From the filings

No mandated tech stack

Dumont Creamery and Café

Retail food

Software purchasing control at Dumont Creamery and Café is not detailed in the 2025 FDD, with no named HQ executives on file. The brand currently operates a single franchised location, with no mandated technology systems disclosed. This represents a very small, single-operator addressable market for software vendors.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
1
1 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
$271K–$573K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must establish and maintain at your own expense a sales accounting, record keeping and records retention system conforming to the requirements set by us.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

There are no limitations on our right to independently access from a remote location, at any time, all information in put to and compiled by your computer system or an off-site server, including information concerning sales, purchase orders, inventory and expenditures.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall, at your expense, submit to us, in the form prescribed by us, a profit and loss statement for each month (which may be unaudited) for you within fifteen (15) days after the end of each month during the term hereof.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

During the fiscal year ending December 31, 2023, our affiliate Desert Delight Foods LLC made sales to our franchisees totaling $42,500, or 100% of its revenue for 2023.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may modify the list of our designated and approved suppliers and our specifications at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the last fiscal year, we did not derive any revenue from the sale of products to franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates may derive revenue or other material consideration from required purchases or leases by franchisees from approved suppliers and your purchases from us or our affiliates.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

30

Item 8

We estimate that your purchases and leases from us or our designated sources will be approximately 30% to 50% of your total initial investment (not including initial franchise fee) and approximately 30% to 40% of your ongoing expenses (not including royalties) in the operation of the franchised business; however, the…

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We have the right to charge a fee of up to $500 to evaluate a supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

You may request that we approve certain suppliers that we have not previously approved and the goods and services they offer.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We will conduct periodic inspections of the Café and periodic evaluation of the products and services rendered by Franchisee.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Dumont may from time to time revise the content of the Manual without the consent of Franchisee, and Franchisee will observe and comply with the Manual in its amended form.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must approve your proposed site.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not establish or maintain a separate website, splash page or other presence on the Internet through any internet or social networking site in connection with the operation of your Business, including social media or networking sites, that uses any variation of the Marks or references the System only in…

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee further agrees to participate in any customer loyalty card or gift card programs required by Dumont.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

In order to deliver a consistent, high-quality product to your customers, we require that you purchase food products for sale in your Franchised Café that meet our specifications, and from vendors that we approve, which may be us or an affiliate.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Purchases must be from approved suppliers, and we disclaim all warranties and liabilities for these products and services.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Unless otherwise agreed between Dumont and Franchisee, all fees and other amounts paid to Dumont or any affiliate must be made in the form of an ACH, electronic or similar funds transfer in the appropriate amount(s) from Franchisee’s designated bank account.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

You will need a full-time General Manager to be responsible for the direct on-premises supervision of the Café at all times during the hours of operation as required by us.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All employees, engaged in the operation of the Café during working hours must dress conforming to Dumont’s standards, must present a neat and clean appearance (wearing Dumont’s uniforms) in conformance with Dumont’s reasonable standards and must render competent service to the customers of Franchisee’s business.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require you to purchase or lease a POS System from our designated software provider, which currently charges $135 per month for one terminal.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

There are no limitations on our right to independently access from a remote location, at any time, all information in put to and compiled by your computer system or an off-site server, including information concerning sales, purchase orders, inventory and expenditures.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must acquire and use all computer systems that we prescribe for use by our franchisees and may not use any computer system or components or software applications that do not conform to the Standards or that we have not approved in writing.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to charge a fee for the additional training programs, up to our current fee of $500 per day per person.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to attend or send a Manager to attend the Annual Convention and to pay our then-current registration fee.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Dumont Creamery and Café

Dumont Creamery and Café presents a micro-opportunity for software vendors. The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document reports exactly one total unit, which is franchised. No company-owned locations are disclosed. The entire system is operated by a single franchisee in Wisconsin, with no multi-unit operators on file. For a vendor, this is not a volume play; it is a single-account sale with no immediate path to scale within the brand unless the franchisor initiates expansion.

The royalty rate is 6.0% of gross sales, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the FDD, so vendors cannot model a reliable total addressable spend. The brand appears independently owned, with no parent company on file. Year-over-year unit growth is not available, suggesting a static or nascent system.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD does not identify any executives at the franchisor level. Item 1, which typically lists directors and officers, contains no names in our database. This makes it impossible to pinpoint a CIO, VP of Operations, or other technology buyer from the document alone. The single franchisee likely controls day-to-day software decisions for their location, but the franchisor's approval rights—if any—are not spelled out in the available data. Vendors should prepare for a direct conversation with the franchisor to map the purchasing authority.

Mandated and current tech stack

No mandated or recommended technology systems are captured in the 2025 FDD. This is a blank slate. The franchisor does not require a specific point-of-sale system, inventory management platform, online ordering provider, or back-office solution. For a software vendor, this means the single unit could be running anything—or nothing—and there is no competitive lock-in to displace. The absence of a tech mandate also means there is no system-wide standard to leverage for a multi-unit pitch if the brand grows.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement obligations and designated suppliers, contains no extract. This leaves the procurement model undefined. It is not clear whether the franchisee must buy from approved vendors, can select any supplier, or operates under a hybrid model. Vendors should clarify this directly with the franchisor before investing in a sales cycle.

The renewal clause in Item 17 offers one additional 10-year term, conditioned on the franchisor still franchising and the franchisee being in good standing. Critically, the renewal franchise agreement is the then-current version, which may be materially different from the original. This creates a potential future trigger for technology compliance if the franchisor later introduces a tech stack. For now, with only one unit and no renewal activity on file, there is no predictable contract window.

How to read the Dumont Creamery and Café FDD

The full 2025 FDD is embedded below. It is the primary source for verifying the unit count, royalty structure, and any procurement or technology mandates that may have been missed in our extract. Pay close attention to Item 11 (franchisor's obligations) and Item 8 (procurement) for any technology-related language. If you are evaluating whether this single-unit brand fits your ideal customer profile, the document will tell you everything the franchisor discloses about its operations and requirements.

For a ranked target list of franchise brands that match your software's ideal unit profile, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Dumont Creamery and Café, answered from the filing

The 2025 FDD does not list any HQ executives or a designated buying center. Decision-making authority is not disclosed, making direct outreach to the franchisor the necessary first step for any vendor.
The 2025 FDD contains no signals for mandated or recommended POS, operational, or IT systems. The single franchised unit appears to have no franchisor-imposed technology requirements.
The 2025 FDD reports 1 total unit, which is a franchised location. No company-owned units are reported. The single operator is located in Wisconsin.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the 2025 FDD. Item 8 contains no extract regarding designated or approved suppliers, leaving the purchasing process undefined for vendors.
With a single unit on a 10-year initial term and no disclosed renewal activity, contract windows are unpredictable. The renewal clause allows for one additional 10-year term under a materially different agreement.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2025. You can read the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to conduct your own technology and procurement diligence.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Dumont Creamery and Café2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Dumont Creamery and Café files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Related Retail food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.