bject to termination. Computer Hardware and Software You must purchase a personal computer running the latest Windows Operating System, Microsoft Office, a printer/scanner and the QuickBooks accountin
From the filings
Imagine Arts Academy
Youth servicesSoftware purchasing at Imagine Arts Academy is controlled by a small headquarters team led by President Marco Holstvoogd and Director Ariel Shlien. The franchise currently mandates contact management software, QuickBooks by Intuit Inc., and a web-based scheduling and online registration tool across all 27 franchised locations. With 28.6% year-over-year unit growth and a 10-year initial term, the addressable market is expanding, though total unit count remains modest.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Ongoing fee load
What the operator pays every month
The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.
10%of gross sales (FY2025)
15% reference
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.
munications that can be accessed through electronic means, including, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (for example, Facebook, Twitter, L
els and/or any device supports or media, such as, including but not limited to video platforms, on-demand channel(s), webpages, microsites, social networking sites (i.e. Facebook, Instagram, Twitter,
ucting radio, television, electronic and print advertising campaigns in any local, regional or national medium; utilizing networking media social sites, such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram,
uding, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (for example, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, You Tube, Google Plus, Pinterest, etc.), vi
s that can be accessed through electronic means, including, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (for example, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, I
ion, electronic and print advertising campaigns in any local, regional or national medium; utilizing networking media social sites, such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram; YouTube and on-line
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee must procure a computer system and/or accounting package/system meeting the specifications and standards prescribed by Franchisor from time to time in the Manuals.
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor shall have full access to all of Franchisee's data, system and related information by means of direct access, whether in person, by telephone/modem, or by other electronic or web-based system
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor such other periodic reports, forms and records as specified, in the manner and at the time specified in the Manuals or as Franchisor shall otherwise require in writing from time to time.
How the franchisor buys
Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?
YesItem 8
Currently, we are the exclusive supplier of the Original Equipment Package described in Item 5, certain Imagine Arts branded art supplies and equipment, and certain Crayola branded art supplies and equipment which you must purchase for use in your Franchised Business.
Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?
YesItem 20
The following organizations have asked to have their information included in this Disclosure Document: Franchisee Owners Group 2 Inspire American Association of Franchisees and Dealers 276 Hazard Ave., Suite 11 Enfield, CT 06082 Phone: 619-860-1682 Email: fog2i@aafdchapters.org
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesItem 8
We can add, eliminate or change the approved products, services, equipment and suppliers as we think appropriate.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
110181Item 8
As of March 31, 2025, out of total revenues of $415,491, we received $110,181 from US franchisee purchases of Equipment Packages, branded products, marketing materials and the other items noted above, which was approximately 26.5% of our revenues for the fiscal year.
Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
We and our affiliates have the right to receive rebates, incentive amounts, discounts and other economic benefits from approved or exclusive suppliers to the franchised businesses and to profit on any sales of equipment, materials, goods and services we and/or our affiliate may make to you.
Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?
20Item 8
We estimate that the proportion of your combined purchases and leases i) of good and services from us or an affiliate, ii) from approved suppliers and iii) of products that meet our specifications will be approximately 20% of your purchases and leases in establishing your IAA Franchise and approximately 20% of your…
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesItem 6
Fee for Review Our costs of review As incurred The fee can be charged if you of New Product (currently $100-$200 propose to purchase, use or or Supplier (estimated)) offer items or suppliers not previously approved by us.
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
You may request that we consider approving a certain proposed supplier.
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesFranchise agreement
On Termination of the Franchise Agreement, or on periodic request of Franchisor, Franchisee will immediately direct all Telephone companies or listing companies, Internet Service Providers, social media platforms; domain name registries, Internet search engines, and other listing agencies (collectively, the…
Data and IT
Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee shall comply with the then-current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard and any revision to it adapted by the PCI Security Standards Council, LLC (the “PCI Council”) or any successor organization or standards Franchisor may specify.
Franchise management
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesFranchise agreement
At any time during normal business hours, Franchisor or its designee may enter the Franchised Business or any other premises where these materials are maintained and inspect and/or audit Franchisee's business records and make copies to determine if Franchisee is accurately maintaining same.
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor and Franchisor’s licensor, as applicable, shall have the right to add to and otherwise modify the Manuals from time to time to reflect changes in the specifications, standards, operating procedures and rules prescribed for Imagine Arts Academy Franchises.
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee must submit a written request for site approval to Franchisor and obtain written approval before leasing, purchasing or occupying any premises.
Marketing
Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?
YesItem 16
Publish or use a website in connection with your Imagine Arts Academy business, other than the website provided and supported by us or our designee;
Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
YesItem 6
In addition to the Marketing Fund and Marketing Access Fee, you will be required to spend funds on advertising and promotion in the first two years of operation of at least $3,000, and in the third and subsequent years, the greater of $3,000 or 3% (currently) of Gross Revenues from the previous fiscal year.
