From the filings

+137.5% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Kids United

Youth services

Software purchasing at Kids United is controlled at the headquarters level, with President Alex Berkovsky and Chief Operating Officer Michael Marceante among the key executives listed in the 2026 FDD. The franchise currently mandates ZenPlanner for both point-of-sale and register functions across its 21 total units. With 19 franchised locations and a 10-year initial term, vendors have a small but concentrated addressable market to evaluate.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
21
19 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+137.5%
vs prior filing
AUV
$569K
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
6.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$55K
per unit
Investment range
$220K–$464K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 7.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 6.5%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6.5%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

ADPADP
Mandatory
PayrollItem 8

in writing as part of the Manuals or otherwise in writing, and we may update or modify this list as we deem appropriate. At present, our approved provider for payroll services is ADP. Our approved ven

Zen PlannerZen Planner
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 11

owever, this POS System is subject to change at any time. Beyond the POS System, you are required to obtain other, necessary computer services, an electronic cash register system (ZenPlanner register)

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 13

c media, including the Internet, or any social media, for viewing by the public that contains our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, TikTok®,

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 13

wing by the public that contains our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, TikTok®, SnapChat®, or similar page, post through Instagram® or on You

SnapchatSnapchat
MarketingItem 13

he Internet, or any social media, for viewing by the public that contains our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, TikTok®, SnapChat®, or simila

TikTokTikTok
MarketingItem 13

cluding the Internet, or any social media, for viewing by the public that contains our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, TikTok®, SnapChat®,

TwitterX
MarketingItem 13

®, TikTok®, SnapChat®, or similar page, post through Instagram® or on YouTube®, or utilize other, similar social media, without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Twitter® feed or oth

YouTubeGoogle
MarketingItem 13

c that contains our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, TikTok®, SnapChat®, or similar page, post through Instagram® or on YouTube®, or utilize

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

22 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all of the information and data that is electronically collected and stored on your Business Management System and, as such, will have access to all data related to the sales, inventory and financial performance of your Franchised Business.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall submit to Kids United, on or before the fifteenth (15th) day following the end of each month, financial reports on the income and expenses of the Kids United Business in the format specified in the Manual.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to designate one supplier for any given item or service.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

1001584

Item 8

In our last fiscal year, ending on December 31, 2025, we received $1,001,584 in revenue from all required purchases and leases of products and services by franchisees, including purchases of items to be resold in the Business.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and/or our affiliate(s) may receive payments or other compensation from Approved Suppliers or any other suppliers on account of these suppliers’ dealings with us, you, or other Franchised Businesses in the System, such as rebates, commissions or other forms of compensation.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

20

Item 8

We estimate that your Required Purchases, purchases from Approved Suppliers and purchases that must meet our specifications in total will be about 20% of your total purchases to establish the Business and about 20% of your purchases to continue the operation of the Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must pay our then-current supplier or non-approved product or service evaluation fee when submitting your request, as well as cover our costs incurred in evaluating your request.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If you want to purchase any item, product service, goods, equipment or supplies from a supplier or distributor who is not on our approved list, you may request our approval of the supplier or distributor

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You further irrevocably assign Your telephone numbers listed on Exhibit A, or hereinafter acquired for the operation of Your Kids United Business, to Kids United.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall at all times be compliant with all Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards, any and all requirements imposed by all A-25 Kids United FDD – March 27, 2026 applicable payment processors and payment networks, including credit card and debit card processors, and any and all state and federal laws, rules…

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must present customers with such evaluation cards or forms as the Franchisor may periodically prescribe, for return by the customers to Kids United.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

you grant Kids United and its agents the right to: (a) enter upon the Kids United Business premises for the purpose of conducting inspections

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Kids United may make changes to any of these standards and specifications, at any time, in Kids United’s sole and absolute discretion.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must approve your site before you open your Kids United Business franchise.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not establish your own website, landing page, digital lead sign-up, or social media platforms without approval.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to spend at least $3,750 per month on local advertising each month, as outlined in Item 6 of this Franchise Disclosure Document.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Unless we specify otherwise in writing, you may be required to purchase all goods, items, products, equipment and services required for the development and operation of the Business from our approved or designated suppliers.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We currently require you to pay royalty fees and other amounts due to us by pre- authorized bank draft.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

However, another employee who has successfully completed Kids United’s initial training program shall be present at the Business whenever the Kids United Business is open for business.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase and use the complete computer software services and electronic cash register/point-of-sale system (i.e., the “POS System”) we require, which we have the right to change at any time.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Kids United has the right to independently access any and all information on your POS System, at any time, without first notifying you.

