rand support, campaign execution, and promotional material. You are not authorized to maintain a website for your Franchised Business or social media presence on platforms such as Facebook, Instagram,
From the filings
La Cabra
Retail foodSoftware purchasing at La Cabra is controlled by its HQ leadership team in New York, led by Founder and CEO Esben Piper and COO Mikkel Grønlykke. The brand currently mandates Shopify by Shopify Inc. across its small but growing franchise system. With 12 total US units—4 franchised and 8 company-owned—the addressable market for vendors is narrow but concentrated at the top.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Ongoing fee load
What the operator pays every month
The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.
10%of gross sales (FY2026)
15% reference
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.
rt, campaign execution, and promotional material. You are not authorized to maintain a website for your Franchised Business or social media presence on platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter o
n execution, and promotional material. You are not authorized to maintain a website for your Franchised Business or social media presence on platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or any other
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
28 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
We will provide specifications regarding computer systems and network connections, including hardware, software, POS, and inventory control systems that shall be used in your Franchised Business.
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesItem 11
You will maintain your point-of-sale and management systems on-line so that we may independently access them remotely at our discretion, copy your POS and management data, update software, and view all records, files and reports available on or from those systems.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Within 20 days after the end of each calendar quarter, you will deliver to us a complete profit and loss statement for the Franchised Business in a form prescribed by us (and any other statistical reports which we may require under the System Manual) for the previous quarter.
How the franchisor buys
Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?
YesItem 8
We are the exclusive supplier of certain food inventory, operating supplies and equipment you will need to open and operate your Franchised Business, including the coffee and certain décor materials.
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesFranchise agreement
We may, in our discretion, as frequently as we deem necessary, change the identity, specifications, formulas, product preparation instructions, inventory requirements, and designations, and add new products and delete existing products, from the items that we designate as Proprietary Products.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
0Item 8
As of the date of this Disclosure Document, we derive no revenue or other material consideration from franchisee purchases.
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesItem 6
Supplier Evaluation Greater of $2,500 or As incurred Payable when you request our and Approval Fee actual costs of approval for a supplier not supplier/product then on our approved supplier evaluation process list
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
If you want to use a good or service, or obtain a good or service, from a supplier we have not yet approved, you first must submit sufficient information, specifications and/or samples for our determination whether the product or service complies with our System Standards, or the supplier meets our approved supplier…
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesItem 17
transfer to us all telephone listings, domain names, and web pages, if any, for your Franchised Business or which contain, use or display any of our Marks or intellectual property
Data and IT
Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
You shall comply with our System Standards and policies pertaining to Privacy Laws.
Franchise management
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesItem 11
We will conduct periodic field evaluations and quality assurance inspections of Franchised Business to test and promote its compliance with System Standards and quality controls.
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesFranchise agreement
We may from time to time revise the contents of the System Manual, and you will follow our instructions to make corresponding revisions to all of your copies of the System Manual and to comply with each change in any System Standard.
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesItem 11
You must propose a location, obtain our acceptance of your proposed location, and enter into a signed lease or a purchase contract we approve as to form for the approved site within sixty (60) days after the date of the Franchise Partner Agreement, described as the Commitment Date above.
Marketing
Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?
YesItem 11
You are not authorized to maintain a website for your Franchised Business or social media presence on platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or any other digital or social media unless otherwise agreed in writing.
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesFranchise agreement
least Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000) during this period on advertising, marketing, and promotion of the Franchised Business.
Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
YesItem 11
We require you to spend two percent (2.00%) of Net Sales (in addition to the Brand Fund Contribution if and when activated) on local marketing on a quarterly basis on the annual marketing plan we have approved.
Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?
YesItem 11
If the Franchised Business operates within a DMA for which an approved advertising cooperative exists, you are obligated to contribute to the advertising cooperative the amounts required by the cooperative up to two percent (2.00%) of the Net Sales of the Franchised Business during each Reporting Period.
Operations
Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
YesItem 8
As of the Issuance Date, you must purchase all equipment, furnishings, fixtures, supplies, packaging, computer hardware and software, and signage for the Franchised Business from vendors we have approved and who meet our specifications.
Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
As of the Issuance Date, you must purchase all equipment, furnishings, fixtures, supplies, packaging, computer hardware and software, and signage for the Franchised Business from vendors we have approved and who meet our specifications.
Payments
Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
Franchisee shall not purchase, acquire, lease or subscribe to any POS hardware of software components unless expressly authorized by us.
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
You will pay all amounts due to us after your Franchised Business opens by electronic means under the Automated Clearing House Payment Authorization attached as Attachment B, or under any substitute form of authorization that we may require during the Term so that your fees will be paid by means of electronic funds…
Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?
