From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Dash In Food Centers 2024 MD VA Exemption

Retail food

Software purchasing at Dash In Food Centers is controlled at the corporate level by The Wills Group, Inc. The chain already mandates Gilbarco, NCR, and Verifone across its 54 locations (39 franchised, 15 company-owned). For vendors, this means a concentrated addressable market with a clear technology stack and a single buying center in Maryland.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
54
39 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-2.5%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
of gross sales
Ad fund
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$120K–$680K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Apple Pay
PaymentsItem 17

Card Protection; Cash Controls. 7.10.1. Franchisee shall accept debit cards, credit cards, stored value cards, and other non-cash systems (including, for example, APPLE PAY, GOOGLE WALLET, and/or BITC

Facebook
MarketingItem 17

a network of computers or similar devices linked by communications software.) Franchisee acknowledges that the use of any social networking website, including, but not limited to, Facebook, LinkedIn,

Gilbarco
POSItem 11

is no advertising council in existence but we reserve the right to form one. Computer Systems Currently, the required hardware for the Computer System includes a Verifone, NCR or Gilbarco cash registe

Google Pay
PaymentsItem 17

Card Protection; Cash Controls. 7.10.1. Franchisee shall accept debit cards, credit cards, stored value cards, and other non-cash systems (including, for example, APPLE PAY, GOOGLE WALLET, and/or BITC

Instagram
MarketingItem 17

ilar devices linked by communications software.) Franchisee acknowledges that the use of any social networking website, including, but not limited to, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest

LinkedIn
MarketingItem 17

of computers or similar devices linked by communications software.) Franchisee acknowledges that the use of any social networking website, including, but not limited to, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, I

NCR
POSItem 11

. There is no advertising council in existence but we reserve the right to form one. Computer Systems Currently, the required hardware for the Computer System includes a Verifone, NCR or Gilbarco cash

Pinterest
MarketingItem 17

s linked by communications software.) Franchisee acknowledges that the use of any social networking website, including, but not limited to, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumbler,

QuickBooks
AccountingItem 8

rom designated or recommended suppliers. There are currently no purchasing or distribution cooperatives in existence for the franchise system. Dash In Food Stores 2024 FDD page 13 QB\87110182.2 Dash I

Snapchat
MarketingItem 17

ations software.) Franchisee acknowledges that the use of any social networking website, including, but not limited to, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumbler, SnapChat or any blog

Twitter
MarketingItem 17

rs or similar devices linked by communications software.) Franchisee acknowledges that the use of any social networking website, including, but not limited to, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram,

Verifone
PaymentsItem 11

ooperative. There is no advertising council in existence but we reserve the right to form one. Computer Systems Currently, the required hardware for the Computer System includes a Verifone, NCR or Gil

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the data collected by your Computer System.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We may change the number of Designated Distributors at any time and may designate ourselves, an affiliate, or a third party as the exclusive source for any particular item.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 20

In October 2016, we created a Franchise Business Advisory Council, which is a body that we created and continue to administer.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 17

Franchisor has the right to modify or replace the Computer System at any time, and Franchisee shall utilize and maintain any new or modified Computer System.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

8508671

Item 8

In the year ending September 30, 2023, we derived $8,508,671 or 2.0% of our total gross revenues of $423,632,249, from franchisee purchases and/or leases.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may profit from your purchases from Designated Distributors, and we and/or our affiliate may receive payments, fees, commissions or reimbursements from approved suppliers or any other supplier in respect of your purchases.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

55

Item 8

approximately 55% to 90% of your costs in the ongoing operation of the Store.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

If you ask us to approve an alternative and Testing Fee product or supplier, we may require you to pay for the cost of inspection or testing.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall assign to Franchisor all telephone numbers, e-name and directory listings associated in any way with the Franchised Store and Marks, and direct the telephone company to transfer all such numbers and listings to Franchisor or its designee pursuant to the Telephone Listing Agreement attached hereto as…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 17

Franchisee shall cause the Franchised Business to meet or exceed, at all times, all applicable security standards developed by the Payment Card Industry Standards Council or its successor and other regulations and industry standards applicable to the protection of customer privacy and credit card information.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 17

Franchisor or its designee, which may be an unrelated third party, may conduct, as it deems advisable, periodic inspections of the Franchised Store

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 17

Franchisor may from time to time revise the contents of the Manuals, and Franchisee expressly agrees to make corresponding revisions to its Manuals and to comply with each new or changed standard.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We choose the location of your DASH IN Store, and the Approved Location for your DASH IN Store will be specified in the Franchise Agreement when you sign it.

