From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Apna Bazar

Retail food

Software purchasing at Apna Bazar is controlled at the HQ level by its Member and Managers, Jaswinder Singh and Deepak Bhardwaj. The franchise currently mandates a specific set of operational tools including All Island POS Systems, QuickBooks, and SelloRama. With 17 total units—8 franchised and 9 company-owned—the addressable market is small but tightly standardized, making a successful vendor pitch a potential wall-to-wall deployment.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
17
8 franchised
Franchised outlet growth
0%
Item 20, last two year-ends
AUV
—
Item 19
Royalty
2.5% component; full terms unconfirmed
percentage component
Ad fund
2%
percentage component
Initial fee
$100K
per unit
Investment range
$1.50M–$3.14M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ordinary royalty terms

2.5% component; full terms unconfirmed

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed for the selected filing.

Recorded percentage components

These are recorded percentage components. Each has its own base and conditions; the chart does not state the total payment or confirm ad-fund completeness.

1recorded components (FY2022)

Recorded percentage components (FY2022)Ad fund 2%. Components use their own filing bases and conditions. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

QuickBooksIntuit
AccountingItem 11

- 24 - Computer and Point of Sale System Before the commencement of operation of the franchised Store, you must purchase the required computer hardware, software, Internet connections and service, required dedicated telephone and power lines and other computer-related accessories, peripherals and equipment (the “computer and Point of Sale systems”). See Item 7 for the cost of the computer and Point of Sale systems. You must obtain high-speed communications access for your computer and Point of Sale systems, such as broadband, DSL or other high-speed capacity. You must also maintain a functioning e-mail address for your Business. You must provide all assistance we require to bring your computer and Point of Sale systems on- line with our headquarters computer at the earliest possible time and to maintain this connection as we require. You must input and maintain in your computer and Point of Sale systems all data and information which we prescribe, in our proprietary software and manuals (if any), and otherwise. We must have independent, direct, real-time access to your computer and Point of Sale systems (including information and data that is electronically collected) and we may retrieve from your computer and Point of Sale systems, at any time, all information that we consider necessary, desirable or appropriate. We will bear the telephone costs of this information retrieval. You must accurately, consistently and completely record, structure, capture and provide through the computer and Point of Sale systems all information concerning the operation of the franchised Business that we require, in the form and at the intervals that we require (including, without limitation, a record of all transactions of any kind – including cash and/or cash equivalent transactions). You agree to use proprietary software and software support services that either we develop and provide or which are provided by a third party supplier we designate, and you will execute any standard form software license agreement reasonably necessary to do so. You agree to purchase from us or our designee, as applicable, new, upgraded or substitute proprietary software whenever we determine to adopt them systemwide, at the prices and on the terms that we or such third party vendor establish, but you will not be required to do so more than once in any calendar year. You will pay for new or updated programs and materials when you order them. (Franchise Agreement, Section 8.08). The following is a general description of our computer and Point of Sale systems that you must purchase and maintain for each Store: one PC compatible computer with at least a Pentium III, 2 GHz processor, a 40GB hard drive and 512 MB of RAM; six point of sale systems (however, the number of systems will vary depending on the size of your Store); one inventory management software system; one Microsoft Windows XP Professional Operating System, one Microsoft Office Professional 2003 (or newer); one Microsoft Outlook; Internet Explorer (version 5.0 or greater); one QuickBooks Pro 2010; one Norton Antivirus 2010; one laser jet printer/fax/scanner/copier and, a minimum of three dedicated business telephone lines. The Computer and Point of Sale System will cost approximately from $40,000 to $100,000 for a 5,000 to 6,000 square foot Store or approximately from $120,000 to $300,000 for a 15,000 to 18,00 square foot store. The point of sale systems that are currently approved for use by Apna Bazar franchisees are: SelloRama and All Island POS Systems. These POS systems currently only charge a one-time fee equal to $200 but do not currently charge any on-going monthly fees. We estimate that the annual costs that may be incurred for any optional or required maintenance, updating, upgrading or support contracts for the Computer and Point of Sale Systems will range between $0 and $10,000. Currently, we do not have a requirement that franchisees complete any specific maintenance, updates or upgrades; however, we reserve the right to require this in the future. You must keep your Computer and Point of Sale System in good repair. If we run tests and determine that the installation will benefit you and us, you must install (at your own expense) whatever additions, changes, substitutions and replacements to your computer hardware, software, telephone and power lines, etc. we direct. You must install these items when we direct. You will pay for these

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

22 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We must have independent, direct, real-time access to your computer and Point of Sale systems (including information and data that is electronically collected) and we may retrieve from your computer and Point of Sale systems, at any time, all information that we consider necessary, desirable or appropriate.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

No later than 30 days following the end of each calendar quarter during the Term of this Agreement, you agree to furnish to us, in a form we approve, a statement of the franchised Business's profit and loss for the quarter and a balance sheet as of the end of the quarter.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We, our affiliate or our designee may be an approved source of supply for any such non-proprietary program, product, supply, equipment, material or service that you are required to purchase.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

8.03 Modifications to the System In the exercise of our sole business judgment, we may from time to time modify any components of the System and requirements applicable to you by means of furnishing to you our Brand Standards, Supplements to the Brand Standards or otherwise, including, but not limited to, altering…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

25

Item 8

We estimate that the required purchases described above are approximately between 25% and 75% of the cost to establish and operate a franchised Apna Bazar Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may test, at your expense, the product or service of any supplier you propose, whether or not the supplier is then approved by us.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If we name a supplier for a product or service, you may “contract with an alternative supplier if you meet our criteria.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At our option, either change the telephone numbers utilized by your franchised Business or, upon our written demand, direct the telephone company to transfer the telephone numbers (and associated listings) listed for the franchised Business to us or to any other person or location that we direct.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

meet or exceed industry standards regarding Safeguards, including payment card industry (“PCI”) standards, norms, requirements and protocols to the extent applicable

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We (and any of our authorized agents or representatives, including outside accountants, auditors and/or inspectors) may enter your Store and any premises of your franchised Business, and/or visit any locations at which you have provided or are providing products, programs, or services to customers or at which you…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to prescribe additions to, deletions from or revisions of the Brand Standards (the "Supplements to the Brand Standards"), all of which will be considered a part of the Brand Standards.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Location will be subject to our advance written approval, and our determination will be final.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Your Website(s) may be accessible only through our Website(s).

