From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Boarders Inn & Suites

Lodging

Software purchasing decisions for Boarders Inn & Suites are controlled at the headquarters level by executives including Co-Owner & CFO Kim Wogernese and Brand President Josie Kilgore. The brand mandates a specific, narrow technology stack covering property management, reservations, payments, and marketing. With only 15 franchised units and a recent contraction of 6.25%, the addressable market is small, making this a highly targeted account play for vendors whose systems directly complement or replace the existing mandated core.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
15
15 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-6.25%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
national + local
Initial fee
$45K
per unit
Investment range
$100K–$2.34M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

5%+of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 5% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%. Total 5% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

9 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Amadeus
Mandatory
SchedulingItem 8

ing engines, reservation call centers, managing rates and content and revenue management. You must participate in third party reservation systems that we make available, including AMADEUS, GALILEO/APO

Cendyn
Mandatory
CrmItem 8

Item 6 of this disclosure document. The Rewards Program services include administration and management of guest points and redemptions. As of the date of this disclosure document, Cendyn is the only a

Galileo
Mandatory
SchedulingItem 8

es, reservation call centers, managing rates and content and revenue management. You must participate in third party reservation systems that we make available, including AMADEUS, GALILEO/APOLLO, SABR

Sabre
Mandatory
BookingItem 8

ing alternative suppliers. Call Center Reservation Services You must use the Call Center Reservation Services provider that we select. Currently, we require the franchisees to use Sabre, but we may ch

Shift4
Mandatory
PaymentsItem 6

on Call Center and 16% of revenue receiving invoice center provider we require. (Toll Free Reservation derived from each Line) booked reservation transferred from the call center. Shift4 (credit card

Sojern
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

orm We have entered into an agreement with Sojern, Inc. to provide marketing services which includes, but is not expressly limited to directing guest traffic to our hotels through Sojern’s proprietary

Stayntouch
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 6

otel into compliance with the then-current image intended to be portrayed by Boarders Lodging Facilities. Property Management One-time initial fee of Immediately upon You must use Stayntouch System $1

SynXis
Mandatory
BookingItem 8

le member of BriMark, CSC, BMBC, and BMBLA. Central Reservation System You must use the central reservation system provider that we select. Currently we require franchisees to use SynXis, but we may c

Worldspan
Mandatory
SchedulingItem 8

nters, managing rates and content and revenue management. You must participate in third party reservation systems that we make available, including AMADEUS, GALILEO/APOLLO, SABRE, WORLDSPAN, various I

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to information and data on your computer system.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will, at its expense, provide Franchisor with annual financial statements for the Franchised Location

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

however, we and our affiliates can be suppliers for any goods and services we offer.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

The Cobblestone Franchise Advisory Board (“Board”) is an advisory group which provides input to us on various matters, including advertising.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

Currently we require franchisees to use SynXis, but we may change providers at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

3744482.21

Item 8

For the year ended December 31, 2024, our revenues and our affiliates revenues from the sale of goods and services to franchisees was $3,744,482.21, or 38.99% of our total revenues of $9,603,699.57.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall have the right to receive and retain marketing allowances, royalties, commissions and/or other payments or consideration from suppliers in connection with the sale of goods and services to Franchisor and/or Franchisor's franchisees, including Franchisee.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

15

Item 8

approximately 15% to 30% of your ongoing monthly expense for either a newly constructed hotel or a conversion.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

The process by which you must request approval of your chosen supplier, architects and contractors begins with you submitting to us information regarding the supplier in writing.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges that Franchisor has the absolute right and interest in and to all such telephone numbers and listings associated with the Mark, and Franchisee hereby authorizes Franchisor to direct the telephone company and all listing agencies to transfer all telephone numbers and directory listings to…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall, at its expense, comply with all information security standards published by the Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council as well as any and all applicable laws intended to protect personal information and to ensure security when transactions are processed using a payment card.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate in all customer satisfaction systems sponsored or maintained by Franchisor (the “Customer Satisfaction Systems”).

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Such examinations and inspections may include periodic quality assurance evaluations of the Franchised Location by Franchisor and its employees, agents, and representatives.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor will provide Franchisee with access to or use of one copy of each of the documents comprising the Rules and Regulations, Plans and Specifications, and all other standards and specifications required by Franchisor, as may be modified, deleted, or otherwise altered at any time by Franchisor in its sole and…

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will not purchase, lease, or otherwise acquire possession of a site for the Franchised Location until the proposed site has been approved by Franchisor.

