From the filings

+2.273% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Dogtopia

Youth services

Software purchasing at Dogtopia is controlled at the corporate level, with a mandated tech stack that includes Salesforce and Constant Contact. The franchise operates 266 total units (225 franchised, 41 company-owned) and is led by a C-suite that includes a Chief Operating Officer and Chief Growth Officer. For vendors, this represents a concentrated, HQ-driven sales target with a clearly defined technology footprint.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
266
225 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+2.273%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
7%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$1.09M–$1.56M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

9%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 9% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 7%, Ad fund 2%. Total 9% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 7%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Constant Contact
MarketingItem 11

0% 20% 40% * “Other” includes website/App enhancements, brand partnerships/licensing and subscription services for services such as Salesforce Marketing Suite, Wochit, Listen 360, Constant Contact and

Paylocity
HrItem 11

RS OF TRAINING Crest Insurance Insurance Matters .75 MindWire Predictive Index Behavioral Assessments 1.5 FedEx Printing and Marketing Solutions .75 PNC Bank Financial Services .5 Paylocity Payroll So

Predictive Index
HrItem 11

g suppliers to provide training in conjunction with our initial training program: SUPPLIER TRAINING PROGRAMS SUPPLIER TOPIC HOURS OF TRAINING Crest Insurance Insurance Matters .75 MindWire Predictive

Salesforce
CrmItem 11

ening and $899 per month ($10,788 per year) after opening. The technology fee for each of our optional technology package upgrades is: (a) $100 per month ($1,200 per year) for the Salesforce Add-On Pa

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

30 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent unlimited access to all cloud-based data collected through your computer system and there are no contractual limits imposed on our access.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

No later than the 15th day of each month, you must prepare and send us a monthly balance sheet and profit and loss statement for your Business for the prior month.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We are the exclusive supplier of Consultation Services, microsite and social media setup services, certain digital marketing services, Dogtopia Hub and the Dogtopia App (although we may delegate certain services to our contracted vendors).

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We created The Dogtopia Franchisee Commission (DFC), which is a franchise advisory council that provides us with suggestions to improve the System including matters such as marketing, operations and new product or service suggestions.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We may change the components of the Technology Systems from time to time, including your computer system.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

1806356

Item 8

During that year, we received $1,806,356 in revenue as a result of purchases and leases made by franchised Centers and Company Stores, which represents 7.7% of our total revenues.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We, our affiliate and our parent company may receive rebates from approved and designated suppliers ranging from 0.5% to 11% of the cost of the item purchased, or transaction amounts processed, as well as the following rebates:

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

85

Item 8

We estimate that 85% to 95% of the total purchases and leases required to establish and operate your Center will consist of source-restricted goods or services, as further discussed below.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must pay us a supplier/product review fee in the amount we designate (not to exceed $2,500 per test) to cover the costs we incur to review suppliers or goods/services you propose.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to purchase or lease a source-restricted item from a non-approved supplier, you must send us: (a) a written request for approval; (b) product samples for testing purposes; and (c) all additional information we request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

you hereby authorize the foregoing companies to transfer such telephone numbers, domain names and listings to us and you authorize us, and appoint us and any officer we designate as your attorney-in-fact to direct these companies to transfer the telephone numbers, domain names and listings to us if you fail or refuse…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to: (i) adhere to all applicable compliance standards established by PCI- DSS;

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

For quality control purposes and to ensure compliance with this Agreement, we (or our representative) may enter your Center, evaluate your operations and inspect your books, records, accounts and tax returns, and take pictures and/or video of your Center, staff and Business operations.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We can modify the Manual at any time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must locate and obtain our approval of the site for your Center.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Without our prior approval, which we may withhold in our sole discretion, you may not: (i) develop, host or otherwise maintain a website (or other digital presence) that references our Marks; (ii) conduct digital or online advertising or marketing; or (iii) engage in ecommerce.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

Prior to opening, you must spend at least $15,000 (or $5,000 if you are a Conversion Franchisee) on your grand opening marketing activities, including digital advertising, guerilla marketing and public relations.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

After opening, you must spend at least 2% of Gross Sales (i.e., your Local Marketing Commitment) on local advertising.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must fully participate and implement all required customer loyalty, rewards and other affinity programs designed to increase customer loyalty, generate new customers or increase demand for and utilization of the services offered by Dogtopia Centers.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If your Center is located in a region subject to an advertising cooperative you must: (a) participate in the cooperative according to its rules and procedures and abide by its decisions; and (b) pay a cooperative advertising fee.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease certain source-restricted goods and services for the development and operation of your Dogtopia Center.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must buy all these items either through Dogtopia Marketplace or from other suppliers we designate or approve.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must use the credit card processing company we designate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You must sign the ACH Authorization Form attached to the Franchise Agreement permitting us to electronically debit your designated bank account for all amounts owed to us and our affiliates (other than the initial franchise fee).

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must participate in any gift card program we establish and honor all gift cards, even if purchased from us or another Center.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Your employees must maintain a neat and clean appearance and wear the uniforms that we designate.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase and use all Technology Systems we designate, including your computer and POS systems

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent unlimited access to all cloud-based data collected through your computer system and there are no contractual limits imposed on our access.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may charge a training fee of up to $400 per person per day for each person who attends: (a) remedial training; (b) system-wide refresher or supplemental training (other than initial training); or (c) additional training you request.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may require that the Managing Owner attend periodic conferences we conduct.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Dogtopia

Dogtopia presents a concentrated sales target for software vendors. The system comprises 266 total locations, 225 of which are franchised and 41 company-owned. With a year-over-year unit growth rate of 2.273%, the brand is expanding steadily, though not explosively. The franchisor mandates a specific suite of technology, meaning a successful sale to the corporate entity can unlock deployment across the entire network. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD, but the royalty rate stands at 7.0% on a 10-year initial term.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits firmly at the headquarters level. The executive team listed in the 2026 FDD includes John Mansfield, Chief Operating Officer, and Alex Samios, Chief Growth Officer. For a vendor, the COO is the most logical entry point for operational software, while the Chief Growth Officer may influence revenue-generating or customer-experience technologies. The presence of mandated systems confirms that franchisees do not have autonomy to select core platforms; corporate makes the decision and enforces adoption.

Mandated and current tech stack

The Item 11 disclosures reveal a tightly controlled technology environment. Dogtopia mandates Constant Contact by Constant Contact, Inc. for email marketing, and Salesforce by Salesforce, Inc. as the customer relationship management backbone. The franchise also requires use of several proprietary systems: the Dogtopia App, Dogtopia Hub, and Dogtopia Marketplace. An Email Add-On Package is also mandated. Additionally, MindWire Predictive Index is named, likely used for talent assessment or team dynamics. Any vendor pitching a product that overlaps with these systems must be prepared with a clear displacement or integration strategy.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not provide an extract from Item 8, so the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly known. However, the heavy mandate of specific vendors strongly suggests a designated or preferred supplier framework in practice. Renewal terms offer a potential window for software evaluation. Franchisees seeking a 10-year renewal must sign the then-current franchise agreement, remodel their center, and upgrade furniture, fixtures, and equipment to current standards. This periodic refresh requirement could trigger a review of technology vendors, especially if the franchisor updates its mandated stack at the time of renewal.

How to read the Dogtopia FDD

The Dogtopia Franchise Disclosure Document for 2026 is the definitive source for the legal and operational facts cited here. It details the executive team, mandated technology, unit counts, and renewal conditions. For software vendors, the most critical sections are Item 11 (the franchisor's obligations) for the tech stack, Item 1 for the decision-makers, and Item 17 for renewal-driven timing. The full FDD is embedded below for your own due diligence. When you are ready to prioritize your outbound efforts with a ranked list of franchise targets, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Dogtopia, answered from the filing

The C-suite controls purchasing. Key executives include John Mansfield (Chief Operating Officer) and Alex Samios (Chief Growth Officer). The franchisor mandates core systems, signaling a centralized, top-down buying process.
Dogtopia mandates several systems: Salesforce by Salesforce, Inc., Constant Contact by Constant Contact, Inc., the proprietary Dogtopia App, Dogtopia Hub, Dogtopia Marketplace, and an Email Add-On Package.
The 2026 FDD reports 266 total units, with 225 franchised and 41 company-owned locations. This places Dogtopia among the larger players in the youth services franchise segment.
The most recent FDD does not include an extract from Item 8 detailing procurement or supplier restrictions. The procurement model is not publicly disclosed in the available filing.
Franchise agreements have a 10-year initial term. Renewals require signing the then-current agreement and upgrading fixtures and equipment, which may create periodic technology refresh opportunities aligned with renewal cycles.
The Dogtopia FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed legal and operational disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Dogtopia2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Dogtopia files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

3 operators run 3 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit3

Top states by locations

AZ3

Related Youth services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.