your purchase of services and products, and we have no obligation to pass them on to our franchisees or use them in any particular manner.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

15

Item 8

We estimate that approximately 30% to 40% of purchases required to open your City2Shore Business and 15% to 25% of purchases required to operate your City2Shore Business will be from us or from other approved suppliers or under our specifications.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to charge a fee (estimated to be approximately $100 to $500) to evaluate the proposed supplier (See Item 6).

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you desire to have a non-approved supplier of a product or service designated as an approved supplier, you must submit samples of the supplier’s products or services to us, along with a written statement describing why such products, services, or suppliers should be approved for use in the System.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

you hereby authorize the Agencies to transfer such telephone numbers, domain names, and listings to us and you authorize us, and appoint us and any officer we designate as your attorney-in-fact to direct the Agencies to transfer the telephone numbers, domain names, and listings to us if you fail or refuse to do so

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

To ensure compliance with this Agreement, we or our representatives will have the right to enter your Office, evaluate your operations, and inspect or examine your books, records, accounts, and tax returns.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We can modify the Brand Standards Manual at any time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We will consult with you on your site and require your site be subject to our final authorization.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not establish or maintain any other website or engage in any other electronic marketing of services or products without our prior written approval.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If we elect to form such cooperatives, or if such cooperatives already exist near your Territory, you will be required to participate in compliance with the provisions of the Brand Standards Manual, which we may periodically modify at our discretion.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If required by the Brand Standards Manual, you agree to purchase certain products and services only from suppliers designated or approved by us (which may include, or be limited exclusively to, us or our affiliates).

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Our written approval must be received before you use products not purchased from an approved supplier.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We currently require you to pay fees and other amounts due to us or our affiliates via electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) or other similar means.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We (or our designee(s)) have the right to independently access the electronic information and data relating to your City2Shore Franchise and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner, including to promote the System and the sale of Franchises.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

C2SSuccess, which includes our lead generating website, CRM system, C2S Drive, and C2S Academy.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at City2Shore

City2Shore National Franchises is a real estate concept headquartered in Michigan with a total footprint of 12 units—8 franchised and 4 company-owned—as disclosed in the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The system contracted by 11.1% year-over-year, which narrows the immediate addressable market for software vendors. The royalty rate is 6.0%, and the initial franchise term runs 5 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD.

For a software vendor, the opportunity here is not scale but concentration. With only 12 locations and a mandated technology platform already in place, any pitch must address a clear gap in the existing stack or offer a compelling replacement for the mandated system. The decision-making center is lean, and the buying process likely involves direct engagement with HQ leadership.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists Shelley Frody as the agent for service of process. No additional C-suite, IT, or procurement executives are named in Item 1. In systems of this size, the agent for service often doubles as a key operational decision-maker, meaning software purchasing authority likely sits with Frody or a small HQ team. Vendors should prepare for a direct, relationship-driven sales motion rather than navigating a layered procurement department.

Mandated and current tech stack

City2Shore mandates C2SSuccess across its network. The FDD does not name any other required or recommended technology vendors—no POS, CRM, ERP, or marketing platforms are specified. This creates a dual dynamic for software sellers: the mandated system is a gatekeeper, but the absence of other named vendors suggests either a narrow tech footprint or an open field for ancillary tools, provided they integrate with or complement C2SSuccess.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly documented. On renewals, Item 17 states that a franchisee in good standing may add two consecutive successor terms of five years each, subject to signing the then-current Franchise Agreement, which may contain materially different terms including higher royalties and advertising contributions. Franchisees must also provide written notice, demonstrate full compliance, hold a lease that permits continued occupancy, upgrade to then-current City2Shore Business standards, and pay a renewal fee.

With a 5-year initial term and recent negative unit growth, renewal-driven technology evaluations may be sporadic. Vendors should monitor franchisee compliance cycles and any system-wide upgrade mandates tied to the C2SSuccess platform as potential triggers for new software conversations.

How to read the City2Shore FDD

The 2026 City2Shore National Franchises FDD is filed with state franchise regulators and available in the embedded viewer below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (identifying the agent for service and HQ location), Item 11 (the mandated C2SSuccess platform), and Item 17 (renewal conditions and term structure). Because Item 8 is absent, vendors will need to ask directly about procurement policies during discovery. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

City2Shore National Franchises, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists Shelley Frody as agent for service of process, indicating a centralized, HQ-driven buying center. No additional IT or procurement executives are named in the filing.
City2Shore mandates the C2SSuccess platform across its system. No other POS or operational technology vendors are specified in the 2026 FDD.
City2Shore operates 12 total units in the US—8 franchised and 4 company-owned—according to the 2026 FDD, with a -11.1% year-over-year unit change.
The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed.
Franchisees may renew for two consecutive 5-year terms if in good standing. With a 5-year initial term and recent negative unit growth, renewal-driven tech evaluations may be infrequent.
The 2026 City2Shore FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

City2Shore National Franchises2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment City2Shore National Franchises files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

5 operators run 5 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit5

Top states by locations

MI5

Related Real estate brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.