Marketing

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 8

You must participate in the Cobblestone Rewards Program.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase your Boarders Lodging Facility’s Central Reservation System (“CRS”), Property Management System (“PMS”), Call Center Reservation Services (“CCR”), Cobblestone Rewards Program (“Rewards Program”), and credit card processing system from our approved suppliers.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must use the credit card processing and payment gateway system provider that we select.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All persons employed by Franchisee must practice good personal hygiene and must wear clean and neat standard attire or uniforms as required by the Rules and Regulations.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to information and data on your computer system.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

After your Boarders Lodging Facility opens for business, we may require additional training on an as-needed basis if your Boarders Lodging Facility is not operating in compliance with our standards, we institute new standards, or you hire employees that are unfamiliar with our standards.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Boarders Inn & Suites

Boarders Inn & Suites presents a compact, 15-unit lodging franchise headquartered in Wisconsin. For software vendors, this is not a volume play. The total addressable market is limited to these 15 franchised locations, and the system contracted by 6.25% year-over-year. There are no company-owned units on file, meaning every operating location is a franchisee bound by the brand’s technology mandates. The absence of a disclosed Average Unit Volume (AUV) in the 2025 FDD makes it difficult to model per-unit revenue potential, but the small denominator keeps any deal size modest. Vendors should approach this as a strategic, relationship-driven account where displacing an incumbent or adding value atop the mandated stack is the only viable path.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits at the top of a lean organization. The 2025 FDD lists Co-Owner & Chief Financial Officer Kim Wogernese and Co-Owner Jeremy Griesbach alongside Brand President Josie Kilgore. With no operators mapped in our corpus and a fully franchised system, the franchisor holds tight control over technology standards. A vendor pitch must reach Wogernese or Kilgore directly; there is no middle layer of large franchisee groups to influence. The mandate-heavy tech environment confirms that HQ makes the binding decisions on core systems, leaving individual franchisees with little to no autonomy over operational software.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD mandates a specific, integrated stack. The Central Reservation System is SynXis CRS, and property management runs on Stayntouch. Payment processing is locked to Shift4, and digital marketing flows through the Sojern Marketing Platform. All franchisees operate through the Cobblestone Portal, which appears to serve as the central hub for brand communications and system access. For a vendor, this means any new software must either integrate seamlessly with SynXis and Stayntouch or replace a mandated component outright—a high bar requiring a compelling ROI case presented directly to the C-suite.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The procurement model itself is not disclosed in the most recent FDD; the Item 8 extract was not available. This leaves open the question of whether the franchisor uses a designated supplier program, an approved vendor list, or an open market. The initial franchise agreement runs for 10 years. After expiration, the agreement automatically renews for additional 2-year terms until either party terminates it as prescribed. With negative unit growth, the most realistic timing for a software conversation is not new unit openings but rather the natural churn of existing contracts or a franchisor-led initiative to upgrade the mandated stack. Vendors should monitor any executive statements or brand repositioning efforts for signals of a tech refresh.

How to read the Boarders Inn & Suites FDD

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for understanding the legal and operational constraints on technology at Boarders Inn & Suites. Item 11 details the mandated systems named above. While Item 8 did not yield a procurement signal in our extract, a full reading may reveal additional supplier requirements. The document is filed with state franchise regulators and is available for review in the embedded viewer on this page. For vendors building a ranked target list of franchise systems, FranCloud provides the structured data and decision-maker mapping to prioritize accounts like this one efficiently.

Questions vendors ask

Boarders Inn & Suites, answered from the filing

The buying center includes Co-Owner & CFO Kim Wogernese and Brand President Josie Kilgore. Given the small system size and mandated tech stack, these executives directly control vendor selection and approval.
The 2025 FDD mandates Shift4 for payment processing, SynXis as the Central Reservation System, Stayntouch for property management, and the Sojern Marketing Platform. All franchisees must use the Cobblestone Portal.
There are 15 total units, all of which are franchised. The brand reported a year-over-year unit decline of 6.25%, indicating a contracting footprint in the lodging segment.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The Item 8 extract was not available, so it is unknown whether suppliers must be designated, approved, or if the system is open.
The initial franchise term is 10 years. After expiration, the agreement automatically renews for additional 2-year terms. With negative unit growth, renewal-driven churn is a more likely window than new unit openings.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the specific contractual obligations and restrictions.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Boarders Inn & Suites2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Boarders Inn & Suites files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

23 operators run 23 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit23

Top states by locations

WI9
IA4
KS2
NE2
CO1

Related Lodging brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.