Training

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

You (or your Operating Principal) must attend a regional or national conference, which shall not occur more than one time per year.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 6
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8

The vendor opportunity at Kids United

Kids United operates 21 total units—19 franchised and 2 company-owned—according to its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The brand does not report an average unit volume, and year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed. For software vendors, this is a small, concentrated target: a single headquarters buyer and a modest franchisee base, all running on a mandated tech stack.

The royalty rate is 6.5%, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years. While the lack of AUV data makes it harder to model a franchisee’s willingness to spend on software, the mandated systems signal that HQ is willing to enforce technology standards across the network. Vendors selling complementary or replacement tools should frame their pitch around compliance with HQ mandates and operational efficiency for a youth-services business.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists five executives in Item 1: President Alex Berkovsky, Board Member Alexey Vitashkevich, Chief Operating Officer Michael Marceante, Chief Brand Officer Brian Locascio, and Chief Financial Officer Nathan Sensenig. No chief information officer or technology-specific role is named. In a 21-unit system, software purchasing authority almost certainly sits with the President and COO. Vendors should direct outreach to Berkovsky and Marceante, as they are the most likely decision-makers for operational and financial technology.

Because the system is small and HQ-driven, a single “yes” from the right executive can unlock the entire network. The absence of a named CIO means vendors should be prepared to explain technical value in business terms—labor savings, parent communication, class scheduling efficiency—rather than relying on an IT champion inside the organization.

Mandated and current tech stack

Kids United mandates ZenPlanner for both point-of-sale and register functions. ZenPlanner is a fitness and youth-activity management platform, which aligns with the brand’s youth-services segment. No other mandated or recommended systems are disclosed in the FDD.

For vendors, this creates two immediate angles. First, any software that integrates with ZenPlanner—such as payment processing, marketing automation, or staff scheduling—can position itself as a natural extension of the existing stack. Second, vendors that compete with ZenPlanner modules face a high barrier: the system is mandated, not merely recommended, so displacement requires convincing HQ to change a franchise-wide standard.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the franchisor’s purchasing model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly known. Vendors should assume a controlled procurement environment given the small unit count and the existence of mandated technology.

Renewal terms are spelled out in Item 17. Franchisees must be in good standing, provide written notice of election to renew between six and twelve months before the current term ends, pay any renewal fee, sign a new Franchise Agreement that may contain materially different terms, be current on payments, sign a release, and modernize the business to meet then-current standards. The renewal term is 10 years. Because unit growth data is absent, the most predictable software evaluation windows will cluster around these renewal cycles, when franchisees are already required to update their operations.

How to read the Kids United FDD

The Kids United 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. It was filed with state franchise regulators and contains the full legal and operational disclosures that govern the franchise system. For software vendors, the most relevant sections are Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated systems), Item 8 (procurement restrictions, if present), and Item 17 (renewal and modernization requirements). Reviewing these sections will give you a clear picture of who buys, what they must use, and when they are most likely to consider new tools.

If you need a ranked list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can build that list from FDD data across thousands of brands.

Questions vendors ask

Kids United, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists President Alex Berkovsky and COO Michael Marceante. No dedicated CIO is named, so operational software decisions likely route through these executives.
Kids United mandates ZenPlanner for both POS and register functions, as disclosed in the 2026 FDD. No other mandated systems are named.
Kids United has 21 total units: 19 franchised and 2 company-owned. The FDD does not disclose a state-level footprint breakdown.
The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so whether Kids United uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open model is not publicly disclosed.
Franchisees renew on 10-year terms with written notice required 6–12 months before expiration. Without unit growth data, renewal-driven opportunities are the most predictable windows.
The Kids United FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. You can review it using the embedded PDF viewer below this section.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Kids United2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Kids United files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

11 operators run 11 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit11

Top states by locations

NJ3
VA2
UT1
NY1
MD1

Related Youth services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.