Marketing

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 17

Franchisee shall participate in and offer to the Franchised Store’s customers: (a) customer loyalty and reward programs;

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase from suppliers we designate (which may include a particular commissary or combined distribution center (“CDC”)) (“Designated Distributors”) all Proprietary Products and/or ingredients for the Proprietary Products (such as soft drink syrup), and all containers and supplies bearing our Marks (such as…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase from suppliers we designate (which may include a particular commissary or combined distribution center (“CDC”)) (“Designated Distributors”) all Proprietary Products and/or ingredients for the Proprietary Products (such as soft drink syrup), and all containers and supplies bearing our Marks (such as…

Payments

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 17

Franchisee shall participate in and offer to the Franchised Store’s customers: (a) customer loyalty and reward programs; (b) all contests, sweepstakes and other prize promotions, (c) all gift card and/or stored value card programs, and (d) all meal deals, product combinations, and price promotions that Franchisor may…

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 17

Franchisee shall (a) maintain a competent, conscientious, trained staff (who shall have been adequately trained by Franchisee) in numbers sufficient to service customers promptly and properly, including at least a manager or shift leader on duty at all times at which the Franchised Store is open (including daily…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 17

Franchisee shall utilize such equipment and participate in such cash control processes as Franchisor may require from time to time.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the data collected by your Computer System.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall provide, at no cost to Franchisee, instructors and materials for the initial and all refresher training required under this Agreement (except training of replacements for the Key Person, for which Franchisor may assess a reasonable per diem training charge, in the event Franchisee requests, or is…

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 17
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 17
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Dash In Food Centers

Dash In Food Centers operates 54 total locations, with 39 franchised and 15 company-owned units. The chain is part of The Wills Group, Inc., a holding company based in Maryland. For software vendors, the addressable market is compact but concentrated: all purchasing decisions flow through a single corporate headquarters, not a fragmented network of multi-unit operators. The most recent Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) shows a year-over-year unit decline of 2.5%, which may signal a period of consolidation rather than rapid expansion. Still, with a 10-year initial franchise term and a renewal window that opens 15 to 18 months before expiration, there are predictable points when technology reevaluation can occur.

Who controls software purchasing

Decision-making authority sits with The Wills Group’s executive team. The 2024 FDD Item 1 lists Julian B. Wills, III as Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, and Brian Chase as Director of Operations. These are the likely buyers or influencers for any enterprise software pitch. Mark Samuels (Vice President), J.B. “Lock” Wills, Jr. (Treasurer), and Kenneth J. Halperin (Assistant Secretary) round out the named leadership. Because the chain is not operator-mapped in our corpus, vendors should assume a top-down procurement model: HQ evaluates, mandates, and deploys technology across both franchised and company-owned sites.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2024 FDD mandates three specific technology vendors: Gilbarco, NCR, and Verifone. These systems are required across the network, which means any new software must either integrate with this existing stack or displace an incumbent. Gilbarco typically covers fuel dispenser and forecourt technology; NCR is often the point-of-sale and back-office backbone; Verifone handles payment terminals and security. For a vendor selling complementary or replacement software, the integration surface is well-defined. The mandate also signals that HQ is willing to enforce technology standards, a factor that can shorten sales cycles if you align with their architecture.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the 2024 FDD does not include a procurement extract, so the formal supplier designation process is not publicly spelled out. Vendors should clarify during initial conversations whether Dash In uses a designated-supplier model, an approved-supplier list, or an open procurement approach. The renewal structure, detailed in Item 17, offers a timing hook: franchisees must give written notice of renewal between 15 and 18 months before the 10-year term ends. They must also execute the then-current franchise agreement, pay a renewal fee equal to 50% of the initial franchise fee, and provide a general release. For software vendors, that renewal window is a natural moment when franchisees—and HQ—may reassess operational tools.

How to read the Dash In FDD

The 2024 Dash In Food Centers FDD is embedded below. It contains the full legal and operational disclosures filed with state franchise regulators. Key sections for software vendors include Item 11 (franchisor’s assistance, advertising, computer systems, and training), which lists the mandated Gilbarco, NCR, and Verifone systems, and Item 1, which names the executives who control purchasing. Item 17 governs renewal and can help you time outreach. Because the FDD does not disclose average unit volume or royalty percentages, you will need to model the per-unit software budget based on industry benchmarks for a 54-unit retail fuel and convenience chain. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize outreach.

Questions vendors ask

Dash In Food Centers 2024 MD VA Exemption, answered from the filing

The Wills Group executives control purchasing. Key contacts include Julian B. Wills, III (Chairman, President, CEO) and Brian Chase (Director of Operations), per the 2024 FDD.
The 2024 FDD mandates Gilbarco, NCR, and Verifone systems. These are required across all franchised and company-owned locations.
54 total units as of the 2024 FDD: 39 franchised and 15 company-owned. Year-over-year unit growth was -2.5%.
The 2024 FDD does not disclose a specific Item 8 procurement structure. Vendors should inquire directly about designated or approved supplier requirements.
Renewal requires 15–18 months' written notice before the 10-year term ends. Franchisees must sign the then-current agreement and pay 50% of the initial fee.
The 2024 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Dash In Food Centers 2024 MD VA Exemption2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Dash In Food Centers 2024 MD VA Exemption files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

41 operators run 41 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit41

Top states by locations

MD32
VA4
DE4
WI1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Dash In Food Centers 2024 MD VA Exemption

single_brand_holdco of The Wills Group.

Related Retail food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.