From the filings

+12.016% units YoYHQ-led decisions

British Swim School

Youth services

Software purchasing at British Swim School is controlled at the corporate level, with President Ashley Gundlach and CFO Michael Hull identified as key executives in the 2026 FDD. The franchise mandates a designated POS, an Integrated Management System, and QuickBooks Online, creating a defined tech environment across its 289 franchised locations. This represents a concentrated addressable market for vendors whose solutions complement or replace these mandated systems.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
289
289 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+12.016%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
10%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$60K
per unit
Investment range
$123K–$176K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

12%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 12% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 10%, Ad fund 2%. Total 12% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 10%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Facebook
Mandatory
MarketingItem 7

keting Fee, currently a minimum of $1,416.66 per month for a Standard Territory or $1,000 per month for a Targeted Territory, for online placement services, such as pay per click, Facebook advertising

Apple Pay
PaymentsItem 11

rmine. The term “credit card vendors” includes, among other things, companies that provide services for electronic payment, such as near field communication vendors (for example, “Apple Pay” and “Goog

Google Pay
PaymentsItem 11

“credit card vendors” includes, among other things, companies that provide services for electronic payment, such as near field communication vendors (for example, “Apple Pay” and “Google Wallet”). The

Instagram
MarketingItem 11

tion of any web page(s). You may not establish or maintain a separate website, register or use any domain name/URL address, or use any other social media outlet, such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter o

QuickBooks
AccountingItem 11

he following:  1 Apple, Windows or Chromebook Computer with a Printer  1 Wireless Internet Modem  All required software platforms, as provided by franchisor during onboarding  QuickBooks Online Fi

QuickBooks Online
AccountingItem 11

the Operations Manual to operate the British Swim School Business (the “Computer System”). We currently require you to obtain a Windows OS or Mac OS X compatible computer system, QuickBooks Online acc

Twitter
MarketingItem 11

web page(s). You may not establish or maintain a separate website, register or use any domain name/URL address, or use any other social media outlet, such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or any other

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must use our approved vendor for bookkeeping services.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We currently have/reserve the right to have independent, unlimited access to all information and data relating to your British Swim School Business generated by your use of the scheduling and billing software.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within 15 days after the end of each calendar month, the operating statements, financial statements, statistical reports and other information we request regarding the Franchised Business covering that month;

How the franchisor buys

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We have established and receive input and feedback from an advisory council called the “Franchise Advisory Council” or “FAC.”

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

and agree that we may from time to time change the components of the System including, but not limited to, altering the products, programs, services, methods, standards, forms, policies and procedures of that System

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

2668988

Item 8

Our affiliate, BSS Services, received revenue totaling $2,668,988 in 2025 from required purchases by our franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

In 2025, we received supplier rebates totaling $39,695 based on franchise system purchases.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

25

Item 8

approximately 25-30% of your total purchases and leases to operate your British Swim School Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to charge you an application fee and require you to reimburse us for our expenses (which will not exceed the reasonable cost of the research and inspection and the actual cost of the test) to make the evaluation.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like to purchase or use any products, services, Operating Assets or materials that we have not approved or from any unapproved supplier, you must submit to us a written request for approval of the proposed product and/or supplier prior to purchasing any such item.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

you acknowledge that all telephone numbers, facsimile numbers, social media websites, Internet addresses and e-mail addresses (collectively “Identifiers”) used in the operation of the Franchised Business constitutes our assets, and upon termination or expiration of this Agreement, you will take such action within…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

including compliance with the then-current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards as those standards may be revised and modified by the PCI Security Standards Council, LLC or any successor organization or standards that we may reasonably specify

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

To determine whether you and the Franchised Business are complying with this Agreement and all System Standards, we and our designated agents or representatives may at all times and without prior notice to you: (1) inspect the Franchised Business;

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify the Operations Manual periodically to reflect changes in System Standards.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

If you elect to operate your British Swim School Business from a location other than your home office, it will be at your expense, and we must approve of the office location prior to you acquiring or leasing the office location.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not establish or maintain a separate website, register or use any domain name/URL address, or use any other social media outlet, such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or any other outlet, for or in connection with the Franchised Business without our prior written approval (which we shall not be obligated to…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least $10,000 in a Standard Territory or at least $7,500 in a Targeted Territory for pre-marketing and grand opening advertising activities for your Franchised Business.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend the Local Advertising Expenditure on local marketing within your applicable Territory during each calendar year.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease approved brands, types or models of products, services, supplies, Operating Assets or other items only from suppliers we designate or approve.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease approved brands, types or models of products, services, supplies, Operating Assets or other items only from suppliers we designate or approve.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We currently require you to pay fees and other amounts due to us via electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) or other similar means.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must participate in gift card, coupon, pass, electronic payment, certificate and customer loyalty programs as required by us.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must designate a marketing manager for the Franchised Business.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use all the software we designate as core to the business, including but not limited to; the software and associated app for our POS system and designated VOIP platform.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We currently have/reserve the right to have independent, unlimited access to all information and data relating to your British Swim School Business generated by your use of the scheduling and billing software.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to charge you our then current training fee.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to attend all of these conferences.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at British Swim School

British Swim School operates 289 franchised locations, all of which are subject to the technology mandates outlined in the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The brand reported 12.016% year-over-year unit growth, signaling an expanding footprint that may create incremental software needs at new locations. The franchise does not disclose any company-owned units, meaning every location is a potential target for a vendor pitch—provided the franchisor’s procurement requirements are met.

