From the filings

No mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Speedy Freight

Professional services

Software purchasing decisions at Speedy Freight are controlled at the corporate headquarters level, where the executive team, including CEO Michael Smith and CFO James Pugh, oversees operations. The franchisor's 2026 FDD does not mandate any specific technology systems, leaving the current tech stack undisclosed. With 10 total units and an average unit volume of $1.12 million, the addressable market is small but concentrated.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
10
9 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
$1.12M
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
—
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$75K–$194K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
1 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

1%+of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 1% of gross sales (FY2026)Ad fund 1%. Total 1% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We (or our designee) have the right to independently access the electronic information and data relating to your Speedy Freight Business and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner, including to promote the System and the sale of Franchises.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will deliver a balance sheet, profit and loss statement, statement of cash flows and explanatory footnotes prepared under generally accepted accounting principles applied on a consistent basis (“Financial Statements”) to us within the time period required by the Franchise Operations Manual.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may revoke approval of any supplier, product or service in our sole discretion, in which case you must stop purchasing goods, products, or services from such supplier.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates may receive rebates from some suppliers based on your purchase of products and services and we have no obligation to pass them on to our franchisees or use them in any particular manner.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

80

Item 8

We estimate that approximately 40% to 50% of purchases required to open your Speedy Freight Business and 80% to 90% of purchases required to operate your Speedy Freight Business will be from us or from other approved suppliers or under our specifications.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to charge a fee to evaluate the proposed product, service or supplier (estimated to be approximately $100 to $500).

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use or sell a product or service that we have not yet evaluated, or if you want to purchase or lease a product or service from a supplier or provider that we have not yet approved (for products and services that require supplier approval), you must notify us and submit to us the information…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Immediately stop using all telephone numbers, advertisements, domain names and social media accounts associated with the Franchised Business.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to comply with the then-current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards as those standards may be revised and modified by the PCI Security Standards Council, LLC, or any successor organization or standards we may reasonably specify.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At any time, we reserve the right to engage the services of one or more mystery shoppers (who may be, in our discretion, one of our employees or contractors) or quality assurance inspection firms who will inspect your Franchised Business for quality control purposes.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We can modify the Franchise Operations Manual at any time.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You may not maintain a separate website, conduct e-commerce, or otherwise maintain a presence on the Internet in connection with your Franchised Business without our express written permission, which we may revoke at any time, in our sole discretion.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must participate in any advertising cooperative that we require for the purpose of creating and/or purchasing advertising programs for the benefit of all franchisees operating within a particular region.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must use the computer hardware and software, including the point-of-sale system that we periodically designate to operate your Speedy Freight Business.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to maintain, at all times, credit card relationships with the credit and debit card issuers or sponsors, check or credit verification services, financial center services, payment providers, merchant service providers, loyalty and gift cards, and electronic fund transfer systems (together, “Payment Vendors”)…

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must complete our automated clearing house (ACH) authorization form allowing us to electronically debit a bank account you designate (“Franchise Account”) for: (i) all fees payable to us under this Franchise Agreement (other than the Initial Franchise Fee); and (ii) any other amounts you owe to us or any of our…

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to maintain, at all times, credit card relationships with the credit and debit card issuers or sponsors, check or credit verification services, financial center services, payment providers, merchant service providers, loyalty and gift cards, and electronic fund transfer systems (together, “Payment Vendors”)…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must use the computer hardware and software, including the point-of-sale system that we periodically designate to operate your Speedy Freight Business.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We (or our designee) have the right to independently access the electronic information and data relating to your Speedy Freight Business and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner, including to promote the System and the sale of Franchises.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

Additional Training or The then-current fee Within ten days We may charge you for training additional Assistance Fees (currently $550 per after invoicing persons, newly-hired personnel, refresher additional person for training courses, advanced training initial training and $400 courses, and additional or special per…

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to participating in ongoing training, you will be required to attend any national or regional meeting or conference of franchisees.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?Franchise agreement
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Franchise agreement
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Speedy Freight

Speedy Freight is a professional services franchise with a small but high-value footprint. The system consists of 10 total units—9 franchised and 1 company-owned—generating an average unit volume (AUV) of $1,121,936. For a software vendor, the immediate addressable market is limited to these 10 locations, with the operator base concentrated in Texas. The franchisor has not disclosed any year-over-year unit growth, suggesting a stable rather than rapidly expanding network. This makes Speedy Freight a niche target where a single deal could cover a meaningful portion of the system, but the total contract value ceiling is low compared to larger franchise brands.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits at the corporate headquarters. The 2026 FDD lists five key executives: Michael Smith (Chief Executive Officer), John Munnelly (Chief Operating Officer), James Pugh (Chief Financial Officer), Kody Slade (President of Franchise Development), and Starr Bollefer (President of National Sales). For a software vendor, the most relevant initial contacts are likely CEO Michael Smith and CFO James Pugh, who would evaluate enterprise-level tools, while COO John Munnelly may influence operational technology decisions. There are no multi-unit operators on file, meaning all franchisees are single-unit owners with no independent purchasing scale, reinforcing HQ's centralized control.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD does not mandate or recommend any specific technology systems. No POS provider, operations platform, or back-office software is named in the filing. This absence of mandates means the current tech stack is unknown to outside vendors—franchisees may be using a patchwork of self-selected tools, or the franchisor may have informal preferences not captured in the disclosure document. For a vendor, this represents either a greenfield opportunity to become the first standardized solution or a risk that an unlisted incumbent already has deep penetration. Direct discovery conversations with the executive team are essential to map the actual landscape.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not disclose a procurement model. No Item 8 signals indicate whether Speedy Freight uses designated suppliers, approved supplier lists, or an open procurement process. This lack of transparency means vendors must engage HQ directly to understand purchasing requirements. On the renewal side, the franchise agreement has an initial term of 5 years, with a single successor term of 5 years available if the franchisee is in good standing and signs the then-current agreement. Franchisees must provide written notice between 60 and 180 days before expiration. These renewal windows, occurring every five years, may create natural opportunities for technology evaluation as operators sign updated agreements with potentially different terms, including higher royalty and advertising contributions.

How to read the Speedy Freight FDD

The 2026 Speedy Freight Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for understanding the franchisor's operations, obligations, and unit economics. For software vendors, the most relevant sections are Item 8 (procurement restrictions), Item 11 (franchisor assistance and required technology), and Item 17 (renewal and termination terms). The full document is available in the embedded viewer below. When reviewing it, pay close attention to any amendments or state-specific addenda that may modify the base terms. For a ranked target list of franchise brands matched to your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize your outreach.

Questions vendors ask

Speedy Freight, answered from the filing

The executive team controls purchasing. Key contacts include CEO Michael Smith, COO John Munnelly, and CFO James Pugh, who are listed in the 2026 FDD.
The 2026 FDD does not mandate or recommend any specific POS or operational technology systems for franchisees.
There are 10 total units: 9 franchised and 1 company-owned. The operator footprint is concentrated in Texas.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. No designated or approved supplier requirements are captured in the filing.
With an initial term of 5 years and a single 5-year renewal, contract windows may align with new franchise agreements. No recent unit growth data is available to signal imminent expansion.
The Speedy Freight 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Speedy Freight2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Speedy Freight files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

TX1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Speedy Freight

unknown of speedy freight holdings.

Related Professional services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.