From the filings

HQ-led decisions

CitizenM

Lodging

Software purchasing at CitizenM is controlled at the corporate level, with the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document listing a tight executive team led by CEO Anthony Capuano. The brand mandates EMPOWER Sales (ARM) hotel user licenses across its 16 franchised US locations, creating a narrow but defined addressable market for vendors offering complementary or replacement hospitality tech. With no company-owned units and a concentrated operator base, the sales path runs directly through headquarters.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
16
16 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$90K
per unit
Investment range
$62K–$72K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 6.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1.5%. Total 6.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Amadeus
SchedulingItem 3

on to dismiss the latest complaint was fully briefed as of January 6, 2026, and is pending with the court. MII intends to defend vigorously against plaintiffs’ claims. 2. Segal v. Amadeus IT Group, S.

CoStar
Industry softwareItem 3

2025, the parties entered into a settlement pursuant and the parties filed a stipulated dismissal of the lawsuit, fully resolving the case. C. Other Pending Actions 1. Portillo v. CoSTAR Group, Inc.,

OpenTable
BookingItem 8

e allowances if certain volume thresholds are met. In 2025, we and our affiliates received $130,000 as a result of this arrangement. We and our affiliates have an arrangement with OpenTable Inc. (“Ope

Sabre
BookingItem 8

y rebates, commissions, and markups are subject to change. We and our affiliates pay Sabre Inc. (“Sabre”) a fee for each transaction that is delivered from travel agencies through Sabre’s global distr

STR
Industry softwareItem 3

rous hotel companies, including MII, Hilton, Hyatt, and others. The lawsuit alleges the unlawful sharing of information in violation of U.S. antitrust laws, focusing on the use of STR reports at luxur

TripAdvisor
Industry softwareItem 6

nd paid ads in search engines (such as Google, Yahoo, and Bing), AI engines (such as Google, OpenAI, Anthropic), through advertising networks and direct referral partners (such as TripAdvisor, Google

Twitter
MarketingItem 2

rry Group plc. since October 2019, and Procter & Gamble since August 2020. She previously served as a director of AT&T Inc. until April 2022, WGL Holdings, Inc. from 1999 to 2018, Twitter, Inc. from M

Yahoo
MarketingItem 6

per month. 14 Through the Transaction-Based Media Program, we develop advertising materials and pay third parties to place listings and paid ads in search engines (such as Google, Yahoo, and Bing), AI

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

20 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 10 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 7

We have independent access to the system databases at your hotel.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

For each full or partial calendar or fiscal year (whichever is used by Franchisee for income tax purposes), Franchisee will prepare and provide to Franchisor a complete statement of income and expense from the operation of the Hotel for the preceding year.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may designate suppliers, including Franchisor, for certain items related to FF&E, Inventories and Fixed Asset Supplies.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

11250060

Item 8

The total amount of revenue that we and our affiliates received in 2025 as a result of franchisees’ required purchases, including any unrestricted rebates that we retained and did not distribute, and other fees or payments that we charged for providing procurement services on behalf of franchisees or otherwise…

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Suppliers may pay to MIP Americas various fees and commissions.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

46

Item 8

(ii) 46% to 60% of the total cost of purchases and leases you will incur to operate a typical citizenM hotel2 on an annual basis.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee may propose new suppliers by delivering sufficient information and samples for Franchisor’s confirmation that such item meets the Standards and the proposed supplier is capable of providing such item in accordance with the Standards.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 7

You must comply with all rules and regulations promulgated by the credit card companies and associations, including current PCI data security standards and our PCI compliance standards.

Franchise management

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may change the standards at any time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

Your franchise agreement will permit you to operate one hotel of a specific size at a specific site selected by you and approved by us.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will conduct an opening advertising and marketing campaign that complies with the Standards.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 11

We may provide, and you must participate in (at your cost), sales and marketing programs and activities that are not funded by the Marketing Fund, such as email marketing, internet search engine marketing, transaction-based paid media programs, sales lead referrals and bookings, cooperative advertising programs…

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Additionally, we may specify that certain food products, FF&E, OS&E, communication systems (including internet access, see Item 11), and other goods and services be purchased only from us or sources designated or approved by us.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 7

You must also use our preferred providers in connection with processing credit cards, including authorizations and settlements.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We will require franchisees to submit payments due to us, our affiliates, and certain approved vendors such as travel intermediaries via ACH (Automated Clearing House) bank transfer or other methods of electronic funds transfer.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 11

We may provide, and you must participate in (at your cost), sales and marketing programs and activities that are not funded by the Marketing Fund, such as email marketing, internet search engine marketing, transaction-based paid media programs, sales lead referrals and bookings, cooperative advertising programs…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

If you choose to install a POS system at your hotel, you must use one of the POS systems that we designate.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may access the information contained in the Electronic Systems and Franchisee will take all actions reasonably necessary to provide such access.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

The cost of supplemental training and sales and marketing programs is described in Items 6 and 11.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

Properties are required to send at least one individual to attend these conferences.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at CitizenM

CitizenM operates 16 franchised lodging units in the United States, according to its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The brand reports no company-owned locations, meaning every US property falls under the franchise system and is subject to the same operational and technology standards set by headquarters. For software vendors, this creates a compact but uniform target: 16 properties that must comply with corporate mandates, with no split between corporate and franchise tech stacks to navigate.