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all other services, food, beverages, inventory, signs, furnishings, supplies, fixtures and equipment from our designated or approved suppliers and in accordance with our specifications and standards, as we may update, modify, add to or delete from, in our sole judgment from time to time.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all other services, food, beverages, inventory, signs, furnishings, supplies, fixtures and equipment from our designated or approved suppliers and in accordance with our specifications and standards, as we may update, modify, add to or delete from, in our sole judgment from time to time.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to become and remain a merchant for any credit cards and/or debit cards, and any credit and/or debit card processor(s), which we may specify in our Brand Standards or otherwise.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 9

Comply with coupons, gift Section 8.26 of Franchise Item 8 and 11 certificates and voucher Agreement programs y.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee affirms, warrants and understands that it may staff its Store with as many employees as it desires at any time so long as Franchisor’s minimal staffing levels are achieved.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

The point of sale systems that are currently approved for use by Apna Bazar franchisees are: SelloRama and All Island POS Systems.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We must have independent, direct, real-time access to your computer and Point of Sale systems (including information and data that is electronically collected) and we may retrieve from your computer and Point of Sale systems, at any time, all information that we consider necessary, desirable or appropriate.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We reserve the right to charge our then-current training fees for such programs.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

You (if an individual) and your Business Manager must attend each annual conference, convention or training session.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Apna Bazar

Apna Bazar is a small retail food franchise based in New York with 17 total units, split between 8 franchised and 9 company-owned locations. For a software vendor, the immediate addressable market is limited to these 17 units. However, the franchise’s centralized control and mandated technology stack mean that a single HQ-level sale could cover the entire system. The most recent Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) on file is from 2022, and it reveals a tightly prescribed set of operational tools that every location must use.

Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the 2022 FDD, so vendors cannot benchmark potential wallet size per location from public data alone. Year-over-year unit growth is not reported, which suggests either a stable footprint or a lack of recent expansion data. Vendors should approach this as a replacement or upsell opportunity within an existing, static estate rather than a greenfield growth play.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing authority at Apna Bazar sits with HQ. The 2022 FDD lists Jaswinder Singh and Deepak Bhardwaj as Member and Manager, respectively. These are the individuals who evaluate, approve, and mandate technology for both company-owned and franchised locations. There is no indication of a multi-unit operator layer or franchisee advisory council with independent purchasing power. Any vendor pitch should be directed to these two decision-makers, framed around compliance with the existing Brand Standards and the operational efficiencies that a new tool can deliver across a small, uniform network.

Mandated and current tech stack

Apna Bazar’s 2022 FDD mandates four specific systems. The point-of-sale environment is locked to All Island POS Systems. Accounting runs on QuickBooks by Intuit Inc., with a specific version—QuickBooks Pro 2010—also named as a requirement. Additionally, SelloRama is mandated, though the FDD does not detail its exact function within the operation. This stack leaves little room for franchisee-level experimentation. A vendor selling into this brand must either displace an incumbent mandate or integrate tightly with the existing tools, particularly the POS and accounting backbone.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2022 FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier list, or open market—is not publicly known. In practice, the existence of mandated systems strongly suggests a designated-supplier approach, at least for the named technologies. Vendors should be prepared for a direct HQ negotiation with no franchisee-level purchasing detours.

Timing a pitch around contract renewals is difficult. The initial franchise term is 20 years, and the FDD allows for two consecutive 10-year renewal terms. Franchisees must notify HQ between six and nine months before expiration, provided they are in full compliance with the Franchise Agreement and Brand Standards. With no year-over-year unit growth data and a small base, the most realistic near-term opportunities are system-wide upgrades or replacements initiated by HQ, not unit-level churn.

How to read the Apna Bazar FDD

The full 2022 Apna Bazar FDD is embedded below for your review. It contains the complete Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated systems), and Item 17 (renewal conditions) referenced throughout this page. Reading the source document is the best way to validate the tech stack, identify any additional required vendors, and understand the legal constraints that shape software purchasing at this brand. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Ordinary royalty terms

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed.

Questions vendors ask

Apna Bazar, answered from the filing

Jaswinder Singh and Deepak Bhardwaj, listed as Member and Manager in the 2022 FDD, are the key decision-makers for technology procurement.
The 2022 FDD mandates All Island POS Systems, QuickBooks by Intuit Inc., QuickBooks Pro 2010, and SelloRama for franchisees.
There are 17 total units: 8 franchised and 9 company-owned, as disclosed in the 2022 FDD.
The 2022 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated vs. approved supplier model is not publicly disclosed.
Renewal windows open 6–9 months before a 20-year initial term expires. With no YoY growth data, new-unit-driven opportunities appear limited.
The 2022 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can read it using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Read the original document for the filing figures and their terms, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Apna Bazar2022 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

Request an email alert when a newer filing for Apna Bazar is available.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

6 operators run 8 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit5
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

CA2
KY2
NY2
DE1
MA1

Related Retail food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Read the original filing for definitions, conditions, and qualifications.