From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Knights Inn

Lodging

Software purchasing at Knights Inn is controlled at the franchisor level, with mandates covering the property-management, central-reservations, revenue-management, payment, and key-card systems. The brand operates 127 franchised locations, and the most recent FDD names Co-Presidents Keith Pierce and Jeffrey Leer, along with Chief Marketing and Performance Officer Christopher Trick, as key executives. Vendors must navigate a tightly prescribed tech stack and a short, renewable franchise term.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
127
127 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-6.618%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
of gross sales
Ad fund
national + local
Initial fee
$18K
per unit
Investment range
$339K–$10.94M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Shift4Shift4
Mandatory
PaymentsItem 11

mentation Services fee of up to $10,000 to configure your CRS to conform to our Brand Standards and ensure proper integration with your PMS. We also require that you implement the Shift4 credit card i

SynXisSabre Hospitality
Mandatory
BookingItem 11

ny PMS other than the PMS we designate in connection with the operation of your Hotel. You must enable the PMS to provide direct full two-way connectivity with our CRS (currently, SynXis, by Aven). Cu

Global PaymentsGlobal Payments
PaymentsItem 2

ryan held the following positions, each located in Atlanta, Georgia: Senior Vice President and Segment Chief Financial Officer, Americas, of EVO Payments (subsequently acquired by Global Payments) fro

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

20 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all such information and data, including information and data from your PMS, and our access to such information and data is not contractually limited.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may change our approval process or supplier criteria at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

16064070

Item 8

During fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, SRLHF derived $16,064,070 (or 28.8% of SRLHF’s revenue of $55,755,149), from purchases of goods and services by franchisees and licensees of all Network Brands.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We and affiliates may derive revenue, such as rebates, from such transactions without restriction.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase goods or services from an unapproved supplier, then you may submit a written request for us to approve the supplier.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We own all Online Presences, and you must grant us access and take any actions necessary to confirm or transfer ownership or administrative rights.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 7

For conversions, existing hardware and platforms may be used upon verification by us, but we may require you to purchase new workstations, servers, network switches and firewalls, and added software and solutions to support our technology operating standards and security solutions.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Item 6

You must participate in all required quality assurance and guest satisfaction survey programs and maintain minimum performance standards and scores that we may establish as required by the Brand Standards for your Hotel.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 6

We (or our affiliates or agents) may conduct an evaluation of your Hotel using the Brand Standards.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 1

We may add elements to the Brand Standards or modify, alter, or delete elements of the Brand Standards.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You may not open your Hotel until: (i) we provide written confirmation that your Hotel meets Brand Standards and specifications;

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not register, own, maintain or use any domain name, website, email address, social media account, user name, other online presence or presence on any electronic, virtual, or digital medium of any kind (collectively, the “Online Presence”) related to Network Brands, your Hotel, or any Network Marks without our…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

you must purchase required goods and services according to our standards and from approved vendors when specified.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate a sole supplier or approved suppliers (which may be us or our affiliates) (the “Approved Suppliers”) from which you will be required to purchase certain Supplies, and you will purchase those Supplies only from the Approved Suppliers when required.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You must pay us by means of an automated payment system using automatically recurring electronic funds transfer that we initiate (“Recurring EFT”), also known as Auto Pay.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

If you do not personally manage your Hotel, you must employ an on-premises general manager that is sufficiently skilled and experienced to operate your Hotel.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

In renovating (or constructing) and operating your Hotel, you must use only those products, supplies, equipment, furnishings, and services that we have approved according to our Brand Standards for appearance, function, and performance, including: FF&E; operating supplies and equipment (“OS&E”); décor; layout and…

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all such information and data, including information and data from your PMS, and our access to such information and data is not contractually limited.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

Additional training may be requested at our then-current fees as outlined.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

You must also attend the Brand Conference at least every 24 months.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Knights Inn