The addressable market is small by unit count, but the concentration of decision-making at the top simplifies sales motion. Year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed in the FDD, and the operator footprint shows only two mapped operators across approximately two located units, with no multi-unit operators controlling more than one location. The unit-band split confirms this: one operator in the 1-unit band, none in the 2–9, 10–24, or 25+ bands. This suggests a tightly held system where corporate influence is direct and pervasive.

Average unit volume is not reported in the FDD, so vendors cannot benchmark revenue-per-location. The royalty rate sits at 5.0% of gross revenue, and the initial franchise term runs 20 years. These figures point to a stable, long-horizon franchise relationship, which may influence the pace of technology adoption and the timing of contract renewals.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists five executives in Item 1. Anthony Capuano serves as Director, Chief Executive Officer, and President — the operational lead and likely ultimate decision-maker for enterprise software investments. David S. Marriott holds the Chairman of the Board role, adding a governance layer to major capital or technology commitments. The remaining directors — Isabella D. Goren, Deborah Marriott Harrison, and Frederick A. Henderson — round out a board-level group that would weigh in on significant vendor partnerships.

No dedicated Chief Information Officer, Chief Technology Officer, or VP of Procurement is named in the FDD. This means the buying center is compact and senior. A vendor pitching CitizenM should expect to engage Capuano’s office or a delegate within the executive team, rather than a specialized IT procurement function. The absence of multi-unit franchisees further concentrates authority: with no large operator groups holding multiple units, there is no parallel purchasing track through franchisee cooperatives or influential owner-operators.

Mandated and current tech stack

CitizenM’s Item 11 disclosures mandate EMPOWER Sales (ARM) hotel user licenses across all franchised locations. EMPOWER is a hospitality-specific sales and catering system, and the ARM (Advanced Revenue Management) component suggests the brand standardizes revenue optimization at the property level. Vendors selling PMS, CRM, or revenue management tools must either integrate with or displace this mandated system.

Two additional programs appear in the mandated technology list: a Global Sales Agent group booking program and an MI Leads program. The FDD does not name the software vendors behind these programs, but their inclusion as required systems signals that group sales and lead management are centrally controlled functions. Any vendor offering group sales automation, lead routing, or sales CRM should map their capabilities against these existing mandates.

No POS system, property management system, or back-office platform is named in the available extracts. This does not mean none exist — only that the FDD’s disclosed mandates focus on sales and revenue management rather than on-property operations. Vendors should treat the tech landscape as partially visible and prepare to uncover the full stack during discovery.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, leaving the brand’s purchasing model — designated supplier, approved supplier list, or open market — undisclosed. This is a critical gap for vendors, as it obscures whether CitizenM requires franchisees to buy from a single source or allows competitive evaluation. Direct inquiry with headquarters is the only way to clarify the procurement path.

Item 17, which covers renewal, transfer, and termination, also lacks an extract in the available data. Without renewal terms, vendors cannot estimate when franchise agreements come up for renegotiation — a common trigger for technology reassessment. The 20-year initial term suggests long cycles, but without knowing when the first agreements were signed, contract windows remain opaque.

Year-over-year unit growth is not reported, and the operator footprint shows no multi-unit expansion. This stability may mean fewer greenfield technology deployments but also less churn. Vendors should approach CitizenM as a relationship-driven sale to a small, centralized headquarters team, not a high-velocity, multi-operator land grab.

How to read the CitizenM FDD

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is the authoritative source for understanding CitizenM’s technology mandates, executive structure, and franchise system composition. Item 1 identifies the leadership team and any parent entities — here, no parent company is on file, suggesting independent ownership. Item 11 lists the mandated systems franchisees must use, which is where EMPOWER Sales (ARM) and the group booking and leads programs appear. Item 8, if present, would detail procurement restrictions, and Item 17 would outline renewal and termination conditions.

For software vendors, the FDD is a due diligence tool, not a sales deck. It tells you who decides, what they require, and how many doors you can sell into. The embedded PDF viewer below contains the full filing. Use it to verify the facts cited here and to identify additional contacts or obligations that may shape your pitch. For a ranked target list of franchise brands matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

CitizenM, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists Anthony Capuano as Director, CEO, and President, with David S. Marriott as Chairman. Purchasing authority sits with this C-suite group; no separate CIO or procurement officer is named.
CitizenM mandates EMPOWER Sales (ARM) hotel user licenses for its franchised locations. The FDD also references a Global Sales Agent group booking program and an MI Leads program as required systems.
The 2026 FDD reports 16 total franchised units in the US, with no company-owned locations disclosed. The brand's US footprint is small and concentrated, with California hosting the most units.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should verify directly during discovery.
The FDD provides no Item 17 renewal extract and does not disclose contract cycle timing. With a 20-year initial term and no recent unit growth data, windows are unpredictable without direct outreach.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze tech mandates, executive contacts, and unit data directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

CitizenM2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment CitizenM files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

2 operators run 2 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit2

Top states by locations

CA2

Related Lodging brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.