From the filings

HQ-led decisions

BEEF JERKY EXPERIENCE

Retail food

Software purchasing authority at Beef Jerky Experience sits with President Paul Lyons, the sole executive named in the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The brand operates 68 total units (63 franchised, 5 company-owned) and does not mandate any specific technology systems in its current FDD. For vendors, this means an addressable market of 63 independently operated storefronts where tech decisions may be made at the unit level or influenced by HQ on a case-by-case basis.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
68
63 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-16%
vs prior filing
AUV
$430K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$194K–$407K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

4 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Facebook
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

r written consent. We will direct and monitor all marketing and advertising on any form of social media (which includes but is not limited to blogs, common social networks such as Facebook, Instagram,

Instagram
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

consent. We will direct and monitor all marketing and advertising on any form of social media (which includes but is not limited to blogs, common social networks such as Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn,

LinkedIn
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

will direct and monitor all marketing and advertising on any form of social media (which includes but is not limited to blogs, common social networks such as Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, vi

Twitter
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

ct and monitor all marketing and advertising on any form of social media (which includes but is not limited to blogs, common social networks such as Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, virtual wor

TikTok
MarketingItem 11

e, such as Amazon.com or eBay. You are not permitted to promote your Store or use any of the Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, or LinkedIn

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

22 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

To ensure accurate and proper reporting to us of operational and financial information, you must use our approved or designated supplier or provider of accounting and bookkeeping services.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We must have independent access at all times and in the manner that we specify to the information generated and stored in the system.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, with respect to Beef Jerky Experience franchises, you must purchase a portion of your special food items from our affiliate, PLE, that reserves the right to earn a profit from the sale of these items to you.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We have established an Owner Advocacy Team (OAT) comprised of franchisees and our representatives to work with us to improve various aspects of the System, including advertising conducted by the Fund, new products or services to be offered, and similar issues.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

4937605.32

Item 8

PLE had total revenues of $4,991,469.67 of which $4,937,605.32 or 98.92% was from the sale of specialty food items to our franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You acknowledge and agree that we and/or our affiliates may derive revenue based on your purchases and leases (including, without limitation, from charging you for products and services we or our affiliates provide to you and from payments made to us by suppliers that we designate or approve for some or all of our…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

The cost of the items that you must purchase from us, our affiliates or from suppliers designated by us represents approximately 90% of your total purchases in the continuing operation of your Store.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

If a third-party cost is to be incurred for product testing and evaluation, you must bear such costs.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

There might be situations where you can obtain items from any 21 supplier who can satisfy our requirements and, therefore, could be reviewed as an approved supplier but must first seek our approval.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must comply with all updates and required maintenance prescribed by the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard Council, including purchase of necessary hardware and software.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Inspect and observe the operation of the Store to help you comply with the Franchise Agreement and all System Standards.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify the Operations Manual periodically to reflect changes in System Standards and you must comply with any changes we make.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must select the site for your Store, and you must obtain our written approval of any proposed site in accordance with our procedures.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You are not permitted to promote your Store or use any of the Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, or LinkedIn without our prior written consent.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

During this Agreement’s term you must purchase or lease all Operating Assets and other products and services for the Store only according to our standards and specifications and, if we require, only from suppliers or distributors that we designate or approve, (which may include or be limited to us and/or our…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

However, as further described in Item 11, you must purchase a computerized point-of-sale (“POS”) System pursuant to our specifications from our designated vendor.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We use an automatic debit program for the System, and we will debit your account for these amounts on the applicable dates.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

System Standards may regulate the staffing levels and employee qualifications, training, dress, and appearance of the Store.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use the point-of-sale (“POS”) system we designate that meets our specifications for all models including Pop-Up and Flex/Seasonal locations.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We must have independent access at all times and in the manner that we specify to the information generated and stored in the system.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may periodically offer refresher training programs, and we may designate that refresher training is mandatory for you and/or your Highly Trusted Individual.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Attendance at the meeting is mandatory unless your absence is excused by us.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Beef Jerky Experience

Beef Jerky Experience is a retail food franchise headquartered in Tennessee with 68 total units as of its 2026 FDD. Of those, 63 are franchised and 5 are company-owned. The brand reported an average unit volume of $430,063 and charges a 6% royalty on gross sales. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is the 63 franchised locations — though that number is shrinking. Year-over-year unit growth sits at -16%, meaning the system contracted by roughly 11 units in the most recent reporting period. A declining network changes the sales math: fewer net-new store openings, but also potential churn events where incoming operators may evaluate new technology stacks.