Knights Inn operates 127 franchised lodging locations, all of which fall under a centralized technology mandate. The brand’s unit count declined by 6.618% year-over-year, meaning the addressable market is contracting slightly, but the remaining properties are locked into a prescribed stack that creates replacement and upsell opportunities. Average unit volume and royalty rates are not disclosed in the 2026 FDD, so vendors must size the opportunity using the unit count and the known tech mandates. The initial franchise term is just three years, which is unusually short for the lodging segment and accelerates the cadence at which franchisees must comply with system-wide technology requirements.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists five executives in Item 1. Co-Presidents Keith Pierce and Jeffrey Leer sit at the top of the organization, and Christopher Trick serves as Chief Marketing and Performance Officer. Phillip Hugh is the Chief Development Officer, and Lindsey Getz is the Secretary. Because the brand mandates core operational systems—CRS, PMS, RMS, RFID key, and payments—the buying authority almost certainly rests with this HQ group rather than with individual franchisees. A vendor pitching Knights Inn should expect to engage Trick for guest-facing and performance tools, and Pierce or Leer for back-of-house and infrastructure deals. No operator footprint is mapped in our corpus, reinforcing the HQ-controlled dynamic.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates five categories of technology. The Central Reservation System is SynXis, a Sabre product widely used in hospitality. Payment processing runs through Shift4. An RFID Key System is required, though the specific vendor is not named in the FDD extract. The Property Management System and Revenue Management System are also mandated, but the FDD does not disclose the vendors by name. For a software vendor, this means the PMS and RMS slots are either occupied by incumbents that are not publicly listed or represent categories where Knights Inn may be open to a switch if the current solution is not named. The absence of a named POS system suggests that point-of-sale is either not mandated or is bundled into the PMS.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Knights Inn’s Item 8 procurement requirements are not extracted in our data, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier framework is unknown. However, the renewal structure provides clear timing signals. The initial three-year term can automatically extend for three years, and then for up to three additional five-year periods if the franchisee meets conditions that include a property improvement plan (PIP), no more than three default notices, and a $5,000 renewal fee. The PIP requirement is the critical trigger for technology vendors: every renewal forces a property to bring its physical and operational assets up to brand standards, which often includes software upgrades or replacements. With a 90-day non-renewal notice window and a 60-day pre-expiration compliance deadline, vendors should map renewal cohorts and engage HQ at least six months before a wave of properties hits their term end.

How to read the Knights Inn FDD

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is the authoritative source for the mandates, executive roster, and unit counts cited above. It is filed with state franchise regulators and available in the embedded viewer on this page. For software vendors, the most actionable sections are Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated tech), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Because Knights Inn does not disclose a parent company and lists no company-owned units, the entire system is franchised and governed by the terms in this single document. Use the FDD to verify the current tech mandates and to time your outreach around the three-year renewal cycle.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Knights Inn, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists Co-Presidents Keith Pierce and Jeffrey Leer, and CMO Christopher Trick. With mandated tech across operations, the buying center likely sits with these executives and the Chief Development Officer, Phillip Hugh.
The FDD mandates a Central Reservation System (SynXis), a Property Management System, a Revenue Management System, an RFID Key System, and Shift4 for payment processing. No POS is explicitly named.
The brand has 127 total units, all of which are franchised. Company-owned units are not disclosed in the FDD. Year-over-year unit growth declined by 6.618%.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should expect a mandate-driven, HQ-controlled procurement process.
The initial franchise term is 3 years, with automatic renewals for additional 3-year or 5-year periods. Renewals require a $5,000 fee and compliance with a PIP, creating natural re-evaluation points for mandated tech.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can read the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Knights Inn2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Knights Inn files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

151 operators run 153 mapped locations. 2 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit149
2–9 units2

Top states by locations

TX15
PA14
FL11
TN10
MI10

Ownership

The portfolio behind Knights Inn

strategic_multibrand of Sonesta.

Sibling brands

Related Lodging brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.