The royalty rate is 10.0% of gross revenue, and the initial franchise term runs for 10 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The absence of an Item 8 procurement extract means the specific supplier designation model—whether designated, approved, or open—is not publicly documented. Vendors should clarify this directly during discovery conversations.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists five executives at the corporate level: Ashley Gundlach (President), Michael Hull (Chief Financial Officer), Jay Canaday (Vice President of Operations), Melissa McGarvey (Vice President of Aquatics), and Julia Moody (Director of Marketing). For a software vendor, the most relevant contacts are likely Michael Hull, who oversees financial systems and likely controls the QuickBooks relationship, and Jay Canaday, whose operations purview probably extends to the mandated POS and Integrated Management System. The Director of Marketing may influence customer-facing or parent-communication tools.

No multi-unit operators are mapped in our corpus, suggesting that purchasing authority is concentrated at headquarters rather than dispersed among large franchisee groups. This centralization simplifies outreach: a single corporate decision can unlock the entire system.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates three core technology components. First, a designated POS software—the specific vendor is not named in the extract, but it is described as mandatory. Second, an Integrated Management System, also mandated. Third, QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc., listed in three separate references as QuickBooks, QuickBooks Online, and QuickBooks Online Financial Management Software, all mandatory. Additionally, Apple Pay by Apple Inc. and Google Wallet are referenced, though the FDD does not specify whether these are mandated or merely recommended.

This stack suggests a franchise that has standardized on Intuit for financial management and a single POS/management platform for operations. A vendor selling accounting automation, FP&A tools, or POS-adjacent software would need to integrate with or displace QuickBooks Online. A vendor selling payment processing or digital wallet solutions should note that Apple Pay and Google Wallet are already in the mix.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Without an Item 8 extract, the procurement model remains opaque. The franchisor may designate suppliers, maintain an approved vendor list, or allow franchisees to choose freely within standards. Vendors should request clarification on whether they need corporate approval to sell into the system.

Renewal terms provide a potential timing signal. The initial franchise agreement runs 10 years. Upon renewal, franchisees must sign the then-current Franchise Agreement—which may materially differ from the original—and add or replace Operating Assets as required. The renewal term is 5 years. The minimum monthly royalty at renewal is the highest minimum then in effect, currently $3,500 per month. This forced refresh of Operating Assets at renewal could open windows for new software adoption, particularly if the franchisor updates its tech mandates between now and the next renewal cycle.

With 289 units and 12% annual growth, new location openings may present more immediate opportunities than waiting for renewal cycles. Each new franchisee must adopt the mandated stack from day one, creating a steady stream of onboarding-driven software needs.

How to read the British Swim School FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executive team), Item 8 (procurement restrictions—though not extracted here), Item 11 (mandated technology and suppliers), and Item 17 (renewal conditions and term length). Reviewing these sections directly will help you confirm the mandates, identify the named vendors, and understand the contractual hooks that could influence a purchasing decision.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize outreach based on tech mandates, unit growth, and decision-maker concentration.

Questions vendors ask

British Swim School, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists President Ashley Gundlach, CFO Michael Hull, VP of Operations Jay Canaday, VP of Aquatics Melissa McGarvey, and Director of Marketing Julia Moody. The CFO and VP of Operations are likely central to any software evaluation.
The FDD mandates a designated POS software, an Integrated Management System, and QuickBooks Online (including QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. and QuickBooks Online Financial Management Software). Apple Pay and Google Wallet are also named.
There are 289 total units, all of which are franchised. The FDD does not disclose any company-owned locations. Year-over-year unit growth was 12.016%.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract detailing procurement restrictions. Without that signal, the model is unclear—vendors should investigate whether the franchisor designates or merely recommends suppliers.
The initial franchise term is 10 years. Renewal is for 5 years, requiring a new Franchise Agreement and updated Operating Assets. With 12% unit growth, new location openings may create more immediate opportunities than renewals.
The 2026 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can read the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to verify mandates, executive contacts, and unit economics before building your pitch.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

British Swim School2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment British Swim School files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

83 operators run 83 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit83

Top states by locations

TX23
VA6
TN5
WA4
UT3

Ownership

The portfolio behind British Swim School

unknown of bss acquisition holdings.

Related Youth services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.