Operations
Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
YesItem 8
Currently, we are the exclusive supplier of the Original Equipment Package described in Item 5, certain Imagine Arts branded art supplies and equipment, and certain Crayola branded art supplies and equipment which you must purchase for use in your Franchised Business.
Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
Currently, we are the exclusive supplier of the Original Equipment Package described in Item 5, certain Imagine Arts branded art supplies and equipment, and certain Crayola branded art supplies and equipment which you must purchase for use in your Franchised Business.
Payments
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
All Royalty Fees, advertising, marketing and technology fees, amounts due for purchases by Franchisee from Franchisor or Franchisor Affiliates and other amounts which Franchisee owes to Franchisor must be paid through an Electronic Funds Transfer ("EFT") via Franchisor’s recommended payment platform, as set forth in…
Point of sale
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 11
We will have independent access to all of your information and data, and there are no contractual limitations on our right to access the information and data or to share it with the system or other third parties.
Sales and CRM
Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
We also can require that you use and keep updated approved contact management software to track customer information.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesItem 11
We may at your request or as we require, schedule additional training and/or assistance at your cost in order to help you in the operations of the IAA Franchise.
Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?
YesFranchise agreement
Unless otherwise excused by Franchisor in writing, Franchisee or the managing Owner is required to attend all annual conferences.
The filing answers no to 3 questions
- Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 6
- Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 6
- Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
The vendor opportunity at Imagine Arts Academy
Imagine Arts Academy operates 27 franchised locations in the youth services segment, with no company-owned units disclosed in the 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document. The system grew unit count by 28.6% year-over-year, signaling an active expansion phase. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is those 27 franchisees, all of whom must comply with headquarters-mandated technology. The royalty rate is 8.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years, with renewal options for up to two additional successive terms of 5 years each, or one more 5-year term after a prior renewal.
Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the most recent FDD, so vendors cannot benchmark revenue-per-location from public filings. However, the mandated tech stack and centralized decision-making create a clear path for vendors who can demonstrate compliance value and ease of deployment across a small but growing network.
Who controls software purchasing
Software purchasing authority sits at the headquarters level. The 2025 FDD lists five executives: President Marco Holstvoogd, Director Ariel Shlien, Director Ron Shlien, Vice President of Research & Development Sharon King, and Director of Marketing Samantha Superstein. In a system of this size, the President and VP of R&D are the most likely initial points of contact for operational and back-office software decisions. Marketing technology decisions may route through Samantha Superstein. There is no CIO or CTO listed, so vendors should expect to engage directly with these named leaders rather than a dedicated IT procurement function.
No multi-unit operators are mapped in our corpus, meaning all 27 locations are likely single-unit franchisees. This reinforces the HQ-driven procurement model: franchisees are not making independent software choices for mandated systems.
Mandated and current tech stack
The 2025 FDD mandates three categories of technology. First, contact management software is required, though no specific vendor is named in the mandate itself. Second, QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. is mandated for accounting. Third, a web-based scheduling tool and online registration system is mandated, again without a named vendor in the FDD extract. No point-of-sale system is specified, which is consistent with a youth enrichment franchise that may not process high-volume retail transactions.
For vendors selling adjacent or replacement tools, the QuickBooks mandate is a fixed constraint: any financial software must integrate with or complement Intuit's ecosystem. The scheduling and registration mandate represents a potential replacement or integration opportunity if the incumbent solution is not named or locked into a long-term contract. Contact management is the most open category, as no vendor is specified.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should clarify this directly with HQ during discovery. The absence of a published procurement framework in a 27-unit system is not unusual; many franchisors of this size manage vendor relationships informally through the President or VP of R&D.
Renewal terms provide timing signals. The initial 10-year term means franchisees are locked into the system for a decade, and any technology mandates tied to the franchise agreement likely persist through that period. Renewals are available for two additional 5-year terms if the franchisee has complied with all provisions, and one further 5-year term after a prior renewal. This creates potential re-evaluation points at years 10, 15, and 20, though the small unit count means these windows are infrequent. More actionable for vendors is the 28.6% unit growth rate: new franchisees onboarding in 2025 and beyond will need to adopt the mandated stack immediately, creating recurring sales opportunities as the system expands.
How to read the Imagine Arts Academy FDD
The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for vendor due diligence on Imagine Arts Academy. Key sections for software sales research include Item 1 (executive team), Item 11 (mandated technology and supplier obligations), Item 8 (procurement restrictions, though absent here), and Item 17 (renewal and term conditions). The embedded PDF viewer below provides the full document. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize outreach.
Questions vendors ask
Imagine Arts Academy, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Imagine Arts Academy files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
Who runs the locations
20 operators run 20 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.
Operators by units owned
Top states by locations
| TX | 4 |
|---|---|
| CA | 2 |
| NY | 1 |
| MI | 1 |
| SC | 1 |
Ownership
The portfolio behind Imagine Arts Academy
unknown of 2inspire.
Related Youth services brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.