From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Waters Edge Wineries

Retail food

Software purchasing at Waters Edge Wineries is controlled at the franchisor level, with mandates covering point-of-sale, accounting, and proprietary systems. The chain operates 113 franchised units with an average unit volume of $5,097,265 and a 10-year initial term. Vendors should understand the mandated Orderport and QuickBooks stack, the HQ decision-makers listed in the 2026 FDD, and the renewal-triggered evaluation windows before pitching.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
113
113 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
$5.10M
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$58K
per unit
Investment range
$580K–$1.34M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 2%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

OrderPortOrderPort
Mandatory
POSItem 7

d Approved Suppliers System & Label $14,660 Printing; data storage, Phone System, internet access and other hardware and software costs needed to implement and maintain these. (4) Orderport POS System

RevelRevel Systems
Mandatory
POSItem 6

ent agencies and documented refunds provided to customers. (3) You are required to use our Sales Reporting Module (“SRM”), which will calculate your Royalties obligation from your Revel POS. You will

EcolabEcolab
Industry softwareItem 8

nue from franchisee purchases, but may do so in the future. In the year ending December 31, 2025, we received revenue in the form of a rebate from a third party juice supplier and Ecolab in the amount

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

22 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 6 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must record daily all sales using our designated software.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

You acknowledge and agree that we and our designee will have full and complete access to information and data entered and produced by the accounting programs without need to obtain prior notice or approval from you; however, you may restrict our ability to change accounting information and limit us to “view only” in…

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within 5 days after the end of each month, you must submit to us a report with respect to the preceding calendar month in the form and content as we periodically prescribe.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Franchise agreement

For instance, we are currently the only approved supplier for the custom winery system, juice and other supplies.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You acknowledge and agree that we have the right to modify, add to or rescind any requirement, standard or specification that we prescribe under this Agreement to adapt the System to changing conditions competitive circumstances, business strategies, business practices and technological innovations and other changes…

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

In the year ending December 31, 2025, we received revenue in the form of a rebate from a third party juice supplier and Ecolab in the amount of $5,441 and $1,575.68, respectfully, on account of the supplier’s transactions with our franchisees.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

You must notify us in writing if you want to offer for sale any brand of product, or to use in the operation of your Store any brand of juice or other wine ingredient or other material, equipment, item or supply that has not been approved by us, or to purchase any product from a supplier that has not been designated…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The phone system account you are required to purchase and maintain through our approved supplier is ultimately owned by us and upon expiration or termination of this Agreement, we will automatically have ownership of each phone line used at your Store.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We or our authorized representative have the right at all times during the business day to enter the premises where your books and records relative to the Store are kept and to evaluate, copy and audit such books and records.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may from time to time revise the contents of the Operations Manuals and other materials and you expressly agree to comply with each new or changed requirement.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must propose a site for your location and obtain our approval within 90 days of the date of your Agreement.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 13

You may not separately register any domain name containing any of the Marks or operate your own website selling wine or related products, or any social media site or page whether or not they contain our Marks without our express prior written consent.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We require you to use our approved supplier for your grand opening advertising.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

After opening, you must spend at least 3% of your Gross Sales on local advertising and promotion.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all products used in the operation of your Store from

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all products used in the operation of your Store from suppliers approved in writing by us.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

The monthly Royalty amount is deducted via electronic transfer from your electronic depository transfer account on the 15th of every month.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must purchase and your employees must at all times wear uniforms while on duty imprinted with the Trademarks and conforming to other specifications prescribed by us.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must separately purchase a POS system meeting our requirements.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We may access your computer and POS systems and retrieve, analyze, download and use all software, data and files stored or used on your Computer System and POS.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may require you to attend refresher training programs and we also will provide additional training upon your reasonable request.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

You must attend our annual national conference(s) that we organize for franchisees.

The filing answers no to 6 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
  • Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Waters Edge Wineries

Waters Edge Wineries operates 113 franchised locations, all under a single brand with no company-owned units disclosed in the 2026 FDD. The system reports an average unit volume of $5,097,265, placing it in the upper mid-range of retail food franchise concepts. For a software vendor, the addressable market is exactly those 113 units, each bound by a 10-year initial term and a 5% royalty. The franchisor mandates several technology systems, which means the HQ buying center—not individual franchisees—controls core software decisions. That centralization concentrates the sales motion: win the HQ relationship, and you win the system.

