From the filings

+12.5% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Young Chefs Academy

Youth services

Software purchasing at Young Chefs Academy is controlled at the franchisor level, with CEO Leigh Feldman and VP of Business Operations Alexia Stevens as likely decision-makers. The franchise mandates an operational software program system across its 27 franchised units. With a 12.5% year-over-year unit growth rate and a $278,699 average unit volume, the addressable market is small but expanding, concentrated in Texas, Florida, and Pennsylvania.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
27
27 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+12.5%
vs prior filing
AUV
$279K
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$247K–$397K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

QuickBooks Online
AccountingItem 8

al information to us. We require that you use the designated accounting and bookkeeping systems and reporting software and systems from approved suppliers, which currently include QuickBooks online an

Qvinci
AccountingItem 8

We require that you use the designated accounting and bookkeeping systems and reporting software and systems from approved suppliers, which currently include QuickBooks online and Qvinci or the then-

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

20 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 6 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

We require that you use the designated accounting and bookkeeping systems and reporting software and systems from approved suppliers, which currently include QuickBooks online and Qvinci or the then- current equivalent.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have unlimited, independent access to the operational software program system you use in the operation of your franchise and the operating data for your franchise through our operational software program system.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may modify our list of approved suppliers to grant approval to new suppliers, revoke past approvals of suppliers, or modify our criteria for approving suppliers on reasonable written notice to you.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In 2024, neither we nor our affiliates received any revenues or any other material benefits from franchisees' required purchases or lease.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may derive revenues from the services and products that we provide to franchisees, and from certain approved suppliers that provide services and products to our franchisees (whether required or approved).

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

50

Item 8

We estimate that 50% to 100% of your required purchases and leases of services and products in the establishment of your Young Chefs Academy® Franchise and 50% to 75% of your required purchases and leases of services and products in the operation of your Young Chefs Academy® Franchise are subject to our specification.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

You may request in writing our approval of additional suppliers.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 11

Promptly after expiration, termination, repurchase or transfer of the franchise, you will notify each telephone or Internet service provider with whom you have any Telephone Presence and/or Online Presence and direct them to transfer the Telephone Presence and Online Presence to us, or any persons we designate, at…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right to inspect and approve the construction before you open the franchise business to make sure our specifications have been followed.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify the Manual from time to time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

You shall operate your Franchised Business only from a specified location approved by us.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

We require you to spend at least $3,000 on marketing and advertising for your grand opening.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

To ensure consistency through the franchise system, you must use the designated software, application, and communications systems we periodically specify and that comply with our computer and software standards in operating your franchise.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may periodically designate specific systems and software and specific vendors that you must use to operate the franchise and to report business and financial information to us.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

The fee will be automatically debited by ACH.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

We require at least 1 person on the premises who is a minimum age of 21 and certified to administer CPR and first aid in case of an emergency when children are present.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to use our specified operating software’s POS system for any and all revenue collected.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have unlimited, independent access to the operational software program system you use in the operation of your franchise and the operating data for your franchise through our operational software program system.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may require you (or your operating principal) and/or any previously trained manager to attend any refresher or follow-up training that we designate.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

You must pay this fee for each individual franchisee or individual owner of franchisee Within 30 days if franchisee is a business Annual Then-current fee, currently Conference Fees of notice of entity, whether or not you or $500/person conference they attend the annual conference.

The filing answers no to 6 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Item 8

The vendor opportunity at Young Chefs Academy

Young Chefs Academy operates 27 franchised units and 2 company-owned locations, all under the Youth Franchise Brands, LLC holding company. The system posted a 12.5% year-over-year unit growth rate in its 2025 FDD, with an average unit volume of $278,699. The franchise is concentrated in Texas (9 units), Florida (7), Pennsylvania (6), Georgia (4), and Ohio (3). All 41 mapped operators are single-unit franchisees — there are zero multi-unit owners in the system.