YesItem 6
Gift Card Program Cost of gift card plus When you purchase Participation in the gift card Purchases and Fee third party gift cards at your program is required; the administrator fee, discretion administrative fee charged by currently up to 10% of the third party administration gift card face amounts
People
Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?
YesItem 11
We require that you must always have a certified manager in the Franchised Business and/or be in the process of having a manager trained and certified.
Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
(g) Your Employees. You must recruit, hire, train, schedule, equip, dress, discipline, manage, and supervise a competent, conscientious staff to meet our System Standards, compliant with such uniforms and/or dress code as we may prescribe in the System Manual, and take such steps as are necessary to ensure that your…
Point of sale
Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
Franchisee shall not purchase, acquire, lease or subscribe to any POS hardware of software components unless expressly authorized by us.
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 11
You will maintain your point-of-sale and management systems on-line so that we may independently access them remotely at our discretion, copy your POS and management data, update software, and view all records, files and reports available on or from those systems.
Sales and CRM
Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
Franchisee shall not purchase, acquire, lease or subscribe to any POS hardware of software components unless expressly authorized by us.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesItem 11
We reserve the right to establish additional training fees, other than those specified, during the term of the Franchise.
The filing answers no to 4 questions
- Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
- Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
- Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Item 11
- Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 11
The vendor opportunity at La Cabra
La Cabra is a small, New York-based retail coffee brand with a total of 12 US units, of which 4 are franchised and 8 are company-owned. The brand reported a year-over-year unit decline of 20%, suggesting recent contraction. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is limited to those 4 franchised locations, though the 8 company-owned units may also represent a direct sales opportunity if HQ controls their technology stack.
Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. The royalty rate is 7.0%. The initial franchise term length is not stated. These gaps mean vendors must rely on direct discovery conversations to size deal potential.
Who controls software purchasing
Software purchasing decisions at La Cabra are centralized at the brand’s New York headquarters. The 2026 FDD lists Esben Piper as Founder and Chief Executive Officer, and Mikkel Grønlykke as Chief Operating Officer. These two executives are the most likely buyers or approvers for any technology vendor pitching into the system. Additional HQ contacts include Henrik Pilegaard Sørensen (Chief Financial Officer), Dane Oliver (Wholesale & Client Relations Director), and Mikkel Selmer (Partner & Head of Coffee). A vendor selling financial or operational software would likely need buy-in from the CFO and COO, while a customer-facing or e-commerce tool might route through the CEO or Wholesale Director.
No multi-unit operators are mapped in our corpus, meaning all franchised locations likely report directly to HQ for technology decisions. This simplifies the sales process: there is one buying center, not a dispersed operator network.
Mandated and current tech stack
The only mandated technology disclosed in the 2026 FDD is Shopify by Shopify Inc. This is a significant signal. Shopify serves as the brand’s e-commerce and possibly point-of-sale backbone, meaning any software that integrates with or complements Shopify has a natural entry point. Vendors selling ERP, inventory management, loyalty, or analytics tools should position around Shopify compatibility.
No other mandated systems—such as POS, payroll, or scheduling—are named in the FDD. This absence could indicate an open stack beyond Shopify, or simply that the franchisor has not formalized additional mandates. Vendors should clarify the current operational stack during initial outreach.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
La Cabra’s procurement model is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Item 8, which typically outlines designated or approved suppliers, contains no extract. This means vendors cannot assume a closed procurement environment; the brand may operate with an open or loosely managed supplier model. Direct engagement with HQ is the only reliable path to understand purchasing rules.
Renewal and contract timing are similarly opaque. Item 17, which covers franchise renewal, transfer, and termination, provides no extract. The initial franchise term is not stated. Without these data points, vendors cannot map typical contract windows or renewal cycles. The recent 20% unit decline may also signal a period of internal consolidation rather than expansion, which could delay new software investments.
How to read the La Cabra FDD
The La Cabra Franchise Disclosure Document was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. It is the primary source for the data on this page, including unit counts, ownership structure, executive names, and the Shopify mandate. The embedded PDF viewer below provides full access to the document. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executive team), Item 11 (mandated technology), and Item 8 (procurement rules, though here it is silent). Because the FDD leaves many traditional vendor-relevant fields blank, direct conversations with HQ will be essential to fill in the gaps. For a ranked target list of franchise brands that match your software category, reach out to FranCloud.
Questions vendors ask
La Cabra, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment La Cabra files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
La Cabra’s FDD on file does not disclose a franchisee directory.
Ownership
The portfolio behind La Cabra
unknown of la cabra holding aps.
Related Retail food brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.