The initial franchise term is 5 years. With a negative growth trajectory, vendors should monitor which locations are approaching renewal or transfer. A change in ownership often triggers a fresh look at point-of-sale, inventory, scheduling, or accounting software. The absence of a mandated tech stack means each of those 63 franchisees is a standalone buying decision — or at least a decision influenced locally.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD names one executive: Paul Lyons, President. No CIO, CTO, VP of Operations, or procurement lead is disclosed. In systems of this size, the president frequently serves as the de facto technology buyer or delegates to an operations manager not listed in the FDD. Vendors should direct initial inquiries to the president’s office. If a franchisee-level sale is the goal, the lack of a mandated stack suggests unit owners hold significant purchasing autonomy. There is no multi-unit operator data in our corpus, so we cannot segment the franchisee base by ownership concentration.

Mandated and current tech stack

Beef Jerky Experience does not mandate or recommend any specific technology systems in its 2026 FDD. Item 11, where franchisors typically list required POS hardware, software, back-office systems, or IT vendors, contains no captured data. This is uncommon but not unheard of in small, retail-focused franchise systems. It means the brand has not standardized its tech environment — or if it has, that standardization is not disclosed in the franchise offering document. For a vendor, this is both an opportunity and a challenge. There is no incumbent to unseat at the system level, but there is also no centralized procurement lever to pull. Every location may run a different POS, different payment processor, and different inventory tool.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which covers procurement obligations, yielded no extract in our data. We cannot confirm whether the franchisor designates approved suppliers, requires purchases from specific vendors, or leaves procurement entirely open. This gap is worth investigating directly with the franchisor before building a go-to-market plan.

Item 17 provides clearer signals on timing. Franchise agreements run 5 years. To renew, a franchisee must request renewal within the last six months of the term. The franchisor then issues a renewal invoice and any required documents, which may include a materially different contract — though territory boundaries remain unchanged and renewal fees cannot exceed those charged to similarly situated renewing franchisees. If a franchisee does not wish to renew, they must provide notice at least 90 days before expiration. These windows — the six-month renewal request period and the 90-day non-renewal notice deadline — are natural points when operators evaluate their business tools. A vendor tracking contract maturity dates across the 63-unit base could time outreach to coincide with these decision windows.

How to read the Beef Jerky Experience FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. For software vendors, the most relevant sections are Item 11 (franchisor’s obligations regarding technology and systems) and Item 17 (renewal, termination, and transfer conditions). Item 8 should be reviewed directly for any procurement restrictions not captured in our extract. The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026 and represents the most current public disclosure from the franchisor. Use it to validate the decision-maker structure, unit count, and any technology requirements that may have been omitted from third-party summaries. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

BEEF JERKY EXPERIENCE, answered from the filing

President Paul Lyons is the only executive listed in the 2026 FDD. With no other buying center disclosed, initial outreach should target the president's office for any HQ-level software evaluation.
The 2026 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended POS, operational, or IT systems. Franchisees appear to have autonomy in selecting their own technology vendors.
There are 68 total units: 63 franchised and 5 company-owned. The brand experienced a -16% year-over-year unit decline, signaling a contracting footprint for software vendors to target.
The 2026 FDD does not extract any Item 8 procurement signal. It is not disclosed whether the franchisor designates suppliers, maintains an approved list, or allows open purchasing.
Franchise agreements run 5 years. Renewal requests must be made in the final six months. With a -16% unit decline, many locations may be approaching non-renewal, creating potential churn or replacement buying windows.
The full 2026 FDD is embedded below. It was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. Review Item 11 for any franchisor technology obligations and Item 17 for renewal and transfer conditions.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

BEEF JERKY EXPERIENCE2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment BEEF JERKY EXPERIENCE files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

76 operators run 76 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit76

Top states by locations

TN10
WI9
TX8
FL7
WV5

Related Retail food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.