From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Wine and Design Franchise

Youth services

Software purchasing at Wine and Design is controlled at the franchisor level, led by President and CEO Harriet E. Mills and Director of Franchise Operations Claudia Wooten Outlaw. The franchise mandates a website/reservation system and bookkeeping services, with training delivered through Wine & Design University. With 48 franchised studios and a single company-owned unit, the addressable market is small but concentrated, primarily across North Carolina and the Southeast.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
49
48 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-2.041%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$70K–$272K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

ely cease and we may cease to make the Subpage available to you (FA, §8(i)). Social Media. We also may permit you to use one or more social media sites (e.g., www.twitter.com; www.facebook.com, or suc

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

website at www.wineanddesign.com (the “Website”), which may include any account, page, or other presence on a social and business networking media site (such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn) and online

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

intain a website at www.wineanddesign.com (the “Website”), which may include any account, page, or other presence on a social and business networking media site (such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn) a

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

For example, you must purchase art supplies (including paints, brushes and canvases), bookkeeping and accounting services, and marketing and promotional services or supplies from our approved suppliers.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have unlimited independent access to your Computer System.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall submit, within sixty (60) days following the close of business of Franchisee’s fiscal year, copies of a balance sheet, profit and loss statement and cash flow report prepared in accordance with GAAP, which cover the previous 12 months of operations of the Franchised Studio.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right at any time in our sole discretion to specify or require that you use certain brands, types, makes and/or modes of communications, computer systems, and hardware and software.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

2930.87

Item 8

During our fiscal year ending December 31, 2024, we received $2,930.87 or 0.46% of our revenue of $649,952 from franchisee purchases from approved suppliers.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

During our fiscal year ending December 31, 2024, we received $2,930.87 or 0.46% of our revenue of $649,952 from franchisee purchases from approved suppliers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

We estimate that approximately 90% to 95% of your total purchases and leases in establishing and in operating a Wine and Design Studio will be subject to at least one of the restrictions described in this item.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to pay a charge not to exceed our reasonable costs incurred in evaluating the supplier, regardless of whether or not we approve the supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If you wish to purchase the item from a supplier that we have not approved, you may submit a written request for approval of the supplier.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All telephone listings and directory listings for your Studio are our property, and we have the right to transfer or terminate such telephone listings and directory listings only on termination or expiration without renewal of this Agreement.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall comply with, abide by, or as applicable adopt policies consistent with the then-current version of Franchisor’s policies as described in Franchisor’s Information Privacy and Security Directive for Franchisees (the “Directive”).

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Provide supervision, conduct periodic inspections and evaluations and/or audits (with or without notice) as we deem advisable in our sole discretion of your operation

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may change the Manual(s) from time-to-time, and you are required to comply with those changes.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Approve or disapprove the site which you must locate.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will not, directly or indirectly, establish or operate a website, web page, domain name, internet address, blog, forum or email address that in any way concerns, discusses or alludes to the Franchisor, the System or the Franchisee’s Franchised Studio without Franchisor’s written consent, which Franchisor…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You are required to spend for grand-opening or launch advertising between $3,000 and $5,000 during the period 60 days before and 90 days after you open your Franchised Studio.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to the grand opening requirements, we require that you spend at least $1,500 per month to promote your Studio through local advertising initiatives that are intended to promote your Wine and Design Studio in the local market.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a Cooperative has been established applicable to your Studio at the time you commence operations, you shall immediately become a member of such Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all supplies and equipment you use in the Franchised Business from us or a source we approve or designate.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all supplies and equipment you use in the Franchised Business from us or a source we approve or designate.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

The royalties will be electronically drafted from your bank account.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have unlimited independent access to your Computer System.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

For such remedial training we reserve the right to charge you a remedial training fee of $500 per day for such training, and where such training shall not be for more than 3 days.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to attend all conferences and other required training courses.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 8

The vendor opportunity at Wine and Design

Wine and Design operates 49 total units—48 franchised, 1 company-owned—with a footprint concentrated in North Carolina (19), Virginia (6), New Jersey (4), South Carolina (3), and California (3). All 47 mapped franchisees are single-unit operators, meaning no multi-unit owners control purchasing across multiple locations. The system contracted by -2.04% year-over-year, so net new unit openings are not a growth vector. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is the 48 franchised studios plus the single corporate location. Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the 2025 FDD. The royalty rate is 6.0% of gross revenue, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits with the franchisor. The 2025 FDD lists Harriet E. Mills as President and Chief Executive Officer and Claudia Wooten Outlaw as Director of Franchise Operations. These are the executives most likely to evaluate, select, and mandate software systems across the network. Because all franchisees are single-unit operators, there is no multi-unit buyer layer to navigate—HQ decisions flow directly to individual studio owners. Vendors should direct outreach to the corporate office in North Carolina.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates three technology areas: a website/reservation system, bookkeeping and accounting services, and Wine & Design University, the franchisor’s proprietary training platform. Specific vendor names for the website/reservation system and bookkeeping services are not disclosed in the FDD. The training platform is internally branded, suggesting it is a custom or white-label solution. No POS, CRM, payroll, or inventory management systems are mentioned as mandated or recommended, which may indicate those categories are open for vendor pitches—or simply not addressed in the disclosure document.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 procurement signals are absent from the FDD extract, so the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not disclosed. Renewal terms, covered in Item 17, require franchisees to sign a new agreement every 5 years after the initial 10-year term, pay a $2,500 renewal fee, and complete required upgrades or renovations. The renewal agreement may contain materially different terms, including a different royalty rate and protected territory, though the royalty will not exceed what is imposed on similarly situated renewing franchisees. These renewal events create periodic windows where franchisees must comply with updated system standards, potentially including new technology mandates. However, with only 48 franchised units and negative recent growth, the volume of renewal-driven tech evaluations will be low.

How to read the Wine and Design FDD

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for understanding Wine and Design’s technology mandates, fee structure, and executive leadership. Key sections for software vendors include Item 11 (franchisor’s obligations) for mandated tech, Item 8 (restrictions on sources of products and services) for procurement rules—though not present in this extract—and Item 17 (renewal, termination, transfer) for contract cycle timing. The embedded PDF viewer below provides the full filing. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Wine and Design Franchise, answered from the filing

President and CEO Harriet E. Mills and Director of Franchise Operations Claudia Wooten Outlaw are the key executives. The franchisor mandates core systems, so HQ controls major software decisions.
The 2025 FDD mandates a website/reservation system, bookkeeping and accounting services, and Wine & Design University for training. Specific vendor names are not disclosed.
49 total units: 48 franchised and 1 company-owned. All 47 mapped operators are single-unit, concentrated in NC (19), VA (6), NJ (4), SC (3), and CA (3).
The FDD does not include Item 8 procurement signals, so whether they use designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open model is not disclosed.
Initial franchise terms are 10 years; renewals are 5 years. With 48 units and recent negative unit growth (-2%), renewal-driven tech evaluation windows will be infrequent and small.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it using the embedded PDF viewer below for full details on mandates, fees, and executive contacts.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Wine and Design Franchise2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Wine and Design Franchise files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

47 operators run 47 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit47

Top states by locations

NC19
VA6
NJ4
SC3
CA3

Related Youth services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.