From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Drift Zone

Youth services

Software purchasing at Drift Zone is controlled at the headquarters level by President David Nagamine and Vice President Wai Pong (James) Lai. The franchise currently mandates Intuit QuickBooks and a proprietary Franchise Operations System (FOS) along with Party Center software. With only 2 company-owned units and no franchised locations mapped, the addressable market is extremely small, making this a niche target for vendors.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
2
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
$561K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$270K–$598K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Intuit
Mandatory
AccountingItem 11

ounting Application We require you to use QuickBooks (online version) as the accounting application for your franchise (cloud based) system. The software is owned and developed by Intuit and is an onl

QuickBooks
Mandatory
AccountingItem 11

to alter or eliminate this system and/or to substitute another system or method of communication, if we determine to do so. QuickBooks Accounting Application We require you to use QuickBooks (online v

Party Center Software
Industry softwareItem 7

al cost may be. Legal and Accounting services will also vary from region to region. 12. P.O.S. System & Installation, Security & Cameras, Computers. Estimated cost is based on the Party Center Softwar

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require you to use QuickBooks (online version) as the accounting application for your franchise (cloud based) system.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

As with all computer and internet information we have complete access to all of the information at all times.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within 15 days after the end of each calendar quarter, a profit and loss statement for the franchised location for the immediately preceding calendar month and year-to-date and a balance sheet as of the end of such month;

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to alter or eliminate this system and/or to substitute another system or method of communication, if we determine to do so.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

Neither we nor our affiliates derived revenue or rebates for required purchases from any vendor during the year 2024.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

70

Item 8

approximately 70% to 80% of all purchases and leases necessary to operate the franchised business after opening.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We currently approve suppliers upon request submitted upon our “Supplier Approval Form” and payment of a supplier approval fee of $1,000.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If you want to propose a new supplier of Materials or Operating Assets, you agree to submit to us, on our “Supplier Approval Form” and pay us a Supplier Approval Fee of $1,000 at the time you submit the “Supplier Approval Form”, sufficient written information about the proposed new supplier to enable us to approve or…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You further appoint an officer of Franchisor as your attorney in fact, to direct the telephone company and any listing agencies to transfer any telephone numbers and listing 39 to us should you fail to voluntarily do so, and the telephone company and all listing agencies shall accept such direction of this Agreement…

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to present to your customers such evaluation forms that we periodically prescribe and to participate and/or request your customers to participate in any surveys performed by us or on our behalf.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 8

We have the right under the Franchise Agreement, to change standards, specifications and procedures applicable to the operation of the Franchise, including those for equipment, furniture, fixtures, signs, products, new techniques, use of new or modified logos, trade names, service marks, or copyrighted materials.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We will approve the location of your business and provide a territory surrounding the site of your business where we will not place another Franchisee (Franchise Agreement, Section 4).

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may utilize only the website and Internet presence provided you by us.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to spend any amount designated to you by us between $2,000 to $4,000 for the Drift Zone concept and between $500 to $1,000 for the Blast Zone concept for an opening advertising campaign to promote the opening of your franchised location as directed by us.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

As a Drift Zone franchisee or as a Drift Zone and Blast Zone franchisee, you will be required to use our then current approved vendors, suppliers, and equipment manufacturers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

As a Drift Zone franchisee or as a Drift Zone and Blast Zone franchisee, you will be required to use our then current approved vendors, suppliers, and equipment manufacturers.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

During all hours of operations, the franchised location must be under the direct supervision of you (or your Operating Partner/Principal) and a management-level employee who has satisfactorily completed our Initial Training Program or otherwise been trained by you if you have received our Training Certificate for…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We currently require you to use the Point of Sale (“POS”) system we designate, which is based on the Party Center Software system and has been programmed to our Franchise Operations.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

As with all computer and internet information we have complete access to all of the information at all times.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We, or our designee, will also provide additional or refresher training programs for you and your employees as we deem appropriate.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Your Principal Owner, Operating Manager or any of your representatives that we designate must attend all Seminars and Training Conferences, franchise conventions, meetings, and teleconferences that we may require periodically in the Operations Manual or otherwise in writing.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Drift Zone

Drift Zone operates in the youth services segment with headquarters in Hawaii. The system consists of exactly 2 units, both company-owned, and the FDD for 2025 reports no franchised locations. Average unit volume sits at $561,434.97, with a 5.0% royalty rate and a 10-year initial franchise term. For software vendors, the total addressable market is just those 2 locations. No year-over-year unit growth percentage is available, and no operator footprint is mapped in our corpus, meaning expansion activity appears minimal or non-existent.

Who controls software purchasing

All purchasing authority rests with the two executives named in Item 1 of the FDD: President David Nagamine and Vice President Wai Pong (James) Lai. There is no multi-unit operator layer to navigate because no franchised operators exist. Vendors pitching Drift Zone should direct all outreach to these two individuals at the Hawaii headquarters. The absence of a parent company or private equity sponsor means decisions are made independently and likely with a lean approval process.

Mandated and current tech stack

Drift Zone mandates three technology components. First, a Franchise Operations System (FOS) is required, though the specific vendor for this system is not named in the FDD extract. Second, Intuit QuickBooks is mandated for accounting—specifically listed as "QuickBooks by Intuit Inc." Third, Party Center software is mandated, again without a named vendor. No POS system, CRM, payroll, or other operational tools are disclosed as mandated or recommended. The tech stack appears purpose-built for a youth-services party and event model, with accounting standardized on a widely known platform.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD provides no procurement signal, so whether Drift Zone uses a designated supplier model, an approved supplier list, or an open procurement process is not disclosed. For renewal timing, Item 17 outlines that a franchisee in good standing may enter a successor agreement, but only if they remodel, expand, or relocate the unit to meet then-current specifications. With a 10-year term and no franchised units currently operating, near-term renewal-driven software evaluations are unlikely. Vendors should monitor for any franchising launch that would create new unit openings and associated technology procurement events.

How to read the Drift Zone FDD

The 2025 Drift Zone Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below for full review. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated systems), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Because the system is small and entirely company-owned, the FDD is concise. Pay close attention to any updates in subsequent years that might signal a franchising push or new technology mandates. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help prioritize where to focus your outbound efforts.

Questions vendors ask

Drift Zone, answered from the filing

President David Nagamine and Vice President Wai Pong (James) Lai are the key decision-makers listed in the FDD. All technology mandates and procurement decisions flow through them.
Drift Zone mandates a Franchise Operations System (FOS), Intuit QuickBooks for accounting, and Party Center software for operations. No POS system is explicitly named in the FDD.
There are 2 total units, both company-owned. No franchised units are reported in the 2025 FDD, and no operator footprint is mapped.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8 contains no extract, so designated or approved supplier status is unknown.
With a 10-year initial term and renewal conditional on remodeling or relocation, contract windows are infrequent. No recent unit growth signals imminent expansion.
The 2025 Drift Zone FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Drift Zone2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Drift Zone files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

HI1

Related Youth services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.