ny affiliates; however, we may do so in the future. RecDesk is the exclusive supplier of certain application software that will be used in the operation of your Center. Other than RecDesk, we have not
From the filings
Alive Center
Youth servicesSoftware purchasing at Alive Center is controlled at the headquarters level by a small executive team including CEO Kandice Henning and Director of Finance Elisa Henley. The franchise currently mandates RecDesk for its operations and consists of 3 company-owned units, with no franchised locations disclosed in the 2025 FDD. This represents a very small, centralized addressable market for software vendors.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
17 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 8 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
you must establish and maintain, at your own expense, a bookkeeping, accounting, and recordkeeping system conforming to the requirements and formats we periodically prescribe, including a standard chart of accounts.
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesItem 11
We will have independent access to the information and data collected and/or generated by your Computer System.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Subject to applicable laws, you must provide us with such reports and information that we request from time to time regarding the operation of your Center.
How the franchisor buys
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesItem 8
We may revoke our approval of any supplier at any time and for any reason.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
0Item 8
During 2024, we did not derive any revenue from the direct sale of goods and services to franchisees.
Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?
20Item 8
approximately 20% to 25% to operate your Center, will be subject to our specifications or must be purchased from an approved or designated supplier.
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
If we have designated or approved suppliers for any product or service and you desire to purchase, lease, or use those products or services from an unapproved supplier, you must submit to us a written request for approval.
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesFranchise agreement
You acknowledge and agree that as between you and us, we have the sole rights to, and interest in, all telephone numbers, facsimile numbers, classified and online directory listings, and any other type of contact information that you use in the operation or promotion of your Center or that is associated with your…
Franchise management
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesFranchise agreement
we and our designated agents or representatives will, on a quarterly basis during the first year of the Term, inspect your Center, with at least one such inspection being in-person
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesFranchise agreement
Though we retain the right to establish and periodically modify and supplement the System Standards which you have agreed to maintain in the operation of your Center, you retain the right and sole responsibility for the day-to-day management and operation of your Center and the implementation and maintenance of the…
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesItem 11
We must approve the proposed location before you sign the Franchise Agreement.
Marketing
Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?
YesItem 11
You may not establish any Online Presence related to the Marks, nor may you offer, promote, or provide any products or services, or make any use of the Marks, through any Online Presence without our prior written approval.
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesFranchise agreement
We require you to spend at least $1,000 on a grand opening marketing program for your Center to take place on the dates we and you jointly agree upon before and after your Center opens.
Payments
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
Currently, you authorize us to debit your designated bank account for all such amounts (the “EFT Authorization”).
Point of sale
Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You must obtain and use specified integrated computer hardware and/or software that meet our System Standards (the “Computer System”).
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 11
We will have independent access to the information and data collected and/or generated by your Computer System.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesItem 11
We may also require refresher training courses during the term of the Franchise Agreement.
The filing answers no to 8 questions
- Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
- Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
- Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
- Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
- Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
- Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
- Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
- Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
The vendor opportunity at Alive Center
Alive Center operates a tiny footprint of 3 company-owned units, with no franchised locations disclosed in the 2025 FDD. For a software vendor, the total addressable market is limited to these three sites and a single headquarters in Illinois. The franchisor has not reported any year-over-year unit growth, and no operator footprint is mapped in our corpus. This is not a volume play; the opportunity here is a single, centralized sale to a small executive team. If you sell software that serves youth-services organizations, the pitch must resonate with a leadership group that is hands-on and likely cost-conscious.
Who controls software purchasing
The buying center at Alive Center is concentrated at the top. The FDD Item 1 lists Kandice Henning as Chief Executive Officer, Tina Hinch as Vice President, Grace Buzzard as Treasurer, Tiffany Sellman as Secretary, and Elisa Henley as Director of Finance. For a software vendor, the most relevant contacts are CEO Kandice Henning and Director of Finance Elisa Henley. In an organization of this size, the CEO likely has final sign-off on operational tools, while the Director of Finance will scrutinize the budget. There is no CIO or dedicated IT role named, so your champion must be someone who understands both the programmatic mission and the administrative efficiency gains your tool provides.
Mandated and current tech stack
The 2025 FDD mandates RecDesk. No other technology vendors are named as required or recommended in the disclosure. RecDesk is a platform commonly used for parks and recreation management, suggesting Alive Center’s operations likely involve program registration, facility scheduling, and membership management. If your software integrates with or complements RecDesk, that is your entry point. If you compete with RecDesk, you face an uphill battle against a mandated system. The absence of any other named systems means the rest of the tech stack is either open or simply not disclosed, leaving room for discovery in a sales conversation.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
Procurement signals are sparse. The FDD extract provided does not include Item 8, so we cannot confirm whether Alive Center uses designated suppliers, an approved vendor list, or an open procurement model. The renewal terms, however, offer a potential trigger. The initial franchise term is 5 years. To renew, a franchisee must give between 180 and 270 days’ notice and bring their center into full compliance with the franchisor’s then-current System Standards. This compliance requirement could force a technology review at the time of renewal, creating a window for a new software vendor to be evaluated. Since all current units are company-owned, any renewal cycle would be an internal HQ decision, not a franchisee negotiation.
How to read the Alive Center FDD
The 2025 Alive Center Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for understanding the franchisor’s obligations, fees, and system requirements. For software vendors, the most critical sections are Item 11 (Franchisor’s Obligations), which names mandated technology like RecDesk, and Item 17 (Renewal, Termination, Transfer), which outlines the conditions under which a location must update its systems. Item 8 (Restrictions on Sources of Products and Services) would clarify the procurement model, but it was not available in our extract. Always verify the current FDD directly, as terms can change year to year. When you are ready to prioritize franchise brands by tech fit and buyer access, FranCloud can help you build a ranked target list.
Questions vendors ask
Alive Center, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Alive Center files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
Who runs the locations
1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.
Operators by units owned
Ownership
The portfolio behind Alive Center
unknown of alive center nfp.
Related Youth services brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.