For software vendors, the opportunity is narrow but focused. The franchisor mandates an operational software program system across all locations, creating a single point of procurement influence. With no multi-unit operators, every technology decision flows through the franchisor’s headquarters. The 6% royalty rate and 10-year initial term provide a stable, predictable revenue base for any vendor that secures a system-wide agreement.

Who controls software purchasing

Item 1 of the 2025 FDD names five executives. CEO Leigh Feldman and VP of Business Operations Alexia Stevens are the most relevant contacts for a software pitch. COO Jamie Skinner may also weigh in on operational tools. Franchise Business Coaches Elizabeth McKelvey and Chris McKelvey are less likely to hold purchasing authority but could influence adoption if a tool affects day-to-day unit operations.

Because the system has no multi-unit franchisees, there is no secondary buying center at the operator level. A vendor’s path to adoption runs entirely through the franchisor’s leadership team in Texas. The holding company structure — Youth Franchise Brands, LLC — may also centralize some vendor evaluation across sibling brands, though the FDD does not disclose shared procurement.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD mandates an “operational software program system” for all franchisees. No specific vendor name, POS brand, or software category is disclosed beyond that phrase. The filing does not list any recommended or optional technology systems. This lack of detail suggests either a proprietary system or a single-vendor arrangement that the franchisor does not publicly name in its disclosure document.

For vendors selling POS, scheduling, CRM, or inventory management tools, the mandate signal is clear: any system-wide software must be approved and likely mandated by the franchisor. The absence of a named vendor in the FDD may indicate an opportunity to displace an incumbent or fill an unaddressed need, but due diligence requires direct confirmation with HQ.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the 2025 FDD does not extract a procurement model. Whether Young Chefs Academy uses designated suppliers, an approved-supplier program, or an open procurement policy is not disclosed in the filing. Vendors should assume a closed, franchisor-controlled process until they confirm otherwise.

Renewal terms, outlined in Item 17, run 5 years and require a $5,000 renewal fee, strict compliance with the Franchise Agreement, signing the then-current agreement, updating the location to current standards, a general release, and any required training. The 10-year initial term means most units are not approaching renewal soon, but the 12.5% unit growth rate suggests new locations are opening regularly. Each new unit represents a fresh technology deployment window, likely tied to the franchisor’s mandated system.

How to read the Young Chefs Academy FDD

The 2025 FDD is embedded below. For software vendors, the most actionable sections are Item 1 (executive team and buying center), Item 11 (mandated technology systems), Item 8 (procurement restrictions), and Item 17 (renewal conditions that may trigger technology updates). The document is filed with state franchise regulators and reflects disclosures current as of the 2025 filing year. Review Item 11 carefully — the mandated operational software program system is the single technology requirement disclosed, and any vendor seeking to sell into this system must understand how that mandate is enforced and who manages the vendor relationship.

If you need a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can build one from FDD data across thousands of brands.

Questions vendors ask

Young Chefs Academy, answered from the filing

CEO Leigh Feldman and VP of Business Operations Alexia Stevens are the named executives most likely to evaluate and approve software vendors, based on Item 1 of the 2025 FDD.
The 2025 FDD mandates an operational software program system for all franchisees. No specific vendor or POS brand is disclosed in the filing.
There are 27 franchised units and 2 company-owned units, totaling 29 locations. All 27 franchised units are single-operator, with no multi-unit owners.
The 2025 FDD does not extract a specific procurement model from Item 8. It is not disclosed whether the franchisor uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open procurement model.
Renewal terms run 5 years with a $5,000 fee and require signing the then-current Franchise Agreement. With 10-year initial terms and 12.5% unit growth, new-unit openings may create near-term evaluation windows.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 tech mandates and Item 1 executive disclosures directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Young Chefs Academy2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Young Chefs Academy files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

41 operators run 41 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit41

Top states by locations

TX9
FL7
PA6
GA4
OH3

Ownership

The portfolio behind Young Chefs Academy

unknown of young chefs international.

Related Youth services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.