From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Child's Play Challenge Courses Franchising

Youth services

Software purchasing at Child's Play Challenge Courses Franchising is controlled at the HQ level, with Matthew Borawski (CEO) and Lauren Borawski (COO) as the key decision-makers. The franchise currently operates a single company-owned unit, and the 2023 FDD mandates a Business Management System, though the specific vendor is not named. For software vendors, the addressable market is extremely limited at one location, making this a low-volume target unless future expansion occurs.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
1
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
8%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$35K
per unit
Investment range
$96K–$162K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

10%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 10% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 8%, Ad fund 2%. Total 10% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 8%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

QuickBooks Online
Mandatory
AccountingItem 7

business management system (the “Business Management System”). You will be required to obtain licenses from DocuSign for contract management, Resmark System waiver management, and QuickBooks online fo

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Currently you are required to purchase, license and utilize DocuSign for contract management, Resmark System waiver management, and QuickBooks online for accounting.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee shall provide and permit Franchisor to maintain direct and independent access to the Business Management System and the Business Management System Data and to duplicate and evaluate the data;

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within 30 days of the end of each calendar month Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor monthly financial statements and other reports related to the operations of the Franchised business

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, we are the sole and exclusive supplier of obstacle courses and obstacle course components.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate a supplier (which may include us or our affiliates) as the exclusive supplier for the System.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

As of the Issuance Date of this Disclosure Document we have not received revenue from suppliers of franchisee purchases of source restricted products or services.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and/or our affiliates may receive rebates, payments and other material benefits from suppliers based on franchisee purchases and we reserve the right to institute and expand rebate programs in the future.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

65

Item 8

We estimate that your purchase of goods and services from suppliers according to our specifications, including your purchase of goods or services from our designated exclusive suppliers to represent approximately 85% of your total purchases and leases in establishing the Franchised Business and approximately 65% of…

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

shall pay to Franchisor a supplier evaluation fee per requested product, service, equipment, supply, supplier and/or distributor to be considered

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease a source restricted item from a supplier that has not been previously approved or designated by us in writing, you must send us a written request for approval and submit additional information that we may request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees that in the event of the termination of this Agreement, for any reason, that the accounts related to all telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business and all rights in and to the telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business, shall, at Franchisor’s election, be transferred…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right at any time during business hours, and without prior notice to Franchisee, to inspect Franchisee’s non-residential Administrative Office, Service Vehicles and System Supplies.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

At all times, we reserve the right to supplement, modify and update the Manuals.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must obtain Franchisor’s written approval of the location of Franchisee’s Administrative Office.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

We strictly control how you may or may not use websites and digital media and you must assign all website media and digital media accounts to us.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

Prior to and during the first three months following the opening of your Child’s Play Challenge Courses Business, you must spend not less than $4,000 to promote your opening.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

customer service and satisfaction standards including, customer rewards programs, refund policies, gift card policies, special promotions and other customer incentive and goodwill programs

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If we elect to form a local or regional cooperative or if a cooperative already exists as to the area of your Child’s Play Challenge Courses Business, you will be required to participate in the cooperative in accordance with the provisions of our operations manual which we may supplement and modify from time to time.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the System Supplies, as designated by us, from us, our affiliates, and/or our designated suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You may only offer and sell the Approved Services and Products that we designate and you may only use those products, supplies, equipment, technology systems, and services that we authorize and designate in writing.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

you must ensure that all employees wear and maintain the proper uniforms with our approved System branded apparel and uniforms including, but not limited to, the apparel and uniforms comprising System Supplies.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

exclusively purchase and use equipment, supplies, promotional materials, point of sale systems and Business Management Systems designated by Franchisor

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisor shall possess direct live access and storage based access to the Business Management System for the Franchised Business and to Franchisee’s Business Management System Data.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

“Business Management System” refers to and means the software, internet, web based and/or cloud based system or systems, point of sale system or systems and customer relationship management system or systems as same may be individually or collectively designated by us, in our Reasonable Business Judgment, as being…

Training

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall be required to pay to Franchisor an Annual Conference Attendance Fee.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Child's Play Challenge Courses

Child's Play Challenge Courses Franchising operates in the youth services segment with a single company-owned location, headquartered in New Jersey. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is exactly one unit. The 2023 FDD reports no franchised locations, and year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed. This is a nascent or very small franchise system, meaning any software sale would be a single-deployment deal unless the franchisor executes a significant expansion strategy.

Despite the small footprint, the franchise does carry a mandated technology requirement, which signals that leadership is intentional about operational systems. The royalty rate is 8.0%, and the initial franchise term runs 7 years, with a 5-year renewal option available under specific conditions.

Who controls software purchasing

According to Item 1 of the 2023 FDD, the two named executives are Matthew Borawski, Chief Executive Officer, and Lauren Borawski, Chief Operating Officer. With no franchisee layer in place, these two individuals effectively constitute the entire buying center for any software or technology procurement. Vendors should direct all outreach to this leadership pair, as there are no multi-unit operators or franchisee influencers to navigate.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates a Business Management System, though the specific vendor or platform is not named in the available disclosures. No other mandated or recommended technology systems appear in the FDD extracts. This leaves open the possibility that the current tech stack is minimal or that the franchisor is open to vendor proposals, particularly if a solution can demonstrate value for a single-site youth services operation.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 procurement language is absent from the FDD extract, so the franchisor's approach to designated versus approved suppliers remains unknown. This lack of disclosure means vendors should inquire directly about procurement policies during any exploratory conversations.

Renewal timing is somewhat clearer. The initial franchise agreement runs 7 years, and Item 17 outlines a renewal term of 5 years, contingent on compliance, 180 days' prior written notice, signing the then-current form of agreement, a general release, a renewal fee, and personal guarantees from the owners. For a software vendor, the 180-day notice window represents the most concrete timeline for engaging with leadership about system changes or upgrades ahead of a renewal event.

How to read the Child's Play Challenge Courses FDD

The 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document is the primary source for all the data points discussed here. It is filed with state franchise regulators and available for review below. The FDD provides the legal and operational framework that governs the franchise relationship, including technology mandates, fee structures, and renewal conditions. For software vendors, it is the foundational document for understanding the compliance and purchasing environment before initiating any sales conversation.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize the right opportunities.

Questions vendors ask

Child's Play Challenge Courses Franchising, answered from the filing

CEO Matthew Borawski and COO Lauren Borawski are the named executives in the 2023 FDD. As the sole unit is company-owned, purchasing decisions likely rest with this leadership team.
The FDD mandates a Business Management System. No specific vendor or POS system is named in the available disclosures.
There is 1 total unit, which is company-owned. No franchised units are reported in the 2023 FDD.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so whether they use designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open model is not disclosed.
With a 7-year initial term and 5-year renewal, contract windows are infrequent. Renewal requires 180 days' written notice, creating a known evaluation period before term end.
The 2023 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it using the embedded PDF viewer on this page.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Child's Play Challenge Courses Franchising2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Child's Play Challenge Courses Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Related Youth services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.