our Operating Principal do not have adequate experience working with Quickbooks, then we may require you or your Operating Principal to complete a Quickbooks training program from Intuit (currently $6
From the filings
Brooklyn Robot Foundry
Youth servicesSoftware purchasing control at Brooklyn Robot Foundry is not detailed in the most recent FDD, leaving the decision-making level unknown. The system currently mandates Mailchimp, QuickBooks, QuickBooks Online, and WhenIWork across its 15 franchised locations. With a single company-owned unit, the total addressable market for a vendor is 16 locations.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Ongoing fee load
What the operator pays every month
The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.
10%of gross sales (FY2026)
15% reference
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.
If we determine that you or your Operating Principal do not have adequate experience working with Quickbooks, then we may require you or your Operating Principal to complete a Quickbooks training prog
an iPad with cellular service (one for each teacher), color printer, our proprietary software and/or certain software programs provided by third-parties such as QuickBooks Online, Mailchimp, WhenIWork
a laptop computer, an iPad with cellular service (one for each teacher), color printer, our proprietary software and/or certain software programs provided by third-parties such as QuickBooks Online, M
h cellular service (one for each teacher), color printer, our proprietary software and/or certain software programs provided by third-parties such as QuickBooks Online, Mailchimp, WhenIWork, third-par
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
29 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 3 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You must use the Designated Software, and the Designated Software will remain the confidential property of us, our affiliate, or our designated supplier.
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesItem 11
We also may independently access financial information and customer data produced by or otherwise located on your Management System (collectively the “Customer Data”).
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
You will deliver or allow us access to the following: (1) at our request, profit and loss statements for the Business at such intervals as we periodically may require; (2) at our request, an annual profit and loss statement and source and use of funds statement for the Business for the year and a balance sheet for…
How the franchisor buys
Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?
YesItem 8
Currently, we or our affiliates are the only supplier of robot kits, robotic components, related inventory, components of the Management System, and other products and services that you must use or offer and sell in connection with your Business.
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesItem 8
We may revise these lists and provide you with a copy of approved lists as we deem advisable.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
491345.36Item 8
However, during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, our affiliate Brooklyn Robot Foundry OP LLC collected $491,345.36 in revenue as a result of franchisee purchases or leases.
Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?
75Item 8
We estimate that your purchases from approved suppliers or according to our specifications will represent approximately 5% to 25% of your total purchases in the establishment of the Business, and 75% to 95% of your total purchases in the continuing operation of the Business.
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesItem 8
We reserve the right to charge you our then-current evaluation fee (currently, $500) and require you to reimburse us for our costs and expenses that we incur to review a proposed brand or supplier.
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
If you propose to use any product, material, equipment, sign or other item that we have not approved, or purchase any items from any supplier that we have not approved, you must first notify us in writing and must provide us with sufficient information, specifications, samples
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesFranchise agreement
You acknowledge that we have the sole right to and interest in all telephone numbers and directory listings associated with the Marks, and you authorize us, and appoint us as your attorney-in-fact, to direct the telephone company and all listing agencies to transfer such numbers and listings to us;
Data and IT
Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
If we do not designate a separate PCI compliance program, you must take all necessary steps to comply with all applicable PCI data security standards.
Franchise management
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesFranchise agreement
To determine whether you are complying with this Agreement, we may, at any time during business hours and without prior notice to you, observe the provision of the Services and Products, which we may do in person or electronically (such as through videoconferencing), and test, sample, inspect and evaluate your…
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesFranchise agreement
We may add to, and otherwise modify, the Operations Manual to reflect changes in authorized Services and Products, and specifications, standards and operating procedures of a Brooklyn Robot Foundry business.
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesFranchise agreement
You will not open the Business for business without our prior written approval.
Marketing
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesItem 11
In addition to the Marketing Fee, you must spend at least $12,000 on approved marketing and promotional activities in your Designated Territory during the first 12 months of operations.
Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
YesItem 11
Commencing as of the 13th month of operations and for the remainder of your term of this Agreement, you must spend at least 2% of Gross Revenue each month on approved advertising and marketing in your Designated Territory.
Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?
YesFranchise agreement
You must, at your expense, participate in, and honor all provisions of any gift card and/or loyalty program that we have established or may establish and as we may modify, as further described in the Operations Manual.
Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?
YesItem 11
You will participate in, support and contribute a proportionate share of the cost of any regional or other geographic cooperative marketing programs we designate.
Operations
Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
YesItem 8
Currently, we or our affiliates are the only supplier of robot kits, robotic components, related inventory, components of the Management System, and other products and services that you must use or offer and sell in connection with your Business.
Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
In operating your Business, you may purchase only the types of equipment, products, supplies, and signs that we require and have approved as meeting our then-current specifications and standards for quality, design, appearance, function and performance as set forth in our Operations Manual or otherwise in writing.
Payments
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
We will require you to sign electronic transfer of funds (“EFT”) authorization attached to this Agreement as Exhibit B and other documents as we periodically designate to authorize your bank to transfer, either electronically or through some other method of payment we designate, directly to our account and to charge…
Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?
YesFranchise agreement
You must, at your expense, participate in, and honor all provisions of any gift card and/or loyalty program that we have established or may establish and as we may modify, as further described in the Operations Manual.
People
Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?
YesItem 15
The Operating Principal must devote a minimum of 40 hours per week to the Business.
Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Each of your employees will wear only those uniforms which we have approved in writing;
Point of sale
Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You will use in the Business the point-of-sale system (POS System), management and reporting system, including all existing or future communication or data storage systems, components thereof and associated service, which we have developed or selected for the System (collectively, the “Management System”).
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 11
We also may independently access financial information and customer data produced by or otherwise located on your Management System (collectively the “Customer Data”).
Sales and CRM
Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You must use the Designated Software, and the Designated Software will remain the confidential property of us, our affiliate, or our designated supplier.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesItem 11
We may require that you and the Operating Principal attend all supplemental and refresher training programs that we designate.
Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?
YesItem 11
You and your Operating Principal must attend, at your expense, all mandatory franchise conventions and meetings we may hold.
The filing answers no to 2 questions
- Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
- Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
The vendor opportunity at Brooklyn Robot Foundry
Brooklyn Robot Foundry is a youth-services concept headquartered in New York, operating 16 total units as of its 2026 FDD. Of those, 15 are franchised and 1 is company-owned. The system has not disclosed year-over-year unit growth, and average unit volume (AUV) is not reported in the filing. For a software vendor, the immediate addressable market is small—just 16 locations—but the franchisor’s mandate of specific platforms creates a clear entry point for complementary or replacement tools that integrate with the existing stack.
The royalty rate is 7.0% of gross revenue, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years. Renewal is possible for one additional 10-year term, provided the franchisee is in good standing, signs the then-current agreement (which may contain materially different terms), upgrades and modernizes the business, pays a renewal fee, and signs a general release of claims. This renewal structure means that every decade, franchisees face a mandatory modernization event, which could include technology refreshes.
Who controls software purchasing
The 2026 FDD does not list any HQ executives, and no operator footprint is mapped in our corpus. As a result, the specific buying center—whether a CIO, VP of Operations, or owner-operator—remains unknown. However, the franchisor’s decision to mandate four specific software systems signals centralized control over the technology environment. In systems of this size, the founder or a small leadership team typically makes purchasing decisions directly. Vendors should prepare to engage whoever controls the brand’s operations and training functions, as that person likely owns the vendor relationship for mandated tools.
Mandated and current tech stack
The Item 11 technology mandate names four systems: Mailchimp by Intuit Inc., QuickBooks by Intuit Inc., QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc., and WhenIWork. This stack covers email marketing, desktop and cloud-based accounting, and employee scheduling. Notably absent is a mandated point-of-sale or student-management platform, which may represent a gap or an opportunity for vendors in those categories. The reliance on Intuit products for both marketing and accounting suggests the franchisor values an integrated ecosystem, but the inclusion of WhenIWork indicates they will adopt best-of-breed tools where Intuit does not compete.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
Item 8 of the FDD does not provide an extract describing the procurement model. Without that signal, we cannot confirm whether the franchisor uses a designated supplier, approved supplier, or open procurement approach. Vendors should assume that any tool competing with or integrating into the mandated stack will require franchisor approval. The renewal cycle offers a natural window for technology evaluation: franchisees renewing for a second 10-year term must upgrade and modernize their business, which could include adopting new software mandated by the franchisor at that time.
How to read the Brooklyn Robot Foundry FDD
The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is available below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 11 (Franchisor’s Obligations), which contains the technology mandate, and Item 17 (Renewal, Termination, Transfer), which outlines the modernization requirement tied to renewal. Item 8 (Restrictions on Sources of Products and Services) would normally clarify procurement rules, but no extract is available in our corpus for this brand. Review the document to identify any additional recommended—but not mandated—vendors that may signal integration opportunities.
For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, reach out to FranCloud.
Questions vendors ask
Brooklyn Robot Foundry, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Brooklyn Robot Foundry files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
Brooklyn Robot Foundry’s FDD on file does not disclose a franchisee directory.
Ownership
The portfolio behind Brooklyn Robot Foundry
unknown of worldwide brooklyn robot foundry.
Related Youth services brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.