The chain’s unit growth year-over-year is not disclosed in the available data, so vendors should treat the installed base as relatively stable and focus on displacement or add-on opportunities within the mandated stack. With a $5,097,265 AUV, franchisees have meaningful revenue to support technology spend, but any new vendor must align with the franchisor’s operational playbook and training requirements.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD Item 1 lists five executives: Ken Lineberger (Chief Executive Officer), Angela Lineberger (Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer), Mark Mitzenmacher (Director of Franchise Operations), Jennifer Hulan (Director of Franchise Support), and Tina Hitchock (Franchise Liaison). For a software vendor, the Director of Franchise Operations and Director of Franchise Support are the most likely day-to-day buyers for operational and support platforms. The CEO and VP/Treasurer likely hold final approval authority on enterprise-level contracts. There is no CIO or CTO named, which is common in systems of this size—technology decisions often roll up through operations leadership.

Because the franchisor mandates specific systems, the buying center sits entirely at HQ. Franchisees are not mapped in our corpus as independent operators with purchasing authority. Vendors should prepare for a top-down sales process, demonstrating how their solution integrates with or improves upon the existing mandated stack without disrupting the franchisor’s standardized operating model.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD mandates four technology components: Orderport, QuickBooks, custom winery systems training, and the WEW Intranet. Orderport serves as the point-of-sale and operational management platform, making it the system of record for daily transactions. QuickBooks handles accounting. The custom winery systems training is not a named third-party vendor but a franchisor-controlled program, suggesting proprietary operational workflows that any new software must accommodate. The WEW Intranet functions as the internal communication and resource hub.

No other mandated vendors are disclosed. This stack leaves potential whitespace for vendors in areas like inventory management, labor scheduling, customer relationship management, or business intelligence—provided they can integrate with Orderport and QuickBooks and align with the franchisor’s training and intranet ecosystem. The absence of a named CRM or marketing automation mandate is notable for a retail food concept with a $5M+ AUV.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 procurement language is not extracted in the available data, so the formal purchasing rules—designated supplier, approved supplier, or open market—are not publicly known. Vendors must clarify this directly with HQ during discovery. The renewal terms in Item 17, however, provide a clear timing signal. Franchise agreements run 10 years, and renewal requires written notice 6 to 12 months before expiration, a $5,000 renewal fee, compliance with modernization and training requirements, and execution of the then-current franchise agreement, which may contain materially different terms.

That “materially different terms” clause is the vendor’s window. When franchisees face a new agreement with updated operational mandates, the franchisor is likely evaluating or re-evaluating technology systems. Vendors who engage HQ 12–18 months before a cohort of renewals can position themselves as part of the modernization requirement. Without unit-level growth data, pinpointing renewal cohorts is difficult, but the 10-year term and centralized control mean every renewal cycle is a system-wide opportunity if the franchisor mandates a change.

How to read the Waters Edge Wineries FDD

The 2026 Waters Edge Wineries Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. For software vendors, the highest-value sections are Item 1 (executive team and corporate structure), Item 11 (mandated technology and supplier obligations), and Item 17 (renewal conditions and timing). Item 8, if available in the full document, will clarify whether the franchisor designates exclusive suppliers or maintains an approved-vendor program. Cross-reference the executive list in Item 1 with LinkedIn to map the current organizational chart before outreach. The FDD is filed with state franchise regulators and reflects the system as of the 2026 filing year. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Waters Edge Wineries, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Ken Lineberger (CEO), Angela Lineberger (VP/Secretary/Treasurer), Mark Mitzenmacher (Director of Franchise Operations), Jennifer Hulan (Director of Franchise Support), and Tina Hitchock (Franchise Liaison) as the executive team. Operations and support directors are the likely buying-center leads for operational software.
The 2026 FDD mandates Orderport for point-of-sale and operational management, QuickBooks for accounting, custom winery systems training, and the WEW Intranet. No other named vendors are disclosed as mandated.
The 2026 FDD reports 113 total units, all franchised. Company-owned unit counts are not disclosed. This represents a mid-sized retail food franchise system.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so designated-supplier versus approved-supplier rules are not publicly disclosed. Vendors should clarify purchasing authority and approved-vendor processes directly with HQ.
Renewal conditions require notice 6–12 months before the 10-year term ends, a $5,000 renewal fee, and compliance with modernization and training requirements. Franchisees may face materially different contract terms at renewal, creating natural tech evaluation windows.
The Waters Edge Wineries 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below to examine Item 1 executives, Item 11 tech mandates, and Item 17 renewal terms directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Waters Edge Wineries2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Waters Edge Wineries files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

13 operators run 16 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit12
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

TX3
OH3
VA2
OK2
KY1

Related Retail food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.