From the filings

HQ-led decisions

District Dogs

Youth services

Software purchasing at District Dogs is controlled by its two managing members, Jacob Hensley and Steve Gaudio, at the Washington, DC headquarters. The franchisor mandates Intuit QuickBooks (QuickBooks Essentials) across its system. With 5 company-owned units and an AUV of $1,469,919.67, the addressable market is small but concentrated at the HQ level.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
5
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
$1.47M
Item 19, 2022
Royalty
6.9%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$49K
per unit
Investment range
$622K–$1.65M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8.9%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 8.9% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 6.9%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8.9% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6.9%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

QuickBooks
Mandatory
AccountingItem 7

You may already have the Computer System. If not, the computer hardware could cost $1,000 or more. The high number also includes the first year’s cost for Microsoft Office 365 and QuickBooks. You must

LinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

esigns, pages, or other communications that can be accessed through electronic means, including the Internet, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (e.g., Meta™, Twitter®, LinkedIn®, YouTube®,

Pinterest
MarketingItem 11

ations that can be accessed through electronic means, including the Internet, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (e.g., Meta™, Twitter®, LinkedIn®, YouTube®, Snapchat®, Pinterest®, etc.), b

Snapchat
MarketingItem 11

er communications that can be accessed through electronic means, including the Internet, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (e.g., Meta™, Twitter®, LinkedIn®, YouTube®, Snapchat®, Pinterest

Twitter
MarketingItem 11

cuments, designs, pages, or other communications that can be accessed through electronic means, including the Internet, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (e.g., Meta™, Twitter®, LinkedIn®,

YouTube
MarketingItem 11

es, or other communications that can be accessed through electronic means, including the Internet, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (e.g., Meta™, Twitter®, LinkedIn®, YouTube®, Snapchat®,

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

19 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all of the business-related information generated and stored in your POS System and Computer System at any time we deem appropriate.

How the franchisor buys

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

As of December 31, 2022, we received no revenue from the sale of equipment or other goods or services that must be purchased from an Affiliate or us.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates have the right to receive, collect and retain payments, manufacturing allowances, marketing allowances, rebates, credits, monies, or benefits (collectively, “Allowances”) offered by suppliers to you or to us or our affiliates based upon your and/or other franchisees’ purchases of products and…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

55

Item 8

approximately 55-70% of your total purchases during the operation of your DD Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

Supplier Approval Fee Currently $500. As incurred. Payable to us for expenses we incur to evaluate a proposed supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

You may wish to purchase a required good or service from a supplier that we have not previously approved.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

assigning contact information to us

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

You will accept payment through credit cards, debit cards, and similar e-payment methods. The use of such methods is subject to the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI-DSS) rules and regulations.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Conduct quality control visits (both announced and unannounced) and use a “secret per” program.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 16

You must abide by additions, deletions, and modifications to the Operations Manual.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We will have 30 days to approve or disapprove your proposed site.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not establish an Online Site or Social Media nor offer, promote, or sell any products or services or make any use of the Marks through an Online Site or Social Media without our prior written approval, which we may grant or deny for any reason or no reason.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend not less than $5,000 to promote the grand opening of your DD Business.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

We currently require you to spend $500 (“Local Advertising Fee”) each month on local advertising (“Local Advertising”).

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase your decor items, furniture, fixtures, equipment, signs, and the like only from approved vendors.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase your decor items, furniture, fixtures, equipment, signs, and the like only from approved vendors.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

Unless stated otherwise, all amounts due to us will automatically be deducted from your operating account through an electronic bank-to-bank transfer of funds via an automated clearing house (ACH) arrangement.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase the POS System we require from our approved vendor.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all of the business-related information generated and stored in your POS System and Computer System at any time we deem appropriate.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 6
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Item 15
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at District Dogs

District Dogs is a youth-services concept headquartered in Washington, DC, with 5 company-owned locations. The 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document reports an average unit volume of $1,469,919.67 and a royalty rate of 6.9%. The initial franchise term is 10 years. Year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed in the FDD, and no franchised units are separately reported—only the 5 company-owned locations appear in the data.

For software vendors, the opportunity is narrow but direct. With just 5 units, the total addressable footprint is small. However, all purchasing authority is concentrated at the HQ level, meaning a single conversation with the right executive can cover the entire system. The AUV suggests healthy per-location revenue, which may support investment in operational or back-office tools beyond the current mandated stack.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2023 FDD lists two managing members in Item 1: Jacob Hensley, Founder and Managing Member, and Steve Gaudio, Managing Member. No other executives, IT leadership, or procurement personnel are named. In a system this size, both individuals likely serve as the de facto buying center for any software evaluation or purchase. Vendors should prepare to address business-level value propositions rather than deep technical integrations, given the absence of a dedicated CIO or CTO on file.

Mandated and current tech stack

District Dogs mandates Intuit QuickBooks, specifically QuickBooks Essentials, across its system. This is the only technology system named in the FDD as required. No point-of-sale, scheduling, CRM, or other operational platforms are disclosed as mandated or recommended. The reliance on QuickBooks Essentials suggests the franchise currently manages core financials through Intuit’s small-business accounting ecosystem, but leaves room for vendors offering complementary tools in areas like staff management, customer engagement, or compliance.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD does not include a procurement extract, so the franchisor’s policy on designated versus approved suppliers is not publicly known. Vendors should assume a direct, relationship-driven procurement process managed by the two managing members.

Renewal terms, outlined in Item 17, require written notice, full compliance with the franchise agreement, a renovation, execution of the then-current franchise agreement, a release, payment of a renewal fee, and the franchisor’s reasonable business judgment. The renewal term is 5 years. With an initial term of 10 years and no disclosed unit growth, near-term expansion-driven software buying windows appear limited. However, any system-wide upgrade or replacement of the mandated QuickBooks environment would likely be triggered by an HQ-level initiative.

How to read the District Dogs FDD

The 2023 District Dogs FDD is embedded below for full review. It was filed with state franchise regulators and contains the legal and financial disclosures that govern the franchise relationship. For software vendors, the most actionable sections are Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated systems), and Item 17 (renewal and term conditions). The absence of an Item 8 procurement disclosure means you will need to clarify the supplier approval process directly with the managing members during your outreach.

If you sell software into franchise systems, FranCloud can help you build a ranked target list based on unit counts, tech mandates, and decision-maker concentration.

Questions vendors ask

District Dogs, answered from the filing

Jacob Hensley (Founder and Managing Member) and Steve Gaudio (Managing Member) are the sole executives listed in the 2023 FDD. All purchasing decisions likely route through them.
The 2023 FDD mandates Intuit QuickBooks (QuickBooks Essentials). No POS or other operational systems are named as required or recommended.
District Dogs has 5 total units, all company-owned. The number of franchised units is not disclosed in the 2023 FDD.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier vs. approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed.
Renewal terms run 5 years after the initial 10-year term. Written notice and full compliance are required. No recent unit growth data is available to signal near-term expansion.
The 2023 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

District Dogs2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment District Dogs files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

2 operators run 2 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit2

Top states by locations

DC1
WI1

